We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Riverside and Pabst Theaters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   648 North Plankinton Avenue, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
streator, Illinois
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Great Location for Riverside and Pabst Theaters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the RI in downtown Milwaukee. The room was very large with a nice view of the river and distant view of the Lake MIchigan. The room was nicely appointed and very clean.
The location was perfect since we had tickets for a concert at the Riverside. It was about 1/2 block. There are also some nice options for dining nearby.
Parking was in a lot across the street and down about 1/2 block for $17.
There was no pool or spa. That would be a nice addition. I guess there is an option to use the YMCA, but we didn't look into it.
It was a nice stay, and we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    93
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
51
104
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
north america
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

As with all residence inns the room was very comfortable and had a serviceable little kitchen. The location is nice, and the building is a cool old department store. the only real downsides are the free breakfast, it was bloody awful, you get what you pay for. The housekeeping service was spotty at best, first room I checked in to had some smelly leftover take out food in the fridge, they were very apologetic and moved me promptly. Also during my four night stay, i had only a partial service on one day, and no service at all on my last day. and finally don't expect much of a shower, the water pressure comes and goes frequently. I would most likely stay again just because it is so convenient, but would be nice if they addressed those few issues .
Oh I almost forgot, the parking is kind of inconvenient especially when they charge for parking!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed two nights in a studio room, 8th floor. Room had beautiful floor to ceiling windows but, unfortunately, when we opened the drapes, we looked out to a cement wall (that was used often by seagulls and pigeons.) We did request another room, but we were told that the only other available room was over a bar & could be very noisy if we were trying to sleep, (No, thanks!) The security here is very tight: getting into the underground parking garage is what one might imagine one would encounter driving up to the White House. Honestly, the security features made me wonder if we were in a questionable area of the city. Our room was set up oddly: neither the bed nor the sofa faced the TV. There wasn't a "sitting chair" in the room; there was a desk chair & two counter stools at the island dividing the kitchenette from the rest of the room. Overall the room was a good size. The toilet & tub/shower were in a room with a door; the sink was outside the bathroom. Nice feature. Kitchenette was well stocked (altho there wasn't a corkscrew in the flatware drawer) & we didn't use most of the dishes or cooking utensils.) The BEST feature was the complimentary breakfast served each morning. The staff was attentive (promptly replaced foods as they were depleted & collected dirty dishes from tables, etc.) There were lots of food items, such as scrambled eggs, pancakes, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, Belgian waffles, dry cereals, sausages, bagels. etc.) Good start to one's day!

Room Tip: Request a view when you make reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while attending a Brewers game & was very pleased with my stay. The staff was very professional & courteous! The room was perfect for our needs & very well maintained & clean. I would highly recommend staying here if in town for a Brewers game or just taking in the downtown sights!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel during our first visit to Milwaukee. The location is perfect as it is right downtown on the river. Many sights and museums are within walking distance. The hotel is a former department store and the rooms are cleverly redesigned with enormous windows and very high ceilings. Our stay included a wonderful buffet breakfast, well cooked and a nice variety of offerings. Also included was an evening cocktail hour with really delicious hot appetizers, not the usual chips and dips you get at some hotels. Due to a death in the family we had to cut our stay short by a day. Even though we booked the room through an online company that told us that the room was non refundable, when the hotel management were told of our circumstances they immediately said that there would be no charge for the extra day. Our son recently moved to Milwaukee and we are very happy to know a great hotel to stay at when we visit again. The downtown Residence Inn gets an A+ for service and ambiance.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, WI
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We ALWAYS stay here when we need to stay in downtown Milwaukee. I won't repeat all the info in previous reviews, but offer some fresh news and tips: Walk up the stairs in the lobby to access the Grand Avenue Mall (re-enter with your room key). This mall has really fallen on hard times lately, like most downtown malls. It's about 60 percent empty. The closing of the Borders bookstore was a serious blow to us, we spend much time and money there when visiting. However, there still are a few nice stores in there if you walk around (Boston Store, Office Max, Daley's Pen Shop, TJ Maxx--one of the best according to my wife and teenage daughter--and a good food court).
For a great meal, fun atmosphere and good service, walk across the street to Mo's Irish Pub. For great subs, try Potbelly's.
The folks who run the breakfast are very friendly and polite. I thought the food quality was down a bit--probably saving money? I do wish they had a pool. If the parking in the basement is full, they will send you 2 blocks away to the Gimbels parking structure. This is a bit inconvenient, making that trip at night I get a little nervous, but if you park in the basement of this Gimbles structure it seems more secure. They won't offer you that option, but I always do it. It's really nice in the winter as it's heated.
Local phone calls used to be free, now there is a charge.
Still, a GREAt place ot stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We've stayed at the downtown Milwaukee Residence Inn four times in the past three years, and it's still pleasant, although the neighborhood seems increasingly challenged by hard economic times, with shops and restaurants closing. But the hotel is close to museums, the lake, and the historic Third Ward neighborhod. There's lots to do within walking distance. The hotel is well maintained, and the rooms are attractive. It's a good example of the Marriott brand.

Special thanks to Doris and Camilo, who run the best breakfast buffet (and an even more outstanding manager's reception Monday - Wednesday evenings) we've ever experienced in a hotel in this category. The excellent work Camilo and Doris do day after day to make sure their guests enjoy themselves makes a very real difference in this Residence Inn's consistent reputation. We hope the hotel management is aware of the treasures they have in Doris, Camilo, and the other food service staff who do their jobs so capably and pleasantly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 648 North Plankinton Avenue, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.