We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel in the city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Athletic Club

Save Saved
You added Milwaukee Athletic Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Milwaukee Athletic Club
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   758 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique hotel in the city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I spend one night in this hotel on October 2012. The team from the parking, through the front dest to the gym were very pleasent and freindly, byond the standard. I loved the spacious with so much place, the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The only side comment I can make about the room is that it was kind of old style and could be inovated a bit.
The hotel have a men club, very nice pool, huge gym room and a basketball ground in house!
The location is great- a few meters from many restorants and from the city market place. Also closed to the "old city" which is renovated and nice to walk through.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
6
27
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Death Valley National Park, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The retro vibe of this place was definitely quirky! Most importantly, my room was large, clean and the bed perfectly comfortable. The first room I was given did not have a working door latch but the gentleman at the front desk quickly found me another. I used the sauna, which is free to guests and a nice surprise.

The hotel is centrally positioned, just a 5 or 10 minutes walk from Milwaukee Art Museum and Third Ward area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I like the old-school vibe of a place like this as much as the next guy. The location is great, the outdated decor didn't bother me. The room had windows that actually opened! But the one thing I can't overlook is the bed, which is the primary feature of a place that you're paying to sleep at. And the bed was dreadful - my wife and I had a horrible night's sleep. You could tell just by looking at it that the box springs were collapsed on one side - I was in danger of being pulled off the bed by gravity. This bed belonged only in a dumpster, and it's hard to believe that any sort of hotel would charge someone to sleep in a bed like that. An absolute deal-killer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painted Post, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were hesitant to stay here but were pleasantly surprised! The staff was wonderful, especially John, the night desk clerk. He was so helpful and remembered us every time he saw us.Yes, the rooms could use updating but they were clean and very functional. The location is excellent. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The workout facility is unbelievable-not normal fare for a traveller by any means. We would stay there again if we go back to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel has a fantastic location. We were easily able to walk to the art museum, the market, third ward neighborhood, and more. For such a central location, the price can't be beat. Our room was huge, very clean, but very out-dated. The bathroom was in particular need of sprucing up... it felt like an old gym/locker room bathroom. The other downside was very thin walls that allowed us to hear conversations in adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Have been going 1-3 times a year for the last 7 years and must say I really enjoy seeing the same smiling faces. Some staff remember me and is very touching. Over the years the evolution to a greater participation of the younger folk has been steadily progressing.
Food,drinks and ambience are comfortable and relaxed.
Rooms and in particular the bathrooms are very dated and "an evolution " will be needed here in the near future too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Chose location because of proximity to activities. Actually enjoyed the historical look in pictures online. There is a valet if you like that sort of thing. Rooms are large, but basic and have many deceptively nice finishes. Bathroom has not been remodeled since the 1970's. Tv is to far from bed to work. Iron leaks and does not function. Toilet leaks and shower does not hold pressure or temperature. Killed water loving bug in bathroom. Elevator shakes, kinda terrifying. You can tell that at one time this building was high class and extravagant, but not any more.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milwaukee Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee Athletic Club

Address: 758 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Milwaukee Athletic Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
only available to guests attending a sponsored event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Milwaukee Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milwaukee Athletic Club Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Athletic Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.