We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with a great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Middleton
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with a great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011 via mobile

Probably my fifth stay at this wonderful art deco gem. Rooms are large, baths small. Very comfortable bed and excellent media center. Hotel is a bargain at $89 AAA. Restaurant is outstanding. Good menu and value.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    198
    56
    37
    33
See reviews for
80
243
53
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011 via mobile

A very nice hotel. 20 blocks west of river so the shuttle is important - and very good and responsive. Rooms are comfortable. Restaurants are a shuttle ride away.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Ambassador. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We've stayed here several times, each experience less enjoyable than the previous. I'm done with this place. The rooms are small, closetless and the walls are tissue thin. For the price you pay (and it's NOT cheap) I expect certain level of service and amenities. Not worth the out of the way location (in a not terrific part of Milwaukee).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
We pride ourselves on delivering award-winning customer service and exceeding guest expectations. Please know we have no complaints on file during your recent visits to the hotel. Nonetheless, the hotel's General Manager is anxious to hear about your experiences, as he would like to remedy the situation to your satisfaction as soon as possible. Thank you for your business and for your post. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed at the Ambassador for a wedding I was in. On Friday, the wedding party utilized the bar and restaurant area for the rehearsal dinner. The space is very nice, the staff was very accommodating, and the food was delicious. The day of the wedding, myself and two bridesmaids were sharing a room. We arrived before check in time and the hotel was able to accommodate us and check us in early, which was great! The room was very clean and spacious. It was a Queen Queen room with a pullout couch. The bathroom was small, but clean and functional. A great part of the hotel was their shuttle service. It was able to bring large parts of the wedding guests to and from the location. The driver also agreed to do a last pickup after the usual designated time, which was awesome. Not much time was spent at the hotel, but it was a great experience and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We booked a weekend stay for a couple of nights, and were extremely pleased with the experience at the Radisson. The location was perfect: close enough to the city, but far enough to enjoy the sense of a getaway that we were seeking. The shuttle bus service made travel to the downtown area for restaurants, etc. very convenient. We were very impressed by the friendly and helpful staff, and our room was clean and comfortable. This was our first visit to Milwaukee, but we hope to return and would definitely stay at the Radisson if we do.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
We have confirmed this guest stayed with the Ambassdor and have reached out to the guest to change the property mentioned from the Radisson to the Ambassador. We appreciate the great response regarding our hotel and staff. Thank you for your response and we look forward to having you back at the Ambassador again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I had a guest come to Milwaukee for the weekend and we stayed at the Ambassador Hotel. We stay in the Queen Double room because it is much larger than a single king room. We had a fantastic stay and were please that not only did I get a great rate on this hotel, parking and internet were included in the price. The hotel is well located, it is close to the downtown, theaters, restaurants, the lake front and if need be the freeway. They offer a great brunch of small plates on Sunday. The service was pleasant and courteous. I will certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a corner, they are larger and more private. Room 414 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This has to be one of my favorite hotels. Kind of an off-beat location, but close to the city yet far enough away. The staff was fantastic. We didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurant but heard great things about it from others we know. The rooms are beautiful and HUGE!! They did a great job on the remodel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.