We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor House

Harbor House
550 Harbor Drive, Milwaukee, WI 53202
414.395.4900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Harbor House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 1,389 restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Harbor Dr & N Lincoln Memorial Dr
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We drove from Chicago on a summer day to attend the Art Festival in Milwaukee. Within walking distance, was the Harbor House. After appetizers, we decided to have dinner and it was delightful. We had a wonderful view of the lake, the service was top-notch and the entrees were very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    130
    79
    32
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Outstanding location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

A group of six of us had a very lovely meal on the outside patio overlooking Lake Michigan. On a lovely day in the Midwest, it doesn't get much nicer than this. The setting is very nice and the service was solid and casual, just short of what one would get at a nice urban restaurant. Most of our group had seafood and the portions all seemed very large. I had a special black bass dish with king crab around the edge. It was very nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I sawThe Harbor House on Check Please which they visited. We drove up to Milwaukee from Chicago (85 Miles). It was a beautiful day and we were looking forward to a wonderful Sunday Brunch. We walked in and the facility and location are just wonderful. It is located right on the harbor with a beautiful view of the Art Museum. The server was great and very attentive. She was very helpful and brought us everything we wanted. The area in which this restaurant falls down is the food.. They claim to be a seafood restaurant. The seafood on the main meal table was farm raised Atlantic Salmon? Why would a "Seafood Rest. serve farm raised fish. They also had snow crabs which were so small it was almost impossible to get the meat from the legs. The carving table had baked ham and eye of the round roast (a tough piece of meat). The salad table was relatively good, it had peel yourself shrimp and smoked salmon. We did not take part of the omelet table so I can't comment on that part of the brunch. All soft drinks are included in the price. This price is $39.95 and far too much for the quality of the food. There are many better places for Sunday Brunch for that price,
one being the Pfister Hotel just blocks away. Do yourself a favor, DON'T GO TO THE HARBOR HOUSE!!!

This is definitely not worth the price of $39.95.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Place On The Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We love this place, although it's very pricey. I used to live in Milwaukee and remember when this was the old Pieces of Eight - dark and gloomy. But now the open, bright renovation is great for a lakefront restaurant. Staff very efficient and accommodating. On our visit on a Sunday night the place was packed. I wanted to split two appetizers which the staff willingly did, however i probably should have had an entree as the appetizers were fried. My husbands entree was great. Views of the city and lake are spectacular. We make this place a Must Go every time we are in Milwaukee. Only sorry it was too cool to sit outside this trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The service was very attentive, the menu was extensive and very hard to choose from. It was a group of 4 colleagues and we all very much enjoyed the meal. The halibut, scallops and cioppini were all delicious. Reasonable range of wines on the wine list, with prices from the mid-$30s through $200. Apple Pie and Key Lime Pie devoured afterwards. Wouldn't hesitate to go back when I'm next in Milwaukee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor House also viewed

 

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.