We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay Longer & Save
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Denver
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My family of 4 stayed at this hotel this past week and it is a little gem in the middle of the Marquette University area of Milwaukee. The deco style hotel is quite old but is still modern enough to please everyone. Once you walk inside you are welcomed by a restaurant on one side and a bar on the other. The lobby pumps out a rather pleasant scent of which the origins are unknown but I found myself looking forward to returning each evening to catch a whiff. The rooms are very spacious and inviting. The beds are extremely comfortable; I don't remember sleeping that well at a hotel in a long time. The only complaint I would have is the walls are a bit thin; we were next to the elevator and it was a tad loud in the night. That wouldn't scare me away - I would happily stay here again.
The hotel staff was courteous, helpful and attentive. The location is also close to downtown and the older areas of Milwaukee. Parking is free to hotel guests and they also have a free shuttle that runs daily. Another perk here is free wi-fi - not easy to find in nicer hotels. The restaurant has a limited menu but Milwaukee boasts some great eateries within a short distance. I highly recommend the Ambassador if you are looking for comfort, value and convenience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not right next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    241
    73
    40
    36
See reviews for
126
284
60
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Ambassador Hotel. We saved money by not staying downtown but rather near Marquette University and we are so glad that we found this hotel. Our room was very nice and spacious. But, the best part of this hotel is the shuttle service. The complementary shuttle will take you to basically any site in Milwaukee. The shuttle will even pick you up and return you to the hotel. We even used the shuttle to get to and from Miller Park for a Brewers game.
On the downside housekeeping left something to be desired. The room was very clean upon our arrival, however maintenance wasn't great. One day no one came until 3:30. Another day, our used mugs weren't changed out. Another time we asked the front desk for some coffee and they said they would bring some to our room, which never happened.
Even with all of this, I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The shuttle drivers (especially Sam) more than makes up for these deficits.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Although this hotel was advertised as being "downtown" it was actually quite some distance from the main town centre. There is however a good free shuttle bus service which will drop you off and pick you up at regular intervals. I stayed for business and there was plenty of room for one in the king deluxe room, deep bath, nice toiletries, huge tv set and free 24-hour WiFi access. I wasn't inclined to walk around the neighbourhood but there was a reasonably good fitness centre. The lift was 'fun' - art deco door front that you pull open with the lift door opening automatically. Good price for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is a nice older hotel that has largely been updated. However, my room was very small, there wasn't a coffee maker, mugs, iron, or ironing board in my room (but they were delivered when I asked for them). Some of the rooms don't even had closets. The food was excellent. I enjoyed room service and the hotel bar and restaurant. The gym was above average. The view from the 8th (top) floor was nice. I wish the room was larger , there was only room for an office chair, which made sitting around a little less comfortable. The shuttle service will take you around town. Overall a good hotel, expecially for the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed recently in the Ambaasador Hotel in Milwaukee for about 4 nights as a result of a conference I was attending at the Fronteir Centre. While the Centre was a good walk away, the weather allowed us to do that and when time did not permit, we made use of the excellent shuttle service at the front door. The hotel is quaint while relatively up-to-date with good staff and all the necessary amenities. The small restaurant is quite good and the friendly service of the shuttle drivers puts this place on our "quality" list. Well recommended if you are planning a visit to Milwaukee.
The only real downer was the lack of any discernible or easy way to get to the highly advertised shops at Cedarburg which is a 25 minute drive out of the City. It is advertised but not readily accessible.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

Recently stayed for 3 nights during a professional meeting at the Frontier Center. While most of the hotels suggested were closer to the downtown center this location a bit farther out was great for travelling by car with ample free parking. The complimentary shuttle was great for getting to downtown locations without needing to move our car or pay for parking elsewhere, which was another great added value. The historic art deco hotel was beautiful. The guest rooms were updated, modern and very spacious with a separate seating area and two separate sink areas. The staff was very responsive and service oriented. The conference negotiated rate was a good deal for a hotel in a major metropolitan area .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights (from a Wednesday night to Sunday morning) while I was attending a continuing education course at Marquette University. The king suite room was spacious and very comfortably decorated. It was within walking distance of my class, so I didn't have to rent a car. And the free shuttle was great - very timely in picking me up from the waterfront after I walked into downtown. The driver was very knowledgeable about the area's sights and restaurants.
The Envoy restaurant (located inside the main floor of the hotel) was pricey but decent and the service was attentive but not overwhelming. Not very abundant on choices for a vegetarian though. The Caffe' Deco was also pricey (the non-prepackaged food comes from the Envoy kitchen anyway) but the cashier was very unpleasant and unfriendly both times I went there for breakfast - which was a surprise, since everyone else was so nice and helpful.
Note: This hotel doesn't provide free shuttle service to/from Milwaukee airport, so a cheaper-than-taxi way to get from/to the airport is to use one of the airport shuttles which you can find at the airport located near baggage claim.
One last note: the neighborhood isn't the greatest (there is a homeless shelter about a block and a half away), so don't go for an evening walk. Use the hotel's work-out room instead.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.