We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply put, AWESOME!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
625 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
“Simply put, AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Ambassador Hotel in Milwaukee is an ideal spot for a stay in the City of Festivals. The architecture of the hotel is impressive and stunning. The warm lighting from beautiful chandeliers, really set the hotel up to a positive beginning. The classy entranceway is only enhanced by professional and courteous staff. Their friendly demeanor and willingness to answer questions made it very enjoyable. Close to downtown and Miller Park, the Ambassador, once again makes a mark by providing shuttle service to Brewers games and the Water street district downtown on weekends. Very impressed! The quality of the rooms were great! Spacious and classy decor throughout, the rooms provided a great comfortable sleep. I also enjoyed the retro feeling of the elevators, having to open the single door to get the elevator to open was really neat. Located within walking distance to the Pabst mansion, also, makes the location of the Ambassador ideal. I had a groupon for my stay, which made the value of the hotel really spectacular. I would recommend the Ambassador to people without hesitation. In fact, I would recommend people to go out of their way to experience the Ambassador. That's how good the hotel is, and also how good Milwaukee is!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    290
    87
    47
    40
See reviews for
163
324
65
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel...art deco with a great old fashion elevator that you have to close the door to before you can advance to your flor. Nice lounge. Nice restaurant...good food...a bit pricey. Free shuttle service to any place in Marquette University and the 3rd Ward.

Room Tip: The two queen bed rooms were very large with a bqthroom and another sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, IL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I just spent the past weekend at this hotel. It is a very clean, art deco, older hotel, in excellent condition.
We had the Master Delux room and it was HUGE. I did check out Trip Advisor ;) first, and followed previous recommendations! I called to request a corner room, since it was mentioned that these were bigger, and also a room near the top for a lake view (that worked out great, though Lake Michigan is still a ways away), and also to mention a room facing East or South. Our room was #703, and it was huge, quiet with a faroff view of the lake. The couple we went with had the hot tub room (my opinion not worth the extra $$$, though we both had a Groupon, which was fanastic), but no view of the lake.
I did not think the hotel was in as bad an area as others made it out to be. Yes, it's probably 10-12 blocks west of the downtown, but on the same road, just straight west. the building and area are still very well kept up, and did not look dangerous, etc, during the day. At night, because of some of the other reviews, I probably wouldn't walk around by the hotel, but it is very well lit, and still not that intimidating. The breakfast was very good, we had the crab cakes egg benedict, and the bar/lounge was very trendy. The couple we went with had been stayed there last year, and couldn't wait to go back. These old gems are a dying breed, and we were very glad they picked this hotel to take us along to. I would have given it the 5 stars, if it were closer to the lake, but otherwise, close to Potawatamie Casino and a 5 minute drive to all shopping, restaurants, highway, etc.

Room Tip: South or east
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

First of all, the best part of this stay was the free shuttle! We parked our car and didn't use it for three days. We went to the Third Ward for a night of electric blues at the Milwaukee Ale House, a day trip to the Milwaukee Art Museum and another night trip to a local coffee house to hear an African group. If you need to do anything on the Marquette University campus, the hotel is right in the neighborhood. The hotel may seem a long way from the central part of downtown, but with the shuttle service, it doesn't matter. They drop you off at the door in the day time or evening of where you want to go and then you call for a pick up (make sure it is before 11:30 p.m.) Santiago was a particularly nice driver and fun to talk with!

The hotel is not quite a posh as you might expect for the regular price, but I found it to be clean and pleasant. We had what appeared to be a handicapped room, so we had an enormous bathroom. The bed was good and so were the towels. Nice big flat screen TV too.

The restaurant, the Envoy, served a nice selection of the expected and the not so usual. We had good service and I liked the cozy feeling.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

you will not be disappointed, this is one of the finest hotels in Milwaukee. Of course it's off the beaten path by maybe a mile, but you will not be disappointed with the food, staff, or the accommodations. The rooms are great, not really any view that's particularly good. but nothing terrible. free parking is a plus. Great happy hours too.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We booked a room on hotwire, never hearing of this hotel before. When we got there she told us the room was very small and if we were not happy with it to complain? I'm not a big complainer, but this must have been the smallest room available. So, is it a mistake to book through an outside source? She said next time call direct and get the same low rate. Really?

Other than that we had a nice time. The shuttle service was great.

Room Tip: Call them directly and negotiate a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

I drove up for a Card-Brewers series, and I'm still thanking the friend who recommended this place. A cool art deco hotel with ver friendly staff, good location, and a free shuttle to the ballpark. Will certainly stay here again if I find myself in Milwaukee.

Stayed September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,300 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#26 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#20 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.