We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Car Got Stolen; Hotel's Legal Counsel Harassed Me” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   648 North Plankinton Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Car Got Stolen; Hotel's Legal Counsel Harassed Me”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Be warned that this is a sketchy neighborhood where auto theft is on the rise.

I stayed at this hotel for one month while I was relocating from another city. To save me several hundred dollars in parking during my stay, the hotel arranged for me to park in The Gimbel's lot across the street from the hotel ($205 for the month versus $17 per night). One morning two weeks into my stay, I went to the garage to find broken glass on the ground where my car had been parked. Sometime between when I parked the car the previous evening and that morning, the car had been broken into and stolen. I filed a report with local police, but it turned out that the garage had absolutely no security or cameras. The hotel was the opposite of helpful throughout the experience, refusing even to give me a ride to work that morning (It was less than a mile to my office). The following week, the hotel manager informed me that the hotel would be filing an insurance claim on my behalf. When the hotel's counsel contacted me to follow up on the claim, they harassed and mocked me for thinking that I had any legal rights to compensation from the hotel--which was pretty upsetting since I wasn't even the one who filed the claim!

Bottom line, they were heartless, nasty people whose only solution to my terrible situation was to offer me free underground parking for the remainder of my stay. Too bad that taking advantage of this "helpful" offer requited me to buy a new car!

BTW, my car was recovered in a high-speed chase the very same day I had discovered it missing. In Indiana. Totaled.

Oh, and the breakfast was completely inedible. In my 30-night stay, I tried it once and couldn't bring myself to go back. So if you think that you'll save money by eating breakfast at the hotel, no dice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    88
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
49
100
16
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I am a Mariott loyalist... This is the second time we have stayed at this property... and will probably stay here again. As others have said, this is in a historic building so the rooms are very large with 15 ft high ceilings and huge windows. The common areas and hallways are all super clean and the Hearth Room where the free breakfast is served is very nice. The 2 bedroom suite we just stayed in this weekend, however, was really looking ragged. We invited friends to stay, and were a little embarrased at how shabby the living room furniture was...I didn't remember things being so beaten up the last time we stayed here. The fabric on the arm chair was literally all ripped up. The location however can't be beat. Even though the daily parking fee is pretty stepp at $17 per day, it is underground in the same building, which makes that very conveneint as well.

Room Tip: ask for a room that overlooks the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

So impressed with this hotel! We stayed the night for a Bachelorette Party and the 1 bedroom suite comfortably fit 5 ladies. The staff was very friendly and the hotel itself is beautiful and although it is historic, it's been updated and is very clean! I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

A few things to consider if traveling with a group: the 1 bedroom suites only have mirrors in the bedroom area which made getting ready with 5 women a bit of a squeeze. Also they do charge for roll away beds which I thought was a little unnecessary.

Other than that, loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week and enjoyed my stay. The free breakfast was nice, and the ladies who took care of it did a nice job varying it a little bit from day to day. The evening dinner and drinks was nice with a little variety as well. Too bad that Marriott has cut that down from "Monday to Thursday" to "Monday to Wednesday".

The hotel has covered parking in the building ($17/night) -- just beware that you need a map to get your bearings and figure out where you parked your car.

If I am ever back in Milwaukee, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburbs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Traveled to Milwaukee to catch a holiday concert in December. Had stayed several years ago at this Residence Inn and loved it. Got in a little later than I planned and they assured me there was a restaurant next door that provided room service meals, which was perfect and allowed me plenty of time to get ready for the show. Several times during my stay they helped with calling cabs and advice about the area attractions.

Room was gorgeous (they are all suites) with floor-to-ceiling windows and a great view ... everything spotless. Breakfast is always a delicious buffet.

Looking forward to future visits! Their staff always make the visit great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is in an old department store building: Gimbel's actually started in the Midwest and this was one of their first buildings. Room was spacious, clean and quiet. Staff were very friendly. A full breakfast came with the room. They charge $20 for parking in the hotel's garage -- but they did not have space available. They directed us to an out-door lot down the street that was $17. The privately operated garage immediately across the street is only $15. Still, fine hotel. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a wonderful location if you are planning on a Milwaukee Downtown get away/business. Everything is in walking distance....great entertainment/bars/food. The hotel is wonderful, clean, great rooms and location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 648 North Plankinton Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Marriott, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.