We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your (grand) parent's breakfast spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue's Egg

Blue's Egg
317 N 76th St, Milwaukee, WI 53213
+1 414-299-3180
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,410 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Blue's takes a fine dining approach to classic American brunch, all week long. Old World ingredients and techniques inspire modern breakfast and lunch dishes. Blue's is available for private events in the evening.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not your (grand) parent's breakfast spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We took my 88 year-old-grandfather to Blue's. Our family of 4 loved it...he, not so much. They made him exactly what he wanted, but it was not exactly on the menu. Each one of us thought that the menu was fantastic. We each chose something different and shared. Everything was great. I had one of the specials, a skillet and ate every bite. My wife could only finish 1/2 of her dish which was similar to lasagna dish. (I forgot what it was called.) My daughters each had an item off of the children's menu and loved it. Be prepared to wait. We got there a little before 9 on a Friday (after Christmas) and when we left it was difficult for us to get out of the door due to those standing in line. I thought it was a bit pricey for a breakfast spot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    39
    22
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“not just an ordinary brunch...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

love the flavor combinations. great place for brunch with a group of your fave friends and family members.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Worth the wait - go early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

A very popular place with a very eclectic breakfast and lunch menu. I'm a traditional cured meat, eggs, hash browns and toast guy, and my wife loves the fruity, mealy, yogurt, and veggie stuff. Blue's egg has plenty of both. All seem to be prepared with creative combinations of ingredients. They specialize in hash brown side orders with several combo choices. I had a pulled ham and gruyere cheese omelet and hash browns with cheese. I came quickly and it was hot. My wife had a delicious veggie tofu thing in a soft taco. The pulled/shredded ham in the omelet was very tasty, much better than chunks of Sysco ham which most eateries churn out. The serving portion was more than I could eat (but I used to be able to). The serving dish of seedless grapes was a nice touch. We arrived at 9:15 AM this past Sunday, had to wait about 25 minutes. It's a pretty large operation with 2 dining rooms, service is fast. The character of Blue's Egg is "you can please everyone all of the time" and that, no doubt explains why it is so popular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Diverse, Unique & Full-Filling! Fantastic Breakfast Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We had flown in to Milwaukee on a red-eye flight and were desperate to find a good spot to eat. This place showed up on Yelp with 4 1/2 stars. It is pretty close to downtown so we hit it up. First thing we notice was the dessert case, an array of pastries & cookies..one cookie had bacon on it. Bacon?! On a cookie... all right this place is different.

The restaurant is bigger than you think, but there is still a long wait sometimes, it is worth it.

I always enjoy trying new spins on classic dishes, not just an everyday greasy spoon. Blue's does it right. Our server was friendly and enthusiastic, helpful with meun ideas & ready to serve us.

We started with a monkey bread appetizer (the size of a mini bundt cake). Tasty sweet cinnamon nuggets, then we got the various skillet style breakfasts. I got the Hoppel Poppel and asked for the very stuffed browns. Now the blues Browns are known for being crunchy & flavored but go for the stuffed browns, we got them with roasted mushroom, leeks & herbed creme fraiche (sorry no accent). Everyone liked their dishes, and we all went home with leftovers!

Huge portions, great service, and inventive menu. I was completely satisfied, of course for those of you not interested in adventurous eating, their menu covers all the common breakfast choices. My only regret was that we did not have enough time to come back again and again to try more items on the menu. Well done!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and incredible food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

It's nice to find a place that offers something different and Blue's is just that. While they have plenty of staples, they do make a twist like stuffed hash browns. Soo yummy! The quality is good and the service was excellent. It's the type of place you would want to take out of town guests. Highly recommended and would love to go back again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue's Egg also viewed

 

Been to Blue's Egg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue's Egg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.