We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional quality at a great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Bastrop, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Exceptional quality at a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

What a great experience! This hotel is really exceptional. The service is superb, the staff is very friendly and helpful without fawning, and the rooms are spaciaous. The bathroom is tiny, but the rest of the room makes up for that and the sink area outside the bathroom is great. I loved the bed and especially the pillows to choose from. All in all an exceptional experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    231
    65
    39
    36
See reviews for
111
268
60
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for two nights while I was in Milwaukee for the UFC Live event. First off: the place looks great; art deco style, lots of remodeling. Secondly the service was outstanding. The drivers for the free shuttle were courteous and on-time. By the way: the shuttle is free so if you want to see downtown but don't want to fork over another hundred bucks or so then do as I did and stay here.

The food that I ordered through room service wasn't the greatest and was overpriced in my opinion. That's really the only bad thing I have to say about the place except for the fact that the walls are thin and if you're a light sleeper then you might want to talk to the management beforehand. The room was clean however the coffee maker still had the previous customer's instant coffee bag in it. Wasn't a deal breaker as I'm not a huge fan of coffee anyway.

Free wireless is a plus. While my laptop was working (had some Vista bug/glitch) the speed was great.

Nearby is the Rave/Eagle's Ballroom, the Pabst Mansion, Marquette University, and a couple diners. Downtown is walkable or, like I said, you can take the shuttle. One other nice thing was that parking was free at the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Fantastic customer service. We came in for an early check in and while it wasn't met right away the staff was very efficient in getting us to our room at 1 pm. The beds are top notch comfort. The room was filled with ammenities such as drinks and snacks in the mini-fridge. While I didn't partake in any, there was a wide selection. My friends and I booked a 2:30 ride on the shuttle to the Pirates-Brewers game and the gentleman driving us took us at 2:10 so as not to be on an overcrowded bus at 2:30. The location is excellent. If you walk left of the hotel gate you can explore the Marquette campus and eventually find yourself in downtown Milwaukee. We were very pleased with how accessible the city was from this hotel. Just don't go right out of the hotel gate as the community is very run down and could be considered a slum. The hotel bar had a great staff that was very attentive and great at mixing drinks. They even made shots for my friend and I that the bartender hadn't done before. Overall you can't go wrong with Ambassador Hotel if staying in Milwaukee. I'll certainly be back but only if the Pittsburgh Pirates can start finding a way to beat the Brewers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The hotel is a beautiful spot in the middle of an iffy neighborhood. With the brick walled entrance and the fenced in lot, they make it a mini-oasis. The staff was friendly and helped me through a minor check in problem (my company's, not the hotel's problem). The room service was great, and the food was good (maybe a bit pricey). The location is a few blocks from the university - so if you head in that direction, the neighborhood improves.

Housekeeping was average, but they often failed to leave us shampoos and soaps (and I tend to use them - especially Aveda products).

The free shuttle service is fantastic! They will take you almost anywhere - from the fair to downtown... and then they will pick you up again when you call. It could be anywhere from a 5 minute to a 40 minute wait, but its great to not have to pay for parking or hassle with finding a place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011 via mobile

Hotel had a small room. The building was old but decently remodeled.
Service just terrible. I had stayed at this hotel twice due to hotwire, and service both times were unacceptable. Rude, not accommodating of simple requests as a king bed, etc.
Stay somewhere else.
Location is so bad that the parking is free.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHAdministration, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
We apologize sincerely that you did not have a pleasant experience. Please know that we have several different room types and sizes available at a variety of price points. At times, room types are limited due to reservations that are made for specific accomodations. It sounds as if the reservation was made for a Queen room, but a King room was requested when checking into the hotel. We always offer upgrades upon request, unless there are not different room types available. We were not made aware of this customer's complaints at the time of the stay, so unfortunately we were unable to address them immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sound Beach, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

It was obvious that this is an older hotel, but it has been refurbished very nicely and looks modern. It has a nice restaurant and bar, and the staff was very accomodating. The only possible criticism I have is that there is not much right in that locality within walking distace.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We had a terrible experience staying at the Ambassador Milwaukee. Checked into a hot stuffy room at 4PM and set the AC for 72F. When we returned at 11 PM the room was 82F. I was told the AC is controlled by motion detectors and shuts off if you leave the room. It took an hour for the room to cool down. The bed was fixed to the floor so close to the windows an adult could not get out of bed on that side. The blankets were stained. This is not by any means a 4 star hotel unless you plan on sleeping in the lobby, which after my stay, sounds like a good idea.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHAdministration, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Please accept our sincere apologies for your experience. We have several different room types and sizes available at various price points. In 2008 we installed state of the art energy saving thermostats as a part of our 'green initiative" to become more eco-friendly. These thermostats save an enormous amount of energy. The system recognizes when there is a person in the room via heat-sensor technology. When there isn't a person in the room the climate control system rests. Unfortunately, when the weather is extremely hot or cold there can be a wait while the room temperature stabilizes.

Unfortunately, we were not made aware of the complaints in regards to the condition of the linens in the rooms. It is our policy that all damaged linens are removed from service immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.