We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service with style!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay Longer & Save
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Long Grove, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous service with style!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here after flying back into Milwaukee from a business trip to relax and recover before returning home to Chicago. We had a Groupon - which included a complimentary bottle of wine and vouchers for breakfast in their restaurant.
We had a deluxe king and enjoyed the sitting area, multiple lighting options, deluxe fluffy towels and comfortable bed with several pillow options. I ended up sleeping very late and I think I technically missed the breakfast cut off in the restaurant... but they served me anyway - and not at all begrudgingly, but graciously and with a great sense of humor. My husband had eaten breakfast in his sweaty basketball clothes before me and no one even batted an eyelash at his appearance.
The food in the restaurant is fabulous and will appeal to the foodie in you. For breakfast, I had an omelet with mushrooms, prosciutto and brie one morning and eggs cooked perfectly to order the next. They serve homemade preserves with their toast and keep the coffee and water filled to the brim.
The decor is unique and bright. Our room was clean and quiet - but the service was what made us sure we'll be back. Give the Ambassador a chance! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    246
    76
    41
    36
See reviews for
131
291
62
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed at the Ambassador Hotel the first weekend in March. I was in Milwaukee on business and the hotel was chosen for me. Usually we stay in very mediocre hotels, so this hotel was a pleasant surprise. This is an old hotel, with high ceilings in the lobby with beautiful columns and intricate trim and marble floors. Usually old hotels are charming but shabby. This hotel was perfectly refurbished with fresh paint. Everything was spotless.
The rooms were huge, with a large sitting area. The room was easily twice as large as the average hotel room. The bathroom was very small. They made up for this by having a second sink outside the bathroom. The bathroom was spotless, as was the room.
The bed was a nice surprise, as it was softer than the average hotel bed. This made for restful sleep, unless you like a rock hard bed.
And finally, the staff was always helpful. I have to have a gluten-free diet. I had room service twice a day for the 3 days I was there, and they were always very accomodating about my many requests for changes in the menu, and they always got it right.
A very pleasant stay. Not a five star hotel, but a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is an excellent hotel in Milwaukee, and though it's off the beaten path, the free shuttle takes you anywhere... AND picks you up from anywhere, when available... which is pretty much always.

What's great is that it's more affordable than other comparable hotels in the area like the Pfister or Intercontinental... with the same luxurious rooms and top-of-the-line beds. Just don't wander off on a walk in the neighborhood... it can get sketchy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here for two nights about a week and a half ago in a king deluxe room. It was very clean, quiet, and comfortable, and quite a large room. We enjoyed having various seating and lighting options. As others noted, the bathroom area is adequate but small. There is a wide counter with a sink outside the bathroom with the coffee machine and minibar frig. The room safe did not work. We loved the beautiful art deco lobby; the elevator doors are really wonderful. The desk clerks and drivers were all very helpful. The best feature for us was the free shuttle service to/from downtown areas. We left our car at the hotel the entire time we were there, phoning for the shuttle whenever we wanted it. It may be different on weekends, but midweek we never had to wait more than 15 minutes for a ride in either direction. My only suggestion to management is to define the area served by the shuttle (so guests can plan accordingly).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

Paid $150/night for the deluxe king. Not very deluxe. No fitted sheets, just some sheets put together, slept on the mattress itself after a few hours. Aveda products were the size of my pinkey. Loose hair all over the place, none of it belonged to me or the lady I was with. NASTY!!!! Outdated. If they updated the first floor they should have done the same to the rooms. Tv options were also limited. Lower the price and maybe its worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with us!

Our upscale accommodations are some of the cleanest in the city. Leaving a guest in a room that is less than perfect is simply unacceptable. Had we been given the opportunity to correct the issue during your stay we are confident your expectations would have been surpassed.

Unfortunately, we did not receive information on this complaint during the guest's stay with us. It is standard for upscale properties to use flat sheets on their beds. Our guest rooms were updated and enlarged during the renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Loved the accommodations and the service. Ike was very helpful at the restaurant and we loved our breakfast. We had booked at the last minute and received a wonderful price. Rooms were clean and the bed very comfortable...Free parking and shuttle an extra bonus .We can't wait to go to stay here again.. Everyone from the bar area to the front desk were very friendly and we appreciated each one. THANKS so much!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Chicago, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Very nice hotel. We went on a Living Social deal and were delighted with many of the amenities. Great bar, and we had Sunday breakfast in the restaurant. Service was very good, as was the food. We took advantage of their complimentary shuttle service. Though it was a busy Saturday night, we found it very responsive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.