We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAC is a good choice with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Athletic Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Milwaukee Athletic Club to your Saves list
Milwaukee Athletic Club
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   758 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Highland Park
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“MAC is a good choice with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The MAC hotel occupies the top three floors of the 100 year old building. The remaining eleven floors include their extensive athletic facilities (open to hotel guests), private meeting rooms, auditorium, childcare, restaurants and bars. The room was spacious and clean with good sized closet, new TV, large desk, comfortable couch and mini-fridge, but the furniture is dated. The bathroom could use an upgrade, but is perfectly functional. The staff was very professional, helpful and friendly. The location is outstanding, in downtown and close to everything. It was quiet and we enjoyed the views of the downtown skyline from our room. The price was great, too. If you expect the newest of everything from your hotel, this is not for you. However if you are willing to overlook the older furnishings for great location, price and service, the MAC is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
6
30
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

At first, I thought we were getting a great deal because of the price but then I discovered that as the mantra, you indeed always get what you pay for. Compared to the other hotels in Downtown Milwaukee, the MAC could use an upgrade. The staff never went above and beyond to service us and was kind of content to just have us there (when we asked for shuttle service to and fro the hotel, we were told of a service to look up and a number in an indifferent that could turn off most people). I was in town for a Packers football game so I wasn't looking for a palace and I certainly did not get one. While the bed in the room was big, the bathroom was poor, the closet meager, and there was no heating because the city had "not turned on gas yet". As a New Yorker, I understand there are occasional issues with utilities but it was under 30 degrees outside and the hotel had no heating? At least a portable heater would've been good since people are paying money to stay at your hotel. So in conclusion, if you're looking for a place to "crash" while in Milwaukee, this is it: nothing special, nothing out of the ordinary, but decent enough for you to sleep comfortably (if you're covered).

P.S. I cannot overlook the fact that the location is central and close to everything, so I guess that's the trade-off.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The MAC as the natives call it is a very old distinguished athletic club that also is a hotel.
The overall service was very good and the front desk was extremely helpful and attentive.
The outside bar on the top floor provided a very nice view of Milwaukee and the staff was very friendly. The only drawback of the MAC is the rooms themselves. They are spacious but the furniture is dated, the bed is too soft, and the bathroom is in need of repair and upgrade....the hotel needs to spend some money and bring this into the 21st century.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

All employees were great. Service is the high point. Location is handy to much that Milwaukee has to offer.

Although rooms are decently sized, the hotel portion of this facility is really tired. Bathroom tile is certainly from the '50s Furniture is probably from the '80s and carpet 15+ years. Housekeeping does the best they can with what they have to work with. Air conditioning was underwhelming. No air flow.

The roof top bar is great! Very happening place. Current design, good music, easy access to multiple bars for service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a great location, however it still needs a renovation for the lobby and hallways. Arrived on a Sunday after 4pm so their was no use of the pool or fitness center and the bar and restaurants are not open on Sunday, disappointing but the location makes more than up for that. The room, spacious, the bed comfortable but I felt like I was alive in the 1960's if not for the flat screen TV and the Ipod radio. Opened a night stand drawer and found an empty candy wrapper, 4 safety pins and 2 pennies ??? The worst is the bathroom. Toilet from a grammar school 50 years ago. One bar of soap, a shower head useless for anyone over 5 foot 7 with the faucets reversed and more water coming out the spigot than the shower head. The tissue holder had a built in ashtray, seriously, when was the last time they went in there. So again, great location but will not return until bathroom renovations are undertaken.

Room Tip: Rooms are floors 10-12 I was on 11 with a west facing view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

the location was just a block or two from either the river or the main plaza - so easy walking to a lot of restaurant. Front desk staff were fabulous. After reading the last two posted reviews I thought I stayed in a different hotel. Roof top bar has a great view and the room, although the furniture was not modern I had a great night's sleep and the decor was in keeping with the rest of the building. Just great

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Milwaukee Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee Athletic Club

Address: 758 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milwaukee Athletic Club 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
only available to guests attending a sponsored event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Milwaukee Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milwaukee Athletic Club Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Athletic Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.