We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small plates, interesting spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of INdustri Cafe

INdustri Cafe
524 S. 2nd Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-224-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #326 of 1,409 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Contemporary, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Nice small plates, interesting spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We went to INdustri Café before the theatre recently. We were pretty early for the crowds, so we were seated promptly. We decided to try some of the small plates and share them around. There was a decent choice and some interesting things. They had some specials that night as well, which we skipped. However, our server informed us that some of our choices were sold out. (Really? Early on a Saturday night?) The items we chose were not a disappointment at all. I had the "lamb lollipops", which were two nice lamb chops with the rib bone as the "stick". I don't honestly remember the specific items we had, but we agreed that they were all really interesting and tasty. The place started filling up as we dined, and we were finished easily in time for the performance at Next Act nearby.
I think we'd go back. One small point is that the prices for the small plates were not quite as small as they could have been, so you may wind up spending as much as you would for fewer larger plates. Other than that, it was an interesting spot.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, WI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stellar food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was my first visit for a pre-theater dinner. I started with a berry martini and on my server's suggestion, ordered the lobster hush puppies and cucumber sliders. Both were so flavorful, the lobster hush puppies with a corn relish and just enough heat for flavor yet not overwhelming. The cucumber sliders were fresh and crispy, with arugula and crema just enough to balance the flavors. Even though the restaurant was starting to fill up, I never felt hurried along, even as a solo diner at a 4-top. A refill on coffee was even offered after I said I was finished and ready for my check.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, WI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun Place for Small Plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had dinner at INdustri Cafe before heading to the theater for a show and were very pleased. The small plates are very imaginatively prepared and presented with great flavors. One of the evening specials was more of an entree than a small plate. The only negative was that a large group had been seated just before us in the back room so the service was slow. We even had to wait for a menu because they were "all out" of them. We will definitely be back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“INdustri-great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I had brunch here after a stay at the Iron Horse hotel. I had a delicious mimosa with freshly squeezed orange juice-fairly priced at $7. I ordered the savory crepes and my husband had some type of vanilla french toast. Both dishes were fantastic! Our server...I think his name was Chris...was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and shared some information about their locally sourced ingredients. The music was great and the atmosphere was relaxing. A wonderful brunch experience.

TIp-it says at the bottom of the receipt that if you save it and return within 10 days you get 10% off during the next visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Well Above Average Walker's Point Eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We've never been disappointed on previous dining experiences here, although our recent visit didn't quite measure up to the earlier. One can't go wrong with this choice. Food has always been exceptional. Small plates and burgers are featured on the comfort food menu, so those with lighter appetites might look elsewhere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed INdustri Cafe also viewed

 

Been to INdustri Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage INdustri Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.