We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Symbolic Milwaukee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes)

Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes)
524 S Layton Blvd, Milwaukee, WI 53215
(414) 257-5611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 76 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Gardens, Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Conservatory's Arid Dome houses a fine collection of cacti; the Tropical Dome features plants from the rainforest and the Floral Show Dome hosts a number of changing themed blossom displays throughout the year.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Symbolic Milwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Have been to the "Domes" repeatedly since childhood, for wedding photos, and to visit with my son for a model train show. It is the best place to take in blooms especially during the winter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    95
    35
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villa Park, Il
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice displays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I liked the tropical dome best, but the Desert and general plant displays were also good. We had a little troulble finding it since our GPS wanted us to drive thru Potowatami Casino. Not downtown.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great spot for an event!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We attended a wedding at the Domes. We are out-of-towners who came just for the wedding and found the Mitchell park conservatory to be a great tourist attraction as well. We enjoyed the gardens - I think the desert dome was my favorite - but the service for the wedding was exceptional as well.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Fun Place to See a Desert and the Tropics in One Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Spend a couple of hours at the Domes. It's just fun to roam around in the various habitats, plus you might actually learn something. The trails and exhibits are well maintained and labeled, and you'll forget that you're in the middle of a world class city for a few moments.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not As Good As Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

From what I had read and been told I was expecting a greater horticultural exhibition than was actually there. If you have not seen too many of these types of attractions around the world, this might impress you. Unfortunately I have see a lot of these things and I was not really impressed at all. Now that doesn't mean that it wasn't worthwhile; it just failed to impress. The arid and tropical domes were good presentations of the ecosystems contained. But the special exhbit dome was sadly unimpressive; certainly not worth a trip out to the domes to see it. I guess the bottom line here is that if you really, really like horticulture then you will enjoy your visit. Otherwise your time is better spent elsewhere

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes) also viewed

 

Been to Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.