We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Place at the Historic Pabst Brewery

Best Place at the Historic Pabst Brewery
901 W. Juneau Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
+1 414-630-1609
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 41 Activities in Milwaukee
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Best Place, located at the heart of the former Pabst brewery, celebrates the history of Pabst with historic Blue Ribbon Hall (which can be rented for banquets), a vintage gift shop (featuring vintage items that were partly recovered from the original brewery), the Sternewirt guest center and two beautiful courtyards. In the tavern and adjacent beer garden, local and Wisconsin-brewed beers are served in an authentic, German atmosphere.Guests can participate in historic tours through the refurbished parts of the building. Tours are Mon., Wed. & Thu. At 1 & 3pm, and Fri., Sat. & Sun. 11, 12 & 1Pm. Cost is $8 and Military Personnel receive a $2 discount. The tour fee includes a pint of Pabst, Schlitz or soda.With the closing of the Pabst Brewery in 1996 came the opening of an opportunity. After many years of blood, sweat, and beers, the "best use" of these buildings has fermented into Best Place at the historic Pabst Brewery -- taking its name from the founders, Jacob and Phillip Best, and its spirit from the Captain, Frederick Pabst. In December 2009, the vintage gift shop re-opened its doors and since May 2010, beer is served again at the bars in historic Blue Ribbon Hall and the Sternewirt Guest Center.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Really interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Went here for a tour during the Brewer home opener game, so needless to say, our group was very small. I was pleasantly surprised to find the owner was the one giving the tour. I found it very informative & fun. It felt more like you were at a friend's house 7 they were showing you a bunch of cool stuff. The bar tender was very nice & gave my kids snacks to keep them occupied. My husband & I really enjoyed it. My kids were bored, but kept talking about Pabst on the way home, so they must have been paying attention. This is no longer a working brewery, but it was really neat to hear stories & see the offices all while chugging back some beer!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    18
    9
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This is what a brew tour should be about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I love history and I love beer.

Put them together and you get best place at the historic pabst brewery.

Really cool place. Enjoyed the tour very much. Very cool that the property owner is so involved. His knowledge on bad beers and malt liquors were not the best, but I'll give him a pass for having schlitz and pabst both on tap!

Make sure you take the oath at the stairs!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A work is progress, but absolutely worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

First off, most of the tours are given by the property owner, which gives guests an interesting perspective into the the history of the building. Keep in mind that the tour does not include a tour of the brewing of the beer as Pabst is not brewed by Pabst anymore. The tour does include a fantastic history lesson of the Pabst brand, which happens to be the largest American owned brewer in the world, owning more than 60 brands. The tour does come with a complementary PBR to enjoy during or after the tour. In addition, the gift shop is a playground for any beer memorabilia fan.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very historic wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

there is a gift shop where you can buy Pabst merchandise and also a tasting room and a small tavern. the owner of the place gives the tours and is a very cool. I would recommend taking a couple hours and checking it out.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Barrington, Illinois
1 review
“Pabst Best Place...Recommended for Beer Geeks or Novices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This was the first stop on a Milwaukee pubcrawl for 54 members of Club Wort, an IL homebrew club. We couldn't have been more pleased with the tour and overall friendly atmoshere at this historic landmark. I can only hope that the buidlings can someday be restored to their original brilliance. Thanks again for the hospitality!! Cheers!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Place at the Historic Pabst Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Best Place at the Historic Pabst Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Place at the Historic Pabst Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.