We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   545 West Layton Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #34 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family (3 of us) stayed one night here on July 1 before heading to Lake Geneva the following day. The room was nice but here is my "but". With three of us staying in one room, there were only enough towels for one person. We had to go to the front desk and ask for more towels. Really?
In addition, the toiletries supplied were so small in size it was pathetic. Could the Holiday Inn please stop being stingy? The room I chose was one with two queen beds. My confirmation email listed the room price and then charged $10 extra for the third person, but my checkout folio showed one charge. Is this a new gimmick that hotels are now using, having taken their cue from the airlines? If there are two queen beds, to me that means that four people could sleep in the room. Why charge extra? This is the bad news.

Now the good news, the location to the airport was perfect. The room was comfortable along with the beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear 447Judyc,

Thank you for writing a candid review about our property. We appreciate your compliments regarding our convenient location and comfortable rooms. On the other hand, we are very sorry we fell below your expectations regarding the bathroom amenities. We have taken note of your concerns and will certainly work on this to make sure similar situations can be avoided.

We would love the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were at The Holiday Inn just for one night, the staff was friendly, the room was spacious and clean we were four in there, and we slept very good, nice pillows great mattress pretty comfortable and quiet.
The bartender at the restaurant was very nice and professional,when we got there they were almost closing but she made our night serving us one drink we wanted before go to sleep.
The breakfast was okay, no the best choice maybe be better go some other place because you have to pay for it anyway,the quality of food a little poor.
But overall our experience was good we went to Milwaukee for Summer Fest and all downtown hotel were sold out so there still a good place a little farther but still close enough, we god a shuttle down there, we took a cap coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrch888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred Station, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My first visit to Milwaukee. Very nice Hotel. The staff was excellent. I was staying in this Hotel on Business. The room was great. Very clean and bright. There was a microwave and a refrigerator in my room. Both were very clean. Internet service was spotty, cutting in and out, during the early evening. There are a few great places to eat, nearby. The Hotel provided a very good selection for their complimentary breakfast. This was not just a bowl of cold cereal. There was everything from bacon and eggs, to sausage, biscuits and gravy. The Hotel has a great Confrence room setup and provided us with beverages and snacks throughout the day, while we were in Confrence meetings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were in Milwaukee for the Milwaukee Pug Fest. We made our reservations too late to get in at hotel where most of the Pug Fest attendees were staying. We got there around 11 a.m. We were able to get into our room right away even though check-in time was 3 p.m. The staff were pleasant. Our room was quite spacious. I liked that were sinks in both the main room and the bathroom. The room didn’t smell. I hate how some hotels have an overpowering smell of cleaning products (or worse, the smell of cleaning products competing with stale smoke). The wi-fi was free and worked fine. The bed was comfortable. We could hear everything going on in the hallways. The interstate was also pretty loud. There was only one small elevator. It was sometimes too packed to use. My boyfriend and I took the stairs quite a bit. We are able bodied so it’s not a problem.

Unfortunately, the other guests in the hotel made our stay unpleasant. A young girl was having a swim birthday party. The pool was so packed that it was almost unusable. The noise in the pool area was unbearable from all those kids. The kids were running through the hallways. There seemed to be a lot of kids and not many adults. The rooms are not very soundproof. Any running or slamming of the doors can be heard throughout the hallway. Thankfully, I brought ear plugs so I was able to sleep.

The free breakfast was a mess. There were too many people crowding the area. It was hard to get anything. A lot of the items had run out. I asked for more eggs. The eggs were the worst I have ever had. They had this weird smoky taste. There are some fast food restaurants in the area so I didn’t starve. I wasn’t expecting great breakfast, but I didn’t think it was going to be this bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Elizabeth C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milwaukee hotels

Delmar, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We made reservation a day before we stayed at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport. We had a flight the following afternoon. Check in was easy and quick and we were given a goodie bag with fruit drink and snack. King size room was very clean with clean bathroom, also plenty of towels, soap, shampoo, and conditioner. TV was a good size, room also had desk with easy access to plugs above desk for computer or phone. Monday thru Thursday they have complimentary sodas, beer, and wine, which was a nice touch after a long day. We did not go in the large pool but it looked very inviting had we had our swimsuits with us. Breakfast in the morning was a nice touch before we left for the airport. Thank you Holiday Inn we will return next time we fly out of Milwaukee Airport.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, down from the elevator and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marylou U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed three nights on business and the staff was great. Hotel was clean and well kept and bed was comfy. Can't say I had any sound problems as mentioned in the other reviews...and hotel must not be on a flight path for the airport because even though it is very close I never heard a plane the entire time I was there. A variety of freshly baked cookies in the evening was nice and the free coffee station in the lobby was well stocked and appreciated. A few things they need to work on - Internet was frustrating - slow even late at night and I kept having to log in more than should have been necessary. I shower between 6:30 and 7 am..first morning shower was great - second day warm but not as hot as I would like - third day was borderline cold. Front desk staff was very friendly and went out of their way to greet you and ask how my day and stay were going...and it seemed genuine. They are good ambassadors. Location was convenient with easy on and off freeways. Many decent dining choices nearby. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planefella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here over night on business. Check in was great. The front desk clerk was very nice and had a smile on her face. I checked in and left right away for a meeting. I got back at 1130 pm and tried to fall asleep. Couldn't due to the guest in the room next to me who was snoring and It sounded like he was next to me in bed. I was near an exit door that slammed shut every time someone closed it, and a baby crying in a nearby room. After barely sleeping I woke up ,showered and left right away. Didn't get to check out the rest of the hotel. My room was very clean and staff was nice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kane101208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Kane101208,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm truly delighted you mentioned our friendly staff. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the noise from other guests had caused you. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milwaukee
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr.
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Airport
Clarion Hotel Airport
#32 of 53 in Milwaukee
3.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Milwaukee Airport
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#21 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport

Address: 545 West Layton Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEWLY RENOVATED Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport is the finest full-service hotel in the Milwaukee airport area. Our NEW look is sure to impress, the entire hotel was updated from top to bottom! We are sure you will enjoy our upgraded furnishings, design and decor. Located just one mile from Milwaukee's General Mitchell International Airport, the Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport offers unparalleled convenience & service for all travelers. With such great amenities as 24 Hour complimentary airport shuttle service, in our new shuttle, you'll see why you have need to look anywhere else. The Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport is easily accessible from Layton Avenue to I-94 East and West, the I-894 Bypass, and Hwy. 38 (Howell Ave.), all within 3 minutes of the hotel. Travelers will not only find our airport location convenient, but The Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport is less than 10 minutes from downtown Milwaukee. This area provides great entertainment such as Miller Brewery Tours, Milwaukee Bucks NBA Basketball, the Bradley Center, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson museum, Henry Maier Festival Park, Potawatomi Bingo & Casino, and the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts for starters. The Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport is ideally situated to numerous corporations and business offices in the Milwaukee area. These include Rockwell Automation, Harley Davidson, General Mills, Caterpillar, Krones, Patrick Cudahy Inc., Rexnord, USBC, Signature Flight Support, General Electric, and Johnson Controls to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing