We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay just minutes from downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great stay just minutes from downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights for an event at The Rave/Eagle's Club which is half a block away. The hotel was very stylish and clean w/a helpful staff and my room was much larger than expected. My room included a couch, chair and coffee table along with a work desk, TV cabinet and obviously the bed, with plenty of room to spare. The staff were very friendly and responsive. The free Wi-Fi and parking was a nice savings. (other hotels in downtown charge an average of $20/per day to park). My husband used the free shuttle once which was very convenient and easy to schedule when he needed it. Didn't try the restaurant, but it always seemed busy w/customers and the menu sounded good. My only minor complaint is that the walls/ceilings are kind of thin - I could hear some stomping and movement from the room above us.
The area around the hotel is a little desolate other than activity from the patrons going to/from the Rave. There's a convenience store and 24hr. diner nearby the hotel which attracted a rowdy, thuggish crowd at night so I would avoid past 10-11pm if possible.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    220
    64
    39
    36
See reviews for
106
261
58
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

If you're looking for a nice place to stay in Milwaukee on a budget this hotel will exceed your needs!!! We stayed 1 night and I couldn't ask for anything else. Although the hotel was not exactly downtown it was close enough to everything. The FREE Hotel Shuttle is a HUGE plus... They took us to the Casino and after calling for a pick up... the shuttle was there in 10 minutes. The staff was extremely friendly.... room service... quick and efficient! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you! We look forward to your return to the Ambassador!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This hotel was a pleasure to stay at. We had a group rate and found everything as promised. Some of the exterior and all of the main floor is a visual treat - with the Art Deco style in use throughout. The room was large - no closet, only an armoire. Bathroom was from the 20's, with updated fixtures. A second sink was in the large bedroom.

We were not advised of a "master switch" for electrical power in the room. Until we found it and turned it on, no lights, etc. The heat unit had some strange traits - it seemed to turn itself down when we left the room. And the temperature setting could not be make lower than 68. No big problem - just a puzzle. And when the service staff turned off the master switch after cleaning, my computer ran on its battery until it ran out. Had to re-charge it upon my return.

The beds were very comfortable - nice bedding.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you for choosing the Ambassador and we look forward to having you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My husband and I with another couple recently went to a Cheap Trick concert at Powtawanimi Casino in downtown Milwaukee, WI. We booked the rooms thru the casino website based on rate and reviews. The Ambassador Hotel is an art deco hotel that has been renovated to its past glory. It was an outstanding experience; the rooms were very large, extremely clean and well appointed with a large flat screeen TV and Aveeda spa products. The staff was very helpful. They provided complimentary shuttle service to the casino and other points downtown. When we checked out Sunday morning, I asked the front desk if they could recommend someplace for breakfast (although they provide a large buffet we were looking for a simpler meal). They suggested a diner 3 doors up (Michaels) which was also a fantastic deal. We will definitly be back and look forward to going to more events in Milwaukee and recommending this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Ambassador. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

The Ambassador Hotel is a true diamond in the rough! It's elegant and beautiful and upscale. The preservation of the hotel is amazing and the staff is friendly, helpful and available at anytime. The rooms are gorgeous, clean and roomy. Envoy has some of the best food around and the dining experinece is so much nicer then any generic hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cudahy, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

The rooms are spacious with all the amenities necessary for business or travel. The beds are extremely comfortable with luxurious linens .
The food in the restaurant was excellent for all meals throught the day. The snack bar was good as well.
They are close to downtown Milwaukee with a shuttle that will take you anywhere you would like to go and pick you up at a designated time. Awesome experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed in one of the whirlpool suites and was extremely impressed with the atmosphere. I was more than satisied with the cleanliness, room service, restaurant, and bar. The location offers easy access to downtown city entertainment and sights. the shuttle offered convenience and ease of transportation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#11 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality and exceptional service are a tradition at the Ambassador Hotel. The beautifully restored Ambassador Hotel preserves the original Art Deco style which has made it a Milwaukee landmark and we’ve added all of the luxuries you have come to expect from a modern hotel. Marble floors, elegant bronze elevator doors and Art Deco detailing are the backdrop for the sumptuous bedding, modern amenities, and our top-rated onsite restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.