We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - I was amazed at the quality for the price we paid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Great Hotel - I was amazed at the quality for the price we paid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Everything about this hotel was 5 star. From the wonderful staff who greeted us like we were family, to the excellent service at the restuarant and bar. It made our trip even more enjoyable. Our room was spacious and clean. The decor was so unique. Wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    228
    65
    39
    36
See reviews for
111
265
59
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Every year my husband and I celebrate our anniversary by going to a Brewer game and staying at the Ambassador. The staff is great, the rooms are cozy, and they shuttle us to and from the game.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington, Indiana, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel for one night and I was really impressed. The art deco feel is great and we stayed in the double queen room which was huge (around 460 square feet). We generally stay at the Marriott Courtyard Downtown which has comparable rates, however, this hotel was close to Miller Park and we had planned to catch a Brewer's Game. The room was enormous and with the pull out queen sofa my brother, father and I all slept comfortably in our own beds. I was very impressed with the linens and comfort of the beds. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We checked into the Ambassador with high hopes. We travel extensively and usually stay at B&B's, boutique inns and generally away from the chains. The lobby was as promised, art deco period and very attractive. That's where it came off the rails. The desk clerk was unkempt and was a prediction of what I'd find in the room. The room (708) was disgusting. The first thing I noticed was a worn couch with stains on the cushions. The carpet was stained in several places and was badly in need of shampooing. There were a couple of light bulbs burned out. The air return for the AC/Heat unit looks like it had never been cleaned. The toilet paper roll on the stand was just about empty and thankfully they'd stocked a spare. This room wasn't worth even 1/2 the $190 + rate we paid.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

My friend and I had to make an emergency trip to Milwaukee due to a family member being hospitalized there. We ran into some trouble with our car being towed. Being from out of state we had no idea what to do. Wes, the bartender, went above and beyond to help us not only find the car but to make arrangements to get to the tow yard and pick it up. This gentleman deserves a raise and a big thank you from the management. He went out of his way to help out of town guests in need. Thank you so much, Wes!
The hotel is very clean, quiet and reasonable in price. On top of that it is also a very beautiful place to stay,. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel as a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

The hotel was a jewel. PERFECTLY preserved ART DECO decor and architectural details imparted the feel of stepping into the set of a Dashiell Hammet novel. Staff was friendly without being gushy and the room was spotless.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Our high school daughter went to a concert across the street and we needed a place to sit for a few hours. The bar was very friendly and inviting. The food was fantastic and the cost was far less than expected. We had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.