We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch Out For the Pig Wings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old German Beer Hall

Old German Beer Hall
1009 North Old World 3rd ST, Milwaukee, WI 53203
414-226-2728
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 1,409 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Phoenix,AZ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Watch Out For the Pig Wings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I love sausage, and decided to try the Old German Beer Hall. What a treat, they have great bratwurst, knockwurst, and great draft German beer. Wednesday nights they have a special on pig wings, and if you are in MKE and like great pub food, give it a try, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    31
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“HB Beer Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've imbibed and eaten at four HB establishments now (Munich, Las Vegas, Chicago-Uberstein, and Milwaukee) and I'm always pleased. The beer was delicious as usual and the food very tasty (and heavy, as typical of Bavarian food). The pork shank was particularly delicious.

I liked that they have the old style communal tables and that the music wasn't overbearing (why can't more bars follow suit?). Our waitress was attentive and friendly.

If you want a taste of Munich, you can't go wrong. One detraction, they only have weinerschnitzle one day a week (Saturday or Sunday, can't remember which).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Great beer and some really good food. Nice atmosphere. Place is large with Hugh ceilings and a good clientele. Service was very good and prices are reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You'll feel like your back in Europe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I come here once a year when I attend a conference for work. I love this place. Ate here for the first time and had the pork chop...it was awesome! Not your typical thick cut but it was wonderful! Couple that with a Litre of beer and its a perfect night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
“Saint Charles Oktoberfest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It's been over a year since we last visited the "Old German Beer Hall". We had 10 members of our committee there.....Had a wonderful time, the food was outstanding and the service was great.
Our committee is heading back 20 strong for round two.....July 26th, the entire committee will be joining others for lunch and drink at the "Hall".
Looking forward to seeing Hans and his staff.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old German Beer Hall also viewed

 

Been to Old German Beer Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old German Beer Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.