We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Afternoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes)

Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes)
524 S Layton Blvd, Milwaukee, WI 53215
(414) 257-5611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 280 Attractions in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Conservatory's Arid Dome houses a fine collection of cacti; the Tropical Dome features plants from the rainforest and the Floral Show Dome hosts a number of changing themed blossom displays throughout the year.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome Afternoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We took our 1 year old to the domes on a cold February afternoon. To our delight it was also model train weekend, so we had a bonus! The domes are a great way to get a dose of warm weather and sunshine on a cold winter day. My favorite was the desert dome - amazing cacti and flora. My daughter's favorite was the rain forest dome - amazing trees and flowers. The whole facility is just so much fun. I highly recommend it for an hour or two of exploration.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    104
    39
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Flora all year round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Where else are you going to see fresh flowers in Milwaukee in winter? Where else can you see cacti at anytime in Milwaukee? Great for photographers, brides, families, and anyone else.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Domes Under Glass”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Overall the three separate domes with the different climatic conditions feature plants and flowers that adapt to those conditions. We especially like the Thursday evening entertainment during the colder months that feature various groups (for example; Blues Brothers, Elvis Band etc.) It's a fun time and you can dance to the tunes. Just get there early to get a seat, or you'll be standing. They do charge a fee, extra break for residents of the City. They do have a seating area that you can grab a bite to eat or drink. Plenty of parking spaces at no charge. Check out the different venues on the Milwaukee County Parks website for what's featured.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A Gem especially in Winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Domes are classic to Milwaukee. It really is a must do if you enjoy plants, flowers, and trees. Young and old can appreciate it especially if they enjoy nature and outdoors. In the winter (and throughout the year) check the Domes for special exhibits, one being the train exhibit in the show dome. Each year is a new theme. The other domes are tropical in nature and the desert. For both nature/outdoors and photograpy enthusiasts in particular this is a great place to stop. It's economical and doesn't take long--breeze through in less than an hr. or spend a little more time there. There's a small gift shop on site with a variety of things from books, jewelry, to educational toys and more. The lobby area is nice and open and there's a coat rack for your jackets and tables/chairs, restrooms, etc. We never tire of our time here there's so much beauty and variety contained here.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Horticulture Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've been going to the Domes since I was a kid, it is always a neat place to see. Each dome is a different climate, and different types of plants and flowers. I always enjoyed going to photography reasons. It is something worth seeing if you are into horticultural type outings.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes) also viewed

 

Been to Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.