We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like luxury in a fabulous art deco setting, don't hesitate!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“If you like luxury in a fabulous art deco setting, don't hesitate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The location and neighborhood can be a bit offputting. But don't let that stop you from experiencing one of the city's most interesting and well-appointed gems! Staff are more than happy to share stories of the hotel's history and meticulous rehab. From the original brass elevator doors to the original deco light fixtures, the decor will knock your socks off! Complimentary Aveda products, plush robes and premium bedding will offset the pain of the I-94 construction mess that is our Wis summer season. The Envoy restaurant has a great Sunday brunch, rather unique from most. For a single brunch price (cheap!) you can sample small plates of as much of the breakfast/brunch menu as you can pack away. Our favorite Milwaukee getaway!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    199
    56
    37
    33
See reviews for
80
243
53
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at the Ambassador hotel on a Groupon and it was wonderful. Although they did not have a pool or jacuzzi we found other things to do. The rooms are incredibly clean and have a lot of space. We had a double queen and had lots of space. We stayed on St. Pats day and took the shuttle (free) down to Water Street. They were very accommodating and it worked out well.

Because it is an older hotel the insulation wasn't that great. I could hear people in the next room during the night and it being St. Pats day the halls were very loud until 2 a.m. I woke up a few times to people partying in the hall.

I would have preferred a refrigerator we could use instead of the stocked (for lots of money) items they filled it with. I would highly recommend the Ambassador Hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for Milwaukee's Summerfest. They had a shuttle to and from the hotel which was great. The hotel has a historical feel to it and the rooms are big! Parking was free and the hotel was easy to find. We will be returning this summer again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were delighted we were with our stay at the Ambassado! My Partner and I had just registered for Domestic Partnership and chose the Ambassador to spend a special evening together. We had discovered their brunch a month ago and came back the very next week because we were treated so well by Andrew, Katrina, & Lynn. When we thought of where to stay to celebrate our day, we thought of the Ambassador and the staff did not disappoint! Andrew noticed us in the lobby and came over to say hello and congratulate us. After we arrived there was a knock at the door and he had sent up some champagne! We dined at Envoy in the evening and again for breakfast, great service, great staff! We'll see you soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here after flying back into Milwaukee from a business trip to relax and recover before returning home to Chicago. We had a Groupon - which included a complimentary bottle of wine and vouchers for breakfast in their restaurant.
We had a deluxe king and enjoyed the sitting area, multiple lighting options, deluxe fluffy towels and comfortable bed with several pillow options. I ended up sleeping very late and I think I technically missed the breakfast cut off in the restaurant... but they served me anyway - and not at all begrudgingly, but graciously and with a great sense of humor. My husband had eaten breakfast in his sweaty basketball clothes before me and no one even batted an eyelash at his appearance.
The food in the restaurant is fabulous and will appeal to the foodie in you. For breakfast, I had an omelet with mushrooms, prosciutto and brie one morning and eggs cooked perfectly to order the next. They serve homemade preserves with their toast and keep the coffee and water filled to the brim.
The decor is unique and bright. Our room was clean and quiet - but the service was what made us sure we'll be back. Give the Ambassador a chance! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed at the Ambassador Hotel the first weekend in March. I was in Milwaukee on business and the hotel was chosen for me. Usually we stay in very mediocre hotels, so this hotel was a pleasant surprise. This is an old hotel, with high ceilings in the lobby with beautiful columns and intricate trim and marble floors. Usually old hotels are charming but shabby. This hotel was perfectly refurbished with fresh paint. Everything was spotless.
The rooms were huge, with a large sitting area. The room was easily twice as large as the average hotel room. The bathroom was very small. They made up for this by having a second sink outside the bathroom. The bathroom was spotless, as was the room.
The bed was a nice surprise, as it was softer than the average hotel bed. This made for restful sleep, unless you like a rock hard bed.
And finally, the staff was always helpful. I have to have a gluten-free diet. I had room service twice a day for the 3 days I was there, and they were always very accomodating about my many requests for changes in the menu, and they always got it right.
A very pleasant stay. Not a five star hotel, but a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is an excellent hotel in Milwaukee, and though it's off the beaten path, the free shuttle takes you anywhere... AND picks you up from anywhere, when available... which is pretty much always.

What's great is that it's more affordable than other comparable hotels in the area like the Pfister or Intercontinental... with the same luxurious rooms and top-of-the-line beds. Just don't wander off on a walk in the neighborhood... it can get sketchy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.