We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in and out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   545 West Layton Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #39 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Door County
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“in and out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

this stay was just a place to crash for the night, we got in super late and we were out before 9 am.
the staff was friendly and seemed to have taken care of what we needed, however in the morning we found out it was not done properly at all, this was a bit upsetting (since it caused problems with my bank, we paid for one room with a new card, but my card was still used).
of the little we saw of the hotel things seemed in order and fairly fresh. our first impression of the room was it looked nice, but there was immediately the smell of smoke, once we over came that the beds were wonderfully comfortable.
it was a good in and out reservation, I would probably stay again, if I don't have a smoke smelling room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear cupcakes-and-tea,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    23
    17
    8
See reviews for
27
27
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The only reason I stayed at this hotel is because they allow large pets and I could not find a sitter for my lab and the hotel allows large dogs for an additional fee.

A couple of young guys at the front desk for my arrival made a mockery of Platinum IHG status. The buy one-get one free drink and $10 off 2 breakfast coupons are a joke and the ultimate display of being cheap.

Our room on the third floor had a bad odor of years of in-room smoking. The hotel is 14 years old, and according to the front desk, no updates or refreshing has been done since new. The closet in the bedroom had a bad body order stench. The large garbage can in the kitchen was still half full from the previous guest. The appliances in the kitchenette were all at least 14 years old; the stove appeared to be from the 70’s. The stove was also very unsafe if you have toddlers. The knobs to turn it on are located on the front of the unit, and the burners can easily be reached by a 3 year old. Mine managed to turn the stove on, as well as nearly grabbed the red hot and glowing burner.

The air conditioning unit was leaking condensation onto the floor. As a result, the carpet was wet and full of mold. The wall was also saturated and had wall paper falling off. There were multiple light bulbs burned out. The bathroom countertop and toilet had a varied assortment of hairs left by previous guests. . Bathroom sink did not drain well, running more than a trickle of water made it back up. The mini kitchen sink has a faucet from a full size sink, thus making it impossible to keep water in the sink. The spray nozzle on the sink also did not work. No ice maker in the fairly large in-room freezer/fridge.

There were holes in the walls and severely stained dining table chairs that do not fit under table.
Security latch on door is so low, my 3 year old could easily open it for anyone.
I ordered take-out food from the 545 restaurant…total mistake. Medium cheese burger with tomato and raw onion was delivered as overcooked by 10 minutes and plain. Bartender in the restaurant was AWOL for almost 20 minutes.

The in-room guest guide book was missing, as was the room service menu. When I asked the front desk for these items, they were as dumfounded as if I had asked for moon rocks.
Carpets in the common areas and rooms were very dirty and dated. This is a $50 or less per night hotel at best.

I seriously do not know how IHG allows the property to continue their franchise.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayMilwkee, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
acey2000,
I would like to Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I would like to apologize that you did not feel your stay was worth the cost you paid. I can assure you that we value every guest that walks into our hotel and especially our Platinum Members. Our Hotel is currently 13yrs old and we have done many renovations throughout the hotels life and we continue to do so. If you have any suggestions as a Platinum member and what expect or would like to receive for your status at any IHG Hotel I would love to hear them as we always are trying to improve ourselves. If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to contact me.
Sincerely,
Ryan Bazan
agm@himkeairport.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Flew into Milwaukee airport, hotel right there! The staff was great! Did not bat an eye when we came strolling in with Tri bike and triathlon gear! Room was clean and was perfect fit for the 3 of us! Ordered takeout from the bar one night, a little pricey but still good. Staff was helpful in recommending places to eat AND a Culver's was practically on the parking lot! Yum! This Ga girl enjoyed her stay in Milwaukee!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayMilwkee, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Pharmlisa,
I would like to first take a moment to Thank You for taking the time to write your honest review of our hotel. For the most part our Front Desk Team has seen a lot of the usual and some of the very unusual come through our doors, either way its business as usual.....However if it is ever a 4 legged friend they always like to momentarily leave their post to personally welcome them here with a treat or a few scratches behind the ears:). We do appreciate you choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport for your stay while in Milwaukee and would like to welcome you back if you are ever in the area again.
Sincerely,
Ryan Bazan
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We live in Milwaukee and stayed at this hotel for one night while our home's freshly-cleaned carpet dried. Nothing special. Pricey. We were given a ticket to purchase one drink/get one drink free. Big deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear cmk105,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our rate. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Ok place. I think the Holiday Inn Express is probably better, but it costs a bit more too. A clean, safe, fairly comfortable place to stay near the airport. The positives were the breakfast (room service, yet) a BARGAIN. You got ALOT for very little $$, so Milwaukee! ... and it was very good. Easy access to many things near by and check-in/out was painless. Beds, ok for comfort. We had a king bed and pull out sofa... enough space for 3-4.
2 flat screens, which was nice. Clean.
The negatives; noise is easily heard if you face the front of the building at all. We put out our "room service" menu out the night before, but no one picked it up. Not a big deal, we called in the morning, but they shouldn't have it, if they do not do it.
Lastly, I'd like to see the little shampoo/conditioner/soap amenities improved... they are a bit weak, but acceptable, in a pinch.
Overall, okay experience and would stay there again, but would try another property if the price was right.

Room Tip: A room away from the front of the hotel, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear nickale,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is nice to hear that the breakfast served during your stay lived up to your expectations. I apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights over a weekend in July. While the hotel was booked full both nights, noise was not an issue. The hotel was clean and well-kept, and I had quick access to the highway. Downtown Milwaukee, Miller Park and Miller Brewery were only 15 minutes away. My only complaints were limited parking (again, the hotel was full) and only one elevator. I would have no hesitation staying in this hotel again if I ever make my way back to Milwaukee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayMilwkee, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear DJMel_issa,
First let me thank you for taking the time to write an honest review for the Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport. I look forward to sharing your response with our Team. We were happy to have you as our guest. I do apologize for the parking as I know when the Hotel is at full occupancy parking can get a little tight. The elevators are another issue that we are looking into. Our Housekeeping Team will be the first to tell you that they need to be faster:)!! We look forward to having you return as our guest if you are ever in the Milwaukee Area again. There is a lot to see and do here so I would definitely recommend that you return....
Sincerely,
Ryan Bazan, AGM & The Holiday Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is literally 3 minutes from rental car return at the airport. We checked in very late and checked out very early after witnessing the Chicago Blackhawks triple overtime Stanley Cup win in Chicago. It was very quiet and the staff was very nice and accommodating. Completely recommend if you want to be close to the airport and have a quiet and clean stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayMilwkee, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
GoStreaking,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review for our Hotel. We do appreciate it and it was a pleasure having you stay with us while you were in Milwuakee WI. I will make sure that your comments are shared with our staff. If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to contact me anytime. We also hope to see you again if you are in the Milwaukee area in the future.

Sincerely,
Ryan Bazan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport

Address: 545 West Layton Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Milwaukee Airport is the finest full-service hotel in the Milwaukee airport area. Located just one mile from Milwaukee's General Mitchell International Airport, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Milwaukee Airport offers unparalleled convenience & service for all travelers. With such great amenities as 24 Hour complimentary airport shuttle service, you'll see why you need to Look Again. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Milwaukee Airport is easily accessible from Layton Avenue to I-94 East and West, the I-894 Bypass, and Hwy. 38 (Howell Ave.), all within 3 minutes of the hotel. Travelers will not only find our airport location convenient, but The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Milwaukee Airportis also only 7 miles from downtown Milwaukee. This area provides great entertainment such as Miller Brewery Tours, Milwaukee Bucks NBA Basketball, the Bradley Center, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson museum, Henry Maier Festival Park, Potawatomi Bingo & Casino, and the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts for starters. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Milwaukee Airport is ideally situated to numerous corporations and business offices in the Milwaukee area. These include Rockwell Automation, Harley Davidson, General Mills, Bucyrus, Krones, Patrick Cudahy Inc., Rexnord, USBC, Signature Flight Support, Midwest Airlines Corporate HQ, and Johnson Controls to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.