We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Zoological Institution!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee County Zoo

Milwaukee County Zoo
10001 West Blue Mound Road, Milwaukee, WI 53226
414 256 5412
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 76 Attractions in Milwaukee
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Babbitt, Minnesota
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
155 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Amazing Zoological Institution!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My wife and I have visited a lot of zoos in the country; this is one of our favorites. We loved every aspect of the zoo- the layout, the species in the collection, their large exhibits, the giraffe feeding, the sky safari, and the list goes on and on. We started our visit by purchasing tickets for the giraffe feeding as it has always been a wish for us to do so, but the lines have always been quite long at other zoos. We got there and found out that only 6 of the 20 feeding tickets sold, so we each got an extended amount of time to feed a pair of giraffes. My wife and I went last, so we got the longest turn and it was truly the more memorable moment of my day. The rest of the day from there on out was swell. We walked the zoo, took a ride on the sky safari, and then made our way through the two gift shop areas. A wonderful asset to the Milwaukee community, we will be back when we are in the area!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    198
    48
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This zoo is not crowded but not terribly spread out either. A nice stroll takes you down winding paths and shows you wonderful animal exhibits. Although I am sad to see animals in captivity, this zoo does a nice job of making the animals as comfortable as possible.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun but not many changes from visit to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Always fun to take the kids but as an adult you like to see some changes. The food is average at best and overpriced. Even with these small issues it is always fun just because you see how much the kids enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“MKE zoo great family experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The MKE zoo is a great place to take the family. There is a zoo train and many shows to watch. The dinosaur area is always a hit. Get the family pass to save $$$.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best zoos in the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I've been to a number of zoos, including San Diego, Denver, Toronto, Washington DC, and New Orleans, and I think that Milwaukee compares very favorably to all of them. Milwaukee is special in a number of ways, including being a breeding zoo for endangered species. You won't see many cages here - most exhibits are open environments that are meant to replicate natural habitats and provide a stimulating environment for the animals. There are two underwater viewing areas - one for polar bears and one for two sea lions and a seal, which are great fun to watch. In addition, there's a raptor show where birds of prey will fly overhead and a sea lion show that includes a wide range of sea lion behaviors in a fun and interactive show. The shows also provide a nice break from walking. Kids love the zoo train, a scale model steam engine with passenger cars, which runs along the zoo's perimeter. The zoo is great to visit in fair weather, but also provides a wealth of indoor exhibits. If you're on a budget, this is one of the few places where carry-ins are welcome. Many people bring coaster wagons for the kids to ride in along with some refreshments. Being a Milwaukee resident, I visited the zoo many times with my son, and we never tired of it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee County Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee County Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee County Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.