We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue's Egg

Blue's Egg
317 N 76th St, Milwaukee, WI
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 1,383 restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Granger, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were in town for a Brewers game and did some searching for a unique place for breakfast. Blue's Egg came up and had some pretty good reviews. We were there about 7:30AM on a Sunday, only a few people in there at this time. (slowly started to fill, there was no seat in the place by the time we left about 8:15AM) Service was great. Food was FABULOUS! I had eggs benedict and hubby had corn beef hash. Their ham is pronominal! If we were ever in town again I would make sure I was able to eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    143
    30
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mequon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The service never misses and the food is well presented.
Every type of taste is catered to. We make a stop here whenever we are inviting people to try something new or are in the area

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fast and friendly - what else do you want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was taking a chance on Blue's Egg, as it was the only breakfast restaurant in the area when I used Google Maps to find a place to stop. But it was a chance well taken. I had the Irish breakfast, a daily special, and it took about five minutes to come to the table. In that time I was given an "appetizer" of a small bushel of plump, fresh grapes and a tall cup of coffee. (They also leave a large bottle of water at the table, which I always appreciate - it's nice not to have to hound a server for a refill.) The breakfast was perfectly cooked and delicious; the house-made Irish Whiskey Sauce was a hollandaise offshoot without the lemon, and it suited the meal perfectly.

The service was attentive and friendly, the food was fast and hot, the fruit was fresh - everything you could ask for in a breakfast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My hubby brought me here on my first visit to Milwaukee in December of 2011, when we were engaged. (The review site does not allow me to choose year 2011 - so it states 2012, but I visited in 2011.)

I couldn't believe they served Bloody Mary's for breakfast, LOL. Their hashbrowns were great - served with applesauce if you like. I loved how you get fresh fruit with your breakfast order (we got blueberries & strawberries). The serving sizes were good, and the food was delish.

It was a bit cramped when we walked in, but we were able to order drinks while waiting for a table, which was nice. And being that it was cold outside, I did not mind the coziness inside the waiting area, because it kept us warm. The atmosphere was lively, just like the people of Milwaukee, and I enjoyed my visit to this restaurant very much.

It is pricier than going to Denny's or I-Hop, but what you get in return are yummy and original menu items, at an original restaurant with great service. The food is worth the wait! I liked it so much, I took a promo sticker home with me for my scrapbook.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Long wait for ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've visited Blue's Egg 4 or 5 times, most recently a few days ago. All visits were in the morning for breakfast (restaurant only serves breakfast and lunch). Every visit has included a wait for table, anywhere from 20 to 40 minutes. The waiting area is far too small to handle the volume of customers. I would not mind the unpleasant chaotic wait if the food was above average. But I've been disappointed every time. Toast is served un-buttered with a little ramekin of butter and preserves, so of course the butter won't melt on the cold toast. On one occasion, the server delivered a homemade English muffin dry, cold, and provided no butter/jam. Trying to track down the server was futile. I've had overcooked (hard) poached eggs on the kale/fonduta dish, overcooked omelette with very tough mushrooms inside, and a very unpleasant crab cake (tasted like cheapest canned crab) served on undressed greens. I think all of these inventive dishes could/should have been delicious, but it seems maybe the execution suffers when the restaurant tries to handle that volume of turnover. On the plus side, the cocktails are pretty good, hash browns were decent, and except for the first visit, service was pretty good considering the frenetic pace. I've not tried any of the sweet breakfast entrees because I prefer savory, but maybe next time I'll take a chance on some pancakes. The place always seems to be packed, so others must be having better experiences. I never suggest it anymore when making breakfast plans, but often someone else does, which is how I've ended up there again after my first disappointing visit. At least it is better than some of those "family" restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue's Egg also viewed

 

Been to Blue's Egg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue's Egg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.