We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kids love it !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee County Zoo

Milwaukee County Zoo
10001 West Blue Mound Road, Milwaukee, WI 53226
414 256 5412
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 90 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Zoos
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My kids love it !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

a lot to see, explain, do, play with... a really nice place. I will have to go back to visit the second half and the Village. I recommend for sure !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    189
    45
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dousman, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Enjoyable day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Love that they have added a "obstacle course,climbing exhibit for kids" Zoo isn't free nor is the parking but it's great to take a day out with the family and do a picnic. Our grandson loves the zoo train ride which circles the entire zoo. There is an authentic dairy barn and they do have dairy cows inside which are milked from time to time. A childrens petting zoo area and small creatures area. An raptor show which is really neat. Would recommend to anyone who wants a pleasant day out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Membership is a good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Most of the exhibits have been updated. It's a great place to get some exercise though try to walk early or at times there aren't crowds (like overcast or wintery days). Lots of picnic tables with bathrooms but don't surprised if part of the area is being used by a group. There's usually more than enough tables. There are also covered tables near the lake on the far side of the zoo near the polar bears. There are cafes for food but many people bring in picnics (often pulling wagons with coolers).

Depending on the size of your family it may be worth it to purchase a membership rather than individual tickets. We only need to visit twice to make it cost effective for us. We also get the membership that includes parking.

Our children have always enjoyed the classes and even the parent/child offerings are fun. The special events are ok but it's usually pretty crowded and we prefer to enjoy it on less crowded, non-event days.

We're often in Milwaukee and with a membership we can often stop in for a quick visit--a picnic or just to walk and get some fresh air and not feel we have to stay long to "get our money's worth".

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiensville, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“MKE Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Milwaukee is very lucky to have a great zoo! I grew up near the zoo and visited it many times through out summer break from school, however, you can go any time of the year.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a very clean, very user-friendly zoo. Monkey Island is a must see! They also do lots of fun things in the summer like the Taste of Milwaukee festival and Wednesday night music. It's a must see!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee County Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee County Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee County Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.