We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Excellent Reviews are Right On” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   648 North Plankinton Avenue, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Excellent Reviews are Right On”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We read the reviews of this property and were convinced to try it. We were not disappointed. We had a 1 bedroom suite overlooking Wisconsin Avenue with the beautiful Milwaukee Art Museum in the distance. Although the weather was very cold and windy, we were within easy walking distance to the Historic Third Ward. We enjoyed lunch at the huge Public Market and dinner at our favorite Milwaukee restaurant, Karl Ratzsch's. The Residence Inn staff was very friendly and the buffet breakfast was delicious. We will definitely return in warmer weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    93
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
51
104
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My best friend and I both came to milwaukee to attend a concert so we needed a hotel in the downtown area. This location was perfect in every way! The rooms were far superior to every expectation I had, as a Marriott member I am used to having fine service and experience. This staff took the experience and service to a new level. Sou, who was still training, mandy and Kim were all helpful, professional and sincere in there desire to help and accommodate! I could go on forever about my experience, but I'll end with saying that this location has pleased me to no end. Whether it be the fully stocked kitchens, ornately decorated rooms, beds or staff this location is the perfect choice for any traveler visiting the downtown Milwaukee area!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a "King Studio" room that was actually pretty good sized, and the 14'+ ceiling height made it seem even larger. it was clean, quiet, and priced right. The only quirk of this place is that the parking facilities are located about 75 yards away, and you're forced to park on the upper deck of a ramp. Your car is out in the weather. It was near zero degrees, so the walk to the ramp wasn't pleasant, but we would stay here again.

Room Tip: No real need for anything larger than the King Studio if you're a couple or traveling solo - sav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is located in the historic Gimbels Department store building downtown, with spacious rooms, 18 foot ceilings with easy parking and central to all downtown activities. The room amenities for the price were a great value, and quite frankly unless you want an old style experience like the Pfister, then there is nothing really else you need. A must stay for business or pleasure

Room Tip: request upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

As a frequent traveler to Milwaukee for business purposes, I would definitely recommend this hotel primarily because of its central downtown location, walking distance to many restaurants, free morning breakfast buffet and overall size/cleanliness of rooms. But most importantly, I select this hotel because of the underground parking garage access with security - you don't have to clear the snow off of the car in the mornings (and in Milwaukee, that can be priceless!) and a woman travelling alone, I feel very safe.

Notes: Call ahead on busy days to secure parking in the underground parking garage vs. the overflow lot across the street (in most cases they are accomodating for Marriott Rewards members).

Also, two different key cards are required - one for the room, one for the garage. I sometimes forget one key card, thus not allowing me access to garage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lobby/entrance circle (vs. street side) for a quiet evening. Also, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia B, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review. We do have a safe and secure location for those who might be traveling alone. The views from our city view suites are very nice. All of our rooms have large picture windows and the location is ideal for a weekend getaway, vacation spot to visit Milwaukee, business travel and small meetings. We hope to see you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is tremendous. We have stayed there many times and will keep coming back because it has a great location. Also the ambience is like one I have never seen because it once was a department store and thus has some enormous windows and exquisite floor plan. The happy hour Monday through Thursday is great. The free breakfast in the morning is very ample with wonderful selections. The staff is attentive professional and helpful. We simply would not stay anywhere else if we are going to downtown Milwaukee.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia B, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are very glad to have you return back to our property. We look forward to when you return again. You have a choice to stay anywhere and returning back says alot about our wonderful staff and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a neat building for a hotel. The ceilings on the floor we stayed on were incredibly high and the rooms were very large. Our family had both a one-bedroom suite and a studio. It was nice in the suite to have a closing door, but other parents traveling with young children should know that there is enough space in a studio to put a baby to bed and be around the corner where they can't see you. Comfortable beds, big bathrooms, full kitchens, very clean. We hardly used the kitchen though because of the generous and tasty breakfast buffet, where the main dish offering changed from day to day. The hotel is in a great location. We walked to the art museum and the children's museum. I hope to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia B, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are lucky to be an historic building with lots of character. The rooms are very unique with large picture windows and high ceilings. The museums and other attractions close to the hotel really make this a special location. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 648 North Plankinton Avenue, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.