We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice RI in downtown Milwaukee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   648 North Plankinton Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice RI in downtown Milwaukee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week and enjoyed my stay. The free breakfast was nice, and the ladies who took care of it did a nice job varying it a little bit from day to day. The evening dinner and drinks was nice with a little variety as well. Too bad that Marriott has cut that down from "Monday to Thursday" to "Monday to Wednesday".

The hotel has covered parking in the building ($17/night) -- just beware that you need a map to get your bearings and figure out where you parked your car.

If I am ever back in Milwaukee, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    77
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
45
93
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Suburbs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Traveled to Milwaukee to catch a holiday concert in December. Had stayed several years ago at this Residence Inn and loved it. Got in a little later than I planned and they assured me there was a restaurant next door that provided room service meals, which was perfect and allowed me plenty of time to get ready for the show. Several times during my stay they helped with calling cabs and advice about the area attractions.

Room was gorgeous (they are all suites) with floor-to-ceiling windows and a great view ... everything spotless. Breakfast is always a delicious buffet.

Looking forward to future visits! Their staff always make the visit great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is in an old department store building: Gimbel's actually started in the Midwest and this was one of their first buildings. Room was spacious, clean and quiet. Staff were very friendly. A full breakfast came with the room. They charge $20 for parking in the hotel's garage -- but they did not have space available. They directed us to an out-door lot down the street that was $17. The privately operated garage immediately across the street is only $15. Still, fine hotel. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a wonderful location if you are planning on a Milwaukee Downtown get away/business. Everything is in walking distance....great entertainment/bars/food. The hotel is wonderful, clean, great rooms and location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is located on the Riverwalk,beautiful view of the water. The inside maintained the old world beauty with modern upgrades. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was good it included wine or beer. It is best to buy the parking package, it is located under the hotel so weather is no problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We read the reviews of this property and were convinced to try it. We were not disappointed. We had a 1 bedroom suite overlooking Wisconsin Avenue with the beautiful Milwaukee Art Museum in the distance. Although the weather was very cold and windy, we were within easy walking distance to the Historic Third Ward. We enjoyed lunch at the huge Public Market and dinner at our favorite Milwaukee restaurant, Karl Ratzsch's. The Residence Inn staff was very friendly and the buffet breakfast was delicious. We will definitely return in warmer weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My best friend and I both came to milwaukee to attend a concert so we needed a hotel in the downtown area. This location was perfect in every way! The rooms were far superior to every expectation I had, as a Marriott member I am used to having fine service and experience. This staff took the experience and service to a new level. Sou, who was still training, mandy and Kim were all helpful, professional and sincere in there desire to help and accommodate! I could go on forever about my experience, but I'll end with saying that this location has pleased me to no end. Whether it be the fully stocked kitchens, ornately decorated rooms, beds or staff this location is the perfect choice for any traveler visiting the downtown Milwaukee area!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel
Residence Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn
Address: 648 North Plankinton Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.