We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   648 North Plankinton Avenue, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Wauwatosa, WI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I am a Milwaukee area resident who spent the weekend at the hotel with my guest from Washington D.C. Both myself and my guest were extremely impressed with the excellent location and convenience for walking to local attractions....I parked my car in the parking garage and didn't have to use it while we explored lots of stuff within walking distance, including the Milwaukee Art Museum, Riverwalk, 3rd Ward, Milwaukee Public Museum, etc. The location is walkable from the Amtrak station, as well.

The room was beautiful... really high ceilings (like maybe 14'?) and the wall of floor to ceiling windows overlooking the river.....

The front desk staff were accommodating to my guests' early arrival and he was able to check in early. (Thanks, Tracy!)

Added bonuses that help with the travel budget include the daily breakfast that has tons to choose from (scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, make your own waffles, cold cereal, fruit, yogurt, etc.).

We plan to repeat our visit in the summer, when there is more going on along the river!

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia B, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments on our property. We get many nice comments at the front desk on how close the hotel is to most everything to see and do in the area. We hope to see you come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    93
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
51
103
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Terre-de-Haut, Guadeloupe
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
381 helpful votes 381 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The Residence Inn is a downtown Milwaukee hotel with kitchen facilities. Parking is a bit of a hassle as you pay to park underground in an attached building which you enter around the corner. Fortunately, you can access your room without going outside, but it requires two elevator rides and a bit of an excursion. The beds are okay, the design could be called "American spare," and the facilities do not aspire to be anything more then mediocre. This will fit most folks needs. Some of the rooms are "strange," where empty space yearns for some piece of furniture. However, if you like echoes, this will be perfect for you. The bathrooms are surprisingly small compared to the size of the sleeping room, and the sink sits outside the bathroom. Housekeeping needs a nudge once in a while and thus, be cognizant of the cleanliness of your room and whether towels, soaps, coffee etc. have been replaced. While the work out facility at this Residence Inn had the typical few treadmills and ellipticals, there were no paper towels in the bathroom to wipe down the machines. There was some kind of spray there one day, and I used a towel to clean, but the spray was missing the other days and I wished I wore a Hazmat suit. However, if you want a kitchen and desire to be downtown, the Residence Inn is not too bad.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia B, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and take your comments to our staff meetings to help us improve our service. As with many downtown hotels, parking can be a challenge. We do our best and hope you consider us when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Last holiday season hubs and I stayed over Christmas at the Residence Inn, and we had such a grand time that we decided to repeat the experience again for 2012. Man, are we glad that we did. We love Milwaukee and we love this hotel. There were terrific holiday pre-pay rates on their Marriott website - which also included the parking fee in their convenient, heated garage.

As other reviews have pointed out, you would be wise to pull up to the circular driveway by the entrance on Plankinton Street, and grab a cart from inside the lobby door. Put your luggage and sundries on the cart, and check in first. We had a charming and professional young lady at the front desk who checked us in very promptly. You will need the room key with the green dot, the parking permit and the map to find your way to the parking garage. Don't lose the room key. The garage and elevator to the garage are secure and you will need it for entry.

We were upgraded to the same wonderful room we had last year, on the fifth floor. We had a very huge two room suite with two flat screen televisions, comfortable furniture, and a dishwasher, microwave and a full size fridge. We slept so well on the so comfortable king bed with good pillows. Outside the huge windows we had a great shot of the Milwaukee Art Museum, and the sculpture "The Calling" at the end of the street - it looks like a cool gigantic Christmas ornament. The street was decorated with colorful lights for the season. We also looked out on the river and on the bridge, so nice. We owe huge thanks to the manager, Mia Berman She is totally the best, and helped us in all ways to secure my favorite room. She also checked in for us regarding a discount for hotel guests at the brand new Gold's Gym across the river. Only $5 a day pp with your hotel room key - you can't beat that. Planet Fitness is in the same complex that the RI is in, but they charge $20 a day. On the 7th floor of the hotel is their own workout room, and it is more than satisfactory, and quite nice with some treadmills, ellipticals, recumbent bikes and free weights.

The breakfast every morning was so good, and plentiful. Especially on Christmas morning, where we were happy to see french toast, scrambled eggs, bacon, breakfast potatoes - along with the the waffle maker, toaster for english muffins and bread, cereal, yoghurt, juices, etc. And kept hot and freshly replenished, with the friendly and great staff at breakfast - outstanding. (I apologize I don't always wear my reading glasses and thus missed the staff member's names.) Everyone in the hotel we interfaced with were courteous, friendly, and just nice people. And I have to mention how great the location is - we went to the Milwaukee Food Market for a GREAT perch fish fry dinner on Christmas eve - under half of a mile.

For a Christmas dinner, we enjoyed the excellent buffet and carvery - so popular we perched at the bar at Mader's German restaurant to eat; also a very nice walk. And so nice to have a mall attached with a very good food court - I do love some Culver's! All in all big thanks to Miss Berman and all of the hotel staff for having the perfect venue, food and accommodations for a wonderful holiday visit! (Sorry, one last thing, I do like nice shampoo and soap. They now have Paul Mitchell hair products and lotion. This was covered in the WSJ over the last weekend, Marriott upscaled on the grooming products and it was a great decision!)

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room, facing the sculpture by the Milwaukee Museum of Art.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia B, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are very lucky to have such a nice location in the downtown area, on the riverwalk, close to shops, many wonderful restaurants and lots to see and do. Thank you for returning and letting us know our staff is doing a good job and sharing your experience. Looking forward to having you return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

The history of the location has been maintained in the architecture with very nice comfortable rooms. The location was Great for the Universities graduation program. It has been decorated very nice for the Christmas season, you get a nice feel at this time of year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia B, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments on your stay over the holidays. Our staff enjoys decorating this historic location to make our guests feel welcome and enjoy staying with us over the holidays..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Beautiful historical hotel. Located in center of downtown. It is connected to the Grand Avenue Mall via skywalk. It is located next to the Milwaukee river. The staff was very professional and friendly. They provide parking for guests only but visitors has to find a parking space on the street or pay a handsome price to park in the parking structure across the street. When I drove in to park, I was surprised that the parking area was a bit run down and dark. All of the parking spaces were next to brick walls with the bricks falling to pieces to the floor. To get to my room, I had to go up the elevator to the first floor. From there, I had to walk quite a distance to another set of elevators to go up to my room. It was not convenient for my 92 year old mother who uses a walker. My room was beautiful except for the carpet. It had several large obvious stains right in front of the sofa. The bathroom had no exaust fan. I was told that rooms on that side of the building had no exhaust fans. I chose this hotel because it is one of the few hotels that has two bedrooms and two bathrooms. I would not stay here again. The room was not worth the price paid for it.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with an exhaust in the bathroom if that is important to you. The room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia B, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and we regulary inspect our rooms and clearn our carpets. We hope you reconsider and do return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Went to Milwaukee for the weekend and this place had a great rate. Clean and welcoming staff. Large, quiet rooms. Great breakfast and close to a large TJ Maxx as well as theatres, restaurant and shopping! Will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnMke, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Marie W, When our guests want to return, it is the best compliment that we can get! Our location is great for exploring downtown Milwaukee and it sounds like you were able to do just that. Hopefully, we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Beautiful hotel with a great view of the city and river!!! The room was gorgeous, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was good. The staff was helpful and friendly. My only mild complaint was a bit of confusion with the method of payment for the parking... ended up paying an $8 ticket for not doing it correctly:( OVERALL, FOR THE RATE WE PAID, THIS PLACE IS AN AMAZING STAY!!! Highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnMke, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
welltravelled36161, I am glad to hear that you had a 'great stay' with us! We love to hear that our guests were able to enjoy the hotel and all that it has to offer. We would love to see you again if you are ever back in Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 648 North Plankinton Avenue, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.