We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Winnetka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love this hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Free parking, big room, and clean. Beds are comfortable + a sofa bed in the room, should you need it.

Room Tip: Has a shuttle service to nearby attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    231
    66
    39
    36
See reviews for
111
269
60
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I travel often with work and booked this hotel through Hotwire. It has potential, but has some lacking issues to reach the 4* quality (even at Hotwire/Priceline standards of 4*). Just a few petty thoughts... there is no vallet, the elevator looks dated and the vent was dirty, the room's carpet and wallpaper was very 80's-ish, and on. Further, I went to the vending machined to get a bottled water and the machine was out. I then went to the front desk to explain and see if they had any. No, they suggested I walk or drive to another spot to get one. Really, a hotel without a bottle of water for a guest? I'm the type that refuses to pay $6 for the bottle of Fiji in the room. Anyway...

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
The Ambassador Hotel underwent a multi-million dollar restoration and renovation in 2005. We went through a painstaking process of restoring the original 1927 elevator doors. Many people drive to the Ambassador just to see this icon of style. The elevator cars themselves are state-of-the art. Wedding parties regularly arrange for photo shoots with the Elevator Doors as a backdrop. The carpeting was picked by a designer and was recently replaced.

We do offer multiple options for water. Figi Water is available in all of our guest rooms and we also supply both sparking and non-sparking water in the guest room refreshment centers. In addition bottled water is available in Caffe Deco, our coffee shop, Envoy, our restaurant and through room service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I booked the queen queen deluxe for myself and two of my friends for a girls night out. The hotel was very elegant, without being too pretentious. While the room was beautiful and the beds were super comfy, it was also the hotel staff that made our stay so great. I have never received such amazing service. We arrived almost 5 hours before check-in, simply hoping to drop off our bags, but instead were greeted politely, and told that they had a room available for us to check into. That day and evening, we took full advantage of their FREE shuttle service that picked us up and dropped us off all over town. The drivers, Patrick and Frank, were fantastic!

The only thing I was not crazy about was the hotel's location. While it isn't far from the action, the neighborhood did not appear very safe, especially at night. Be prepared to utilize the free shuttle (runs until 11:30 pm), or pay for a cab (not expensive—it cost us $10 including tip to get from Water St. to the hotel). Overall, I would highly recommend staying at the Ambassador.

Room Tip: To save 20%, select Advanced Purchase Save 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Everything about this hotel was 5 star. From the wonderful staff who greeted us like we were family, to the excellent service at the restuarant and bar. It made our trip even more enjoyable. Our room was spacious and clean. The decor was so unique. Wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Every year my husband and I celebrate our anniversary by going to a Brewer game and staying at the Ambassador. The staff is great, the rooms are cozy, and they shuttle us to and from the game.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington, Indiana, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel for one night and I was really impressed. The art deco feel is great and we stayed in the double queen room which was huge (around 460 square feet). We generally stay at the Marriott Courtyard Downtown which has comparable rates, however, this hotel was close to Miller Park and we had planned to catch a Brewer's Game. The room was enormous and with the pull out queen sofa my brother, father and I all slept comfortably in our own beds. I was very impressed with the linens and comfort of the beds. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We checked into the Ambassador with high hopes. We travel extensively and usually stay at B&B's, boutique inns and generally away from the chains. The lobby was as promised, art deco period and very attractive. That's where it came off the rails. The desk clerk was unkempt and was a prediction of what I'd find in the room. The room (708) was disgusting. The first thing I noticed was a worn couch with stains on the cushions. The carpet was stained in several places and was badly in need of shampooing. There were a couple of light bulbs burned out. The air return for the AC/Heat unit looks like it had never been cleaned. The toilet paper roll on the stand was just about empty and thankfully they'd stocked a spare. This room wasn't worth even 1/2 the $190 + rate we paid.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.