We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   648 North Plankinton Avenue, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Northern Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice room, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a "King Studio" room that was actually pretty good sized, and the 14'+ ceiling height made it seem even larger. it was clean, quiet, and priced right. The only quirk of this place is that the parking facilities are located about 75 yards away, and you're forced to park on the upper deck of a ramp. Your car is out in the weather. It was near zero degrees, so the walk to the ramp wasn't pleasant, but we would stay here again.

Room Tip: No real need for anything larger than the King Studio if you're a couple or traveling solo - sav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    93
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
51
104
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is located in the historic Gimbels Department store building downtown, with spacious rooms, 18 foot ceilings with easy parking and central to all downtown activities. The room amenities for the price were a great value, and quite frankly unless you want an old style experience like the Pfister, then there is nothing really else you need. A must stay for business or pleasure

Room Tip: request upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

As a frequent traveler to Milwaukee for business purposes, I would definitely recommend this hotel primarily because of its central downtown location, walking distance to many restaurants, free morning breakfast buffet and overall size/cleanliness of rooms. But most importantly, I select this hotel because of the underground parking garage access with security - you don't have to clear the snow off of the car in the mornings (and in Milwaukee, that can be priceless!) and a woman travelling alone, I feel very safe.

Notes: Call ahead on busy days to secure parking in the underground parking garage vs. the overflow lot across the street (in most cases they are accomodating for Marriott Rewards members).

Also, two different key cards are required - one for the room, one for the garage. I sometimes forget one key card, thus not allowing me access to garage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lobby/entrance circle (vs. street side) for a quiet evening. Also, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia B, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review. We do have a safe and secure location for those who might be traveling alone. The views from our city view suites are very nice. All of our rooms have large picture windows and the location is ideal for a weekend getaway, vacation spot to visit Milwaukee, business travel and small meetings. We hope to see you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is tremendous. We have stayed there many times and will keep coming back because it has a great location. Also the ambience is like one I have never seen because it once was a department store and thus has some enormous windows and exquisite floor plan. The happy hour Monday through Thursday is great. The free breakfast in the morning is very ample with wonderful selections. The staff is attentive professional and helpful. We simply would not stay anywhere else if we are going to downtown Milwaukee.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia B, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are very glad to have you return back to our property. We look forward to when you return again. You have a choice to stay anywhere and returning back says alot about our wonderful staff and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a neat building for a hotel. The ceilings on the floor we stayed on were incredibly high and the rooms were very large. Our family had both a one-bedroom suite and a studio. It was nice in the suite to have a closing door, but other parents traveling with young children should know that there is enough space in a studio to put a baby to bed and be around the corner where they can't see you. Comfortable beds, big bathrooms, full kitchens, very clean. We hardly used the kitchen though because of the generous and tasty breakfast buffet, where the main dish offering changed from day to day. The hotel is in a great location. We walked to the art museum and the children's museum. I hope to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia B, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are lucky to be an historic building with lots of character. The rooms are very unique with large picture windows and high ceilings. The museums and other attractions close to the hotel really make this a special location. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway, largely because of its proximity to the Riverside Theater and were very pleasantly surprised. I usually stay at Residence Inns for business so m very familiar with them, but this one had the unusual circumstances of being in what was once a large old department store on the river. That meant that rooms had really high ceilings and great views. The old architecture remains on the river side of the building, which was nice to see out the window as well. On one of the upper floors, there are interesting photos of the department store in its glory days.

The locations is terrific--close to museums, restaurants, theaters, and even an easy walk to the 3rd Ward. Yes, the parking is a little inconvenient but not bad, considering they are doing the best they can with the limited space that often is an issue in a big city downtown; because of the location, we didn't even need to use the car until we checked out. There were many breakfast options and the staff was terrific. We'd definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia B, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, to come to downtown Milwaukee on a weekend. This location is pretty special and the historic building the hotel was built in, has a lot of personality. The hotel is close to so much to see and do in the area. The museums, other venues throughout the city and the river walk with lots of pubs and dining options near the hotel. We hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, WI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I am a Milwaukee area resident who spent the weekend at the hotel with my guest from Washington D.C. Both myself and my guest were extremely impressed with the excellent location and convenience for walking to local attractions....I parked my car in the parking garage and didn't have to use it while we explored lots of stuff within walking distance, including the Milwaukee Art Museum, Riverwalk, 3rd Ward, Milwaukee Public Museum, etc. The location is walkable from the Amtrak station, as well.

The room was beautiful... really high ceilings (like maybe 14'?) and the wall of floor to ceiling windows overlooking the river.....

The front desk staff were accommodating to my guests' early arrival and he was able to check in early. (Thanks, Tracy!)

Added bonuses that help with the travel budget include the daily breakfast that has tons to choose from (scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, make your own waffles, cold cereal, fruit, yogurt, etc.).

We plan to repeat our visit in the summer, when there is more going on along the river!

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia B, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments on our property. We get many nice comments at the front desk on how close the hotel is to most everything to see and do in the area. We hope to see you come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 648 North Plankinton Avenue, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.