We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally-located, architectural & historic gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   648 North Plankinton Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Centrally-located, architectural & historic gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We chose this hotel online, not really knowing much about downtown Milwaukee. What a pleasant surprise; we really liked it and will definitely return. Housed in a former department store (first, Gimbel's, then Marshall Field's before it became a Residence Inn in 2001), it's an architectural gem. Love the high ceilings, spacious windows and bright light. We needed a 2br, 2ba room, and what we got was extremely spacious and on a corner overlooking the Riverside/Pabst Theater. Tall ceilings and windows, lots of light. We were in town fir a concert at the Riverside, and although the concert venue promotes another hotel chain, this hotel is truly the closest. It's also very close to important business sites and within walking distance to Milwaukee's Public Market. Comfortable breakfast room, too, and friendly Midwest hospitality. Our only negative observations: sheets and pillowcases smelled to strongly of bleach (not pleasant) and worn armchairs in sitting area make you think that it's renovation time. But we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    90
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
50
101
16
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here in late June when attending Summerfest. We were upgraded to a one-bedroom suite without asking. Lovely hotel that was formerly a Gimbel's/Macy's store. High ceilings. Nice spacious rooms, comfortable bed. Walking distance to the Summerfest grounds if you don't mind a hike.The complimentary breakfast buffet wasn't exactly gourmet, but certainly had lots of variety -- something for everyone. The room was expensive, but all of the downtown hotels jack up prices during Summerfest, so that was expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Milwaukee and Chicago. Hotel was very clean, and well maintained. We had a suite that included a parking package for an additional $10 per night. Very good idea as parking can be at a premium downtown. Hotel staff was helpful, even making suggestions for our day trip to Chicago. The breakfast and evening social included with the room cost were definitely a big plus and the food provided was very good. Overall, one of my favorite Marriott stays I've ever had.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side offer a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I have friends that have been here and say good things but I have nothing good to say about it.

Bad service. Room was not clean and smelled musty and I couldn't be accommodated elsewhere. Incredibly not with the money when so many better alternatives in the city.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

On my recent stay the things I appreciate about the hotel is the spaciousness and location to music/show venues, bars, and restaurants. The free breakfast is nothing great, the couches appeared worn, the staff were not overly friendly, and there is not secure parking (it's across the street in a mall parking structure). We picked this hotel because of the location and the spaciousness of the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Four of us stayed in a 2 bedroom suite (Room 530) June 13-17 and everything about our stay was fantastic! Our suite was huge and the full kitchen was well stocked.(Garbage can a little small though). The size of the suite makes you forget you are in a hotel room. There was minimal wear and tear on the sofa/chair and the carpet was very clean. We were in town for a family reunion and with family in Milwaukee and Wauwatosa, the location was perfect in that it took about 15 minutes to get everywhere we needed to go. Since its located right on the river, it was nice to unwind on the benches and watch the boats sail by in the evening. The free breakfast buffet was nice and plenty to choose from. I guess if I had one "complaint" it would be nice to have a choice of turkey sausage on the buffet. The Activia yogurt was nice. Also, be sure to bring your snacks, water, etc. to stock your room because the pantry is a little pricey. Before I could get to the grocery store I spent $8 on two bags of chips and a bottle of water! Yikes! But the pantry in the lobby was nicely stocked with everything from snacks, to aspirin to wine and beer!

Check in was quick and everyone we encountered at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. Housekeeping was OUTSTANDING! I was on my way downstairs on two different occasions when I ran into a housekeeping staff member and requested supplies be brought to our room. On both occasions the supplies were brought before I got back to the room 10-15 minutes later! Cathy and Desi are top notch staff members and always greeted us with a smile and never seemed annoyed that we requested extra towels or a blanket.

Even though we didn't use this service, they do offer to do your grocery shopping for you and charge it to your room. There is no extra charge for this service and they only bill you for the amount of the groceries.

We have already decided that this will be the only place to stay whenever we visit Milwaukee. The location is perfect, staff is great, quiet hotel with attention to detail. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay downtown Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Corner suites are the best value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We traveled to Milwaukee for a friend's wedding, not expecting much else. Turns out that the City has a lot to offer.

We arranged our hotel through AARP-Expedia. They must have had the 'big room' leftover, because we got a corner two bedroom suite big enough for a scout troop...at a reasonable price. The building is a renovated Gimbel's/Marshall Field's department store right on the Milwaukee River Walk. High ceilings and large windows. The renovation was well done...a fun place to stay.

The Marriott must have dusted off a venerable old Total Quality plan. The staff was friendly and responsive and acted like they were happy to have us there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 648 North Plankinton Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.