We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy joint, remodeled very well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Batavia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classy joint, remodeled very well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We came here for Summerfest and given the other downtown hotels closer to the Summerfest grounds charged for parking and did not have free shuttles, this turned out to be a gem of a hotel. Nice remodel job and the neighborhood isn't too bad. Two nice breakfast places close by (Ruby G's and Broken Yolk) within walking distance. Overall great experience

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    214
    59
    38
    35
See reviews for
96
252
57
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I really wanted to give the Ambassador a better review. It's an older hotel that's been nicely renovated. Our room was generally comfortable, except for the small bathroom with a mini toilet. (Munchkins would sit on that toilet and exclaim, "Holy cow, that's a tiny toilet!" The art deco touches are nice, as are the old-style elevator doors that you must pull open once the elevator arrives on your floor. If I was evaluating the room and hotel and not the service, this would be a four-star review.

But, it's impossible to review this hotel with commenting on the service. It felt as if a great hotel was handed to a bunch of amateurs to run the place. The front desk staff and people in the Envoy Lounge were not terribly attentive and seemed a bit unhappy to be working on the holiday weekend we visited.

But the really disappointing thing was the housekeeping staff; it's not the room wasn't clean--it was well maintained--but they were quite rude. Our first morning, they knocked on our door at 9:12 am, which seemed awfully early to be disturbing guests. Admittedly, we forgot to put the "Do Not Disturb" sign out, but that still seems very early. When we told them the room was occupied, they left--but returned 14 minutes later and knocked again! This time we opened the door and asked them to return later, and we got a lecture on using the "Do Not Disturb" sign. The next morning we left our room and were glared at by the housekeeper as we strolled down the hall. And the morning after that, the same housekeeper saw us walking down the hall to breakfast and yelled down the hall, "Are you checking out?" The experience of being watched by the housekeeping staff so they could pounce in our room was just a bit creepy.

This place has promise, and I probably would consider staying here again, but I felt the staff didn't live up to the promise of the wonderful, stylish building.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHAdministration, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review with a truly objective approach. Please know that we take all customer reviews (both good and not so favorable) very seriously and give each of them individual attention. Your experience has been shared with our staff and is being used as a training tool for both employees and management. The experience that you shared is a great example of how each employee's interaction with our guests can effect the guest's experience in a much larger way than they realize. We truly hope that you consider staying with us again and are confident that you will be impressed with the level of service our staff provides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This was our third time here. Much of what I liked was still enjoyable: the decor, clean spacious room (king deluxe) with great lighting, darkening curtains and great ac for a comfortable sleep, lounge with interesting cocktails.

We also had breakfast at the restaurant the day we left and had a time problem. Service was very slow, we were told there was a "back-up" in the kitchen. (There were quite a few empty tables.)

This time the location and shuttle was more of a problem, I am sure because it was a busy weekend. We called for pickup at the train station and were told the shuttle would be there in ten or fifteen minutes. After 40 minutes and no shuttle, we took a taxi. I didn't expect them to drop everything to pick us up but if I would have know the wait time I would have happily taken a taxi right away. (It was only $8.) When we checked in they gave us the shuttle schedule. Unfortunately sometimes that was followed and sometimes it was not. (The #30 bus across the street runs along Wisconsin and we did take that one day. The fare is $2.25) On two other occasions we ended up taking a taxi when the wait time exceeded what we were expecting. (Again, not a huge deal but a bit frustrating.) Unfortunately there really isn't anywhere to walk from the hotel other than a 24 hour diner. Next time we will stay somewhere closer to downtown where I think getting around would be easier and maybe a bit less expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
We appreciate you visiting us at the Ambassador for your third time. Our apologies for the shuttle service not meeting your expectations on your most recent visit with us. As you can imagine, the festival season is our busiest time of the year not only for the hotel but our complimentary shuttle service. Our shuttles run constantly throughout the day and depending on traffic congestion and road closures to accommodate the pedestrian traffic on the lake front, the shuttle can be unexpectedly delayed. We would love to have you back for a fourth visit and please feel free to contact me directly and I will see to it that you will once again find yourself having a “Great Stay” and “Great Experiece”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mchenry Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We were actually given a card key and entered an occupied room. The guest was not in his room, but I'm quite sure that if he knew that we were in there, he would not have been happy. When we told the gentleman behind the service desk that the room was occupied, he was not surprised nor apologetic. He acted like it was an every day occurrence. Is it? How safe are my belongings? How safe am I? At check out the next day, the lady behind the service desk couldn't explain my bill to me. Really? Are these employees trained? After many excuses why I couldn't talk to the manager, I finally get to speak to the reservations manager 10 hours later. Too late!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHAdministration, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
The safety and security of our guests is a top priority to the Ambassador. We go through great lengths and expense to ensure that we do all we can to ensure the safety and security of our guests. Our staff is trained extensively and also attends numerous ongoing training sessions on all topics related to their respective jobs. Please note that management was not made aware of this situation or given the opportunity to resolve the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea S.Wales
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed here recently for 2 nights, we were originally booked at the sister hotel Ambassador Inn but transferred across the road. The reception and ground floor have been impressively renovated in an art deco style. Our room was a generous size and the bathroom was OK, though having the wash hand basin in the room seemed a bit odd. The bed was comfy and we asked for and were given, a quiet room at the back.

They have an excellent shuttle bus service, the drivers are more like tour guides they are so helpful and informative. Our deal didn't include breakfast but it was possible to buy vouchers for $7.95 which was very good value, the breakfasts were cooked to order and tasty.

The only thing that we weren't very impressed with and let them down was that the towels had seen better days - they were more grey than white and very frayed. The bedding, although clean had also seen better days.

We would still stay there again however if the price was right.

Room Tip: Use the shuttle bus, the drivers are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at the Ambassador Hotel. Thank you also for sharing your experience with the breakfast vouchers and our Shuttle Service. Our drivers are true Ambassadors and strive to exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return to Milwaukee and the Ambassador Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

This historic hotel is located a short driving distance from downtown. The room was spacious with updated TV, sofa and desk. One sink/vanity area was outside the original bathroom, which had the tub/shower, toilet and a pedestal sink. This area was very small with its old hotel charm. One other interesting thing about the hotel is the old-fashioned elevators...you had to slide/open the actual door to go in/out (rather than have automatic sliding doors)...kind of cool. This hotel also offered free shuttle service to downtown, which we took to go to dinner. On our way to/from downtown, the shuttle driver told us about the surrounding area and tidbits about Milwaukee, so that was an added fun bonus!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for your review of the hotel. Your appreciation for the historic charm combined with the modern amenties and excellent service is what our team strives for each and every day. We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Despite the ugly neon sign on the roof, the hotel's art deco facade is distinctive and beautiful. The neighborhood is a little sketchy, but not far from the downtown attractions, and easy access to the airport. Large room and bathroom, good restaurant on ground floor.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.