We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise and terrific bargain.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   648 North Plankinton Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Denver CO.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise and terrific bargain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

My wife and I spent a night in Milwaukee in late January, 2010. Originally we had targeted the Pfister as it has been a landmark in Milwaukee for decades. However she is a dedicated Trip Advisor review reader and discovered so many favorable reviews on the Residence Inn that we gave it a chance. The lobby was beautiful and front desk friendly. But when we opened the door to our room, we were blown away. The east wall is mostly a big window overlooking the Milwaukee River and some of the beautiful older building that Milwaukee has to offer. The windows are nestled between the columns of what was the Gimbels building and the windows are bordered by the intricate stone work that was commonly used in the first half of the 20th century. After the initial, pleasant shock wore off from that, we noticed that there was a full size refrigerator, microwave, and dishwasher. The stone counter top also housed a 2 burner cooktop and formed a breakfast bar type of thing. The furniture was attractive and useful, with a comfortable bed. As a hotel serving the function a Residence Inn does, it would be perfect for an extended stay. The location is excellent; right on the riverwalk and a short walk from many of Milwaukee’s attractions. This is a hotel that is an excellent bargain. One word of warning to business travelers; the business center does not have a printer. The Residence Inn is a truly impressive hotel in a city that is underrated for its quality, architecture, and things to do.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnMke, Bryan Lucas, General Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations of our hotel. We are very proud of our suites, location and the historic status of the hotel. As for the business center, the printer has since been replaced. We pride ourselves as a fit for both business and leisure travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    88
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
49
100
16
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
western springs, il
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

The BEST location, within walking distance to cellular arena & bradley center; theaters (we went to comedy show at Pabst Theater), lots of restaurants, shopping (market).
We were 3 blocks from everything! The hotel has high ceilings, parking $17 per day, nice kitchen, living room, good showers, attentive front desk (asked for extra pillow, etc), pull out couch comfortable for sleeping, breakfast. Definitely recommend! Good price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We got this hotel using points and were surprised when we had far more than a mediocre experience.

Most noteworthy...

LOCATION - This is not your typical Residence Inn and certainly not located where you typically find a Residence Inn. It's a great downtown hotel, and I can't imagine a better location.

VALUE - A huge historic/restored room in a prime area (right on the river) with a wonderful breakfast and a nice little workout room.

VIEW - Ask for a riverside view. It's spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We stayed here for four nights and were quite impressed.

Breakfast was included and quite good - waffle makers and fresh porridge which you don't usually see.

Staff were fine - they had sheets available with very specific instructions on how to get to certain attractions. Even though these sheets didn't include bus instructions, they always offered to look up the bus route and print it out for us.

The room was very spacious and clean, with a couch, a brilliant kitchenette and all crockery/cutlery, microwave and massive fridge. For the price we paid, we got a suite when we would normally just get a hotel room. There was even a little jar of lollies and facial wipes available. The coffee was okay, too and free wi-fi was included.

The hotel was exceptionally clean; to the point of looking brand new even though it's 8 years old. The decor was a little ostentatious but still nice - trying to respect the site's heritage (the original Gimbels department store).

Location is the best you'll get in Milwaukee. One side of the hotel opens up onto the Riverwalk, it's walking distance to all food and concert options and a skywalk goes directly from the hotel into the Grand Avenue mall (a little sad mall, but has everything you need).

For the price, you won't do better in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

The hotel is located in a renovated Gimbels department store - ceilings are high and rooms are extra large. You're right on the river so get outside and enjoy the Riverwalk! Full breakfast with lots of choices and good coffee. Evening events offer wine and beer plus "light" dinner (we had local brats one night). There's a Borders located in the building.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Great location right on the river, not too far from the lake. Room is as pictured on their website. Comfortable bed, spacious and nicely equipped. Quieter than I expected - considering it's located downtown. It's also a very secure hotel, for women traveling alone. Wonderful breakfast buffet - just be sure to get there early. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only downside to this hotel, is that the parking structure is located on the next block. Be sure to visit Alterra coffeehouse on the lake. Also, within walking distance is the Milwaukee Public Market where you can pick up some great treats to have in your room. The Milwaukee Ale House is also within walking distance and has great beers.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

I made my first trip to Milwaukee for Summerfest and chose this hotel based on its proximity to the grounds. It ended up being a great choice. The hotel is a convenient bus or shuttle ride away from the grounds and the chaotic night that I couldn't get on the shuttle or get a taxi because a lot of concerts got out at once it wasn't a bad walk.

The hotel is close to the Milwaukee Public Market where I bought some food items for late night snacks after the concerts. The Public Market is a real gem with some great restaurants. The full sized refrigerator in the kitchen came in handy. The laundry facilities were clean and convenient and one night I was there they had a sandwich bar that made a nice light dinner. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.

The room was nice with comfortable furniture and the high ceilings made it seem even roomier. I had a river view as well. The breakfast buffet was good but I didn't get up early enough to make it a few mornings so I had something at the cafe at the Borders that is attached to the hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel. I hope to go to Summerfest again and will stay at the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 648 North Plankinton Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Marriott, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.