We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth every penny” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Athletic Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Milwaukee Athletic Club to your Saves list
Milwaukee Athletic Club
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   758 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“worth every penny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

You would be hard pressed to find a better value in any major city in the US. Good excercise facilites that are free to hotel guests (warm olympic size indoor pool was nice on a cold winter night!), walking distance to lots of theaters and restaurants. Friendly, low-key vibe to the place. And I had a nice massage at a reasonable price to top off a long day. The decor of the room is dated as other reviewers have mentioned but it was clean and big with a very comfortable bed. It's not big on frills or frou frou, but is long on the stuff that counts and with a touch of history to the place. I'll definetly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
6
30
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Bend
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I spent the evening at the Milwaukee Athletic club in downtown Milwaukee while in town to see a show at the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts. The hotel is located a short 5 minute walk away from the Marcus Center and within a short walk to many highlights of downtown Milwaukee. The restaurant at the hotel featured a nice menu and the bartender provided us with good drinks. The valet parking was nice, $15 per night per car for hotel guests. We did not use any of the athletic facilities but the hotel was very athletic oriented for their members and guests. The room was amazingly large, the bed comfortable. We didn't sleep all that well do to the noise of the city and some strange banging on pipes at 3am. The bathroom also hadn't seen updating for 2 or 3 decades. Overall the price and location were great, and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I spend one night in this hotel on October 2012. The team from the parking, through the front dest to the gym were very pleasent and freindly, byond the standard. I loved the spacious with so much place, the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The only side comment I can make about the room is that it was kind of old style and could be inovated a bit.
The hotel have a men club, very nice pool, huge gym room and a basketball ground in house!
The location is great- a few meters from many restorants and from the city market place. Also closed to the "old city" which is renovated and nice to walk through.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Death Valley National Park, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The retro vibe of this place was definitely quirky! Most importantly, my room was large, clean and the bed perfectly comfortable. The first room I was given did not have a working door latch but the gentleman at the front desk quickly found me another. I used the sauna, which is free to guests and a nice surprise.

The hotel is centrally positioned, just a 5 or 10 minutes walk from Milwaukee Art Museum and Third Ward area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I like the old-school vibe of a place like this as much as the next guy. The location is great, the outdated decor didn't bother me. The room had windows that actually opened! But the one thing I can't overlook is the bed, which is the primary feature of a place that you're paying to sleep at. And the bed was dreadful - my wife and I had a horrible night's sleep. You could tell just by looking at it that the box springs were collapsed on one side - I was in danger of being pulled off the bed by gravity. This bed belonged only in a dumpster, and it's hard to believe that any sort of hotel would charge someone to sleep in a bed like that. An absolute deal-killer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painted Post, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were hesitant to stay here but were pleasantly surprised! The staff was wonderful, especially John, the night desk clerk. He was so helpful and remembered us every time he saw us.Yes, the rooms could use updating but they were clean and very functional. The location is excellent. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The workout facility is unbelievable-not normal fare for a traveller by any means. We would stay there again if we go back to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel has a fantastic location. We were easily able to walk to the art museum, the market, third ward neighborhood, and more. For such a central location, the price can't be beat. Our room was huge, very clean, but very out-dated. The bathroom was in particular need of sprucing up... it felt like an old gym/locker room bathroom. The other downside was very thin walls that allowed us to hear conversations in adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milwaukee Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee Athletic Club

Address: 758 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milwaukee Athletic Club 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
only available to guests attending a sponsored event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Milwaukee Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milwaukee Athletic Club Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Athletic Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.