We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“step back in time at this art decco style hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Chilton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“step back in time at this art decco style hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Thanks to groupon, I've just returned from a delightful weekend to Milwaukee. The hotel is renovated to include modern convenience and comfort as well 1920's style. the room was comfortable, clean, and beautiful. The Envoy restaurant served unique, delicious choices in an elegant 1920's decor. We also took advantage of the free shuttle to the 3rd ward.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    188
    56
    36
    33
See reviews for
74
234
51
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington WI
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed here while at a conference at Marquette University. The convenient free shuttle to Marquette meant I didn't need a car, though hotel free parking was available. 1) Attitude - every staff person I dealt with was upbeat, hospitable, professional, and helpful. 2) Old Charm - the hotel has a beautiful art deco lobby, elevator, lounge, and restaurant. The Ambassador has made the most of it's history but the modern updates are just the ones you'd want. The menus in both the lounge and restaurant were thoroughly modern with timeless tweaks of "vintage" offerings. 3) Room - My large room was lovely, with every bit of lighting, seating, big screen TV, bathroom, dressing room, and temperature control one could wish. The bed and pillows were excellent. I loved staying here and will plan to do so again.

Room Tip: My room had 2 queen beds. Brand new windows opened easily for a little ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I love this place! Built in the 1920s, this hotel maintains much of it's original charm - though it has been updated.

The shuttle was utilized each night and recommendations were provided by the staff to great restaurants. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

If you enjoy vintage hotels, this is definitely one worth visiting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrow, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Let me start by saying this one was difficult to rate. I'm the type of traveler that doesn't need a great deal of service. I travel often so I don't need much help. So my reviews of hotels tend to focus on the property itself...the room, the location, the amenities, the overall design, etc.

First of all, the service at the Ambassador was exemplary. Remember, this is coming from someone who doesn't care about service :) The front desk person was pleasant, prompt and helpful. He seemed genuinely interested in my stay and it showed.

So why the average overall rating? I'm not a fan of the older style hotels. Yes, there's a certain charm about them and yes my room was very large. But it felt like being at grandma's house with the carpeting, bathroom and other design elements. Again, keep in mind, this is coming from someone who likes a more boutique style hotel. If you like going to grandma's, you'll like this place.

Also, be careful if you go for a walk near the hotel. The area can get sketchy pretty quick.

Room Tip: Ask for a king room on the 8th floor. It's a bit quieter being further away from the street leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The location and neighborhood can be a bit offputting. But don't let that stop you from experiencing one of the city's most interesting and well-appointed gems! Staff are more than happy to share stories of the hotel's history and meticulous rehab. From the original brass elevator doors to the original deco light fixtures, the decor will knock your socks off! Complimentary Aveda products, plush robes and premium bedding will offset the pain of the I-94 construction mess that is our Wis summer season. The Envoy restaurant has a great Sunday brunch, rather unique from most. For a single brunch price (cheap!) you can sample small plates of as much of the breakfast/brunch menu as you can pack away. Our favorite Milwaukee getaway!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at the Ambassador hotel on a Groupon and it was wonderful. Although they did not have a pool or jacuzzi we found other things to do. The rooms are incredibly clean and have a lot of space. We had a double queen and had lots of space. We stayed on St. Pats day and took the shuttle (free) down to Water Street. They were very accommodating and it worked out well.

Because it is an older hotel the insulation wasn't that great. I could hear people in the next room during the night and it being St. Pats day the halls were very loud until 2 a.m. I woke up a few times to people partying in the hall.

I would have preferred a refrigerator we could use instead of the stocked (for lots of money) items they filled it with. I would highly recommend the Ambassador Hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for Milwaukee's Summerfest. They had a shuttle to and from the hotel which was great. The hotel has a historical feel to it and the rooms are big! Parking was free and the hotel was easy to find. We will be returning this summer again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.