We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5890 S Howell Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53207   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location for airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Enjoyed my stay here a night before an early flight out of MKE. The staff that checked me in was spectacular and the hotel was surprisingly quiet for being next to the airport. The only reason I gave this 'Very Good' was due to the fact Garden Inns have begun to use select your comfort beds. Seems like a great idea but I don't think the beds do anything when switching from soft to firm. They are also unbelievably hard even when the bed is set to the soft setting. Don't even thinking about jumping on these beds, you may sprain your ankle. If you enjoy rough beds then by all means this is the perfect spot for any travelers.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIMilwaukeeAirport, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear mleslie89,

We really appreciate your honest-constructive feedback. Your mentioned how quite our property is, especially being 1/2 mile away from Mitchell International. Our property was constructed with extra soundproofing materials to avoid any guest or sound disturbances. It really has proven to be a benefit to our entire property.

I'm truly sorry that you did not find the Garden Sleep System Bed adequate for your comfort level. I will make sure to bring your concerns to the Brand's attention.


Respectfully,
Kimberly Pohl
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    91
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
144
111
36
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding, and then flew out the next day. All areas of this hotel were exceptional (and I tend to be a harsh hotel critic!).

When we arrived, we noticed appetizers set up by the front desk for what appeared to be a complimentary happy hour. (We didn't partake in this, however, so I'm not sure if it was.) Upon checking in, we were asked which floor we preferred, and we took the first, since they said it would be convenient after the reception. The front desk staff was very hospitable and accommodating.

Our room was clean and comfortable. (Big plus for having a white duvet!) The bathroom had Neutrogena products and a glass shower stall. Our room also had a fridge, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. All in all, very nice.

The reception was held in the banquet hall adjacent to the bar. Everything was lovely. Also, we didn't hear any noise in the halls after the reception ended, which hasn't always been the case in other hotels.

In the morning, we had a breakfast made to order which was part of our purchased package. (I had french toast with strawberries and whipped cream; omelettes, breakfast meats, and potatoes were also available. ) The corresponding buffet had delicious pastries and fresh fruit. Additionally, by the front desk was a self serve coffee kiosk with Starbucks coffee.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel. The shuttle took us to the airport the next morning, and it was very convenient.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIMilwaukeeAirport, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Alliegirl2783,

Thank you for sharing your amazing weekend with us, we welcome all feedback and what an honor that we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate that you will highly recommend us to your friends and family, and we look forward to making their experience as wonderful as yours.

Best Regards,
Kimberly Pohl
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This review is for the Milwaukee Airport location. We stayed here after a late flight since it was close to the airport. Quick check in and helpful desk staff who recognized my Hilton rewards registration. The hotel has a couple freezers of microwaveable food next to the desk, probably the best you can do at 1 am. The desk person suggested we take the silverware from the breakfast area, which was forward thinking on his part.

The room was excellent, almost brand new. Even though you are near the airport, you can’t hear any of the noise. The bed was comfortable, we slept very well. The only thing to be aware of is that this location does not offer a free breakfast, but since the room price was excellent, I am still giving it five dots for value. We didn’t try the business center or pool so we can’t comment. Overall, excellent experience. We will stay again the next time we go to Milwaukee.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIMilwaukeeAirport, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear bssc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. First of all, your loyalty means everything and your feedback is very valuable on all levels. Our special property as you noticed was built 4 years ago and extra soundproofing materials where implemented during construction to guarantee our guest a wonderful, restful night sleep. I want to mention we do offer Bed & Breakfast Packages online or please ask our guest service agents when making your next reservation. Looking forward to having you back in the near future.

All our best,
Kimberly Pohl
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Lake, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Our VDD/GNA dog group had our National Meeting here this past weekend and the service and hospitality was the best. The people went out of their way to be courteous to us and our dogs. This was the most friendly and enjoyable stay that I have experienced anywhere. The service was great the food was excellent and I highly recommend this fine place. Beds were the best ever, and housecleaning does an excellent job

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Tripadvisor's high marks for this Milwaukee gem brought my wife, daughter and son-in-law and I to the doors of this great hotel to enjoy a weekend in Milwaukee. What makes this Hotel great is not the well appointed rooms, the spacious and comfortable communal-style renovated lobby, the comfortable bedding, etc.... but the exceptional Hospitality and the energetic, friendly, caring staff! They completely understand that it matters more how you make people feel....well, we all felt home and part of this great group. One could spend a great more and receive far less experience at many great hotels but we are fans of this well managed and thoughtful crew and their hotel. They go the extra mile. We'll be back. So should you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIMilwaukeeAirport, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Scott K,

WOW! - your review has touched my heart, you captured all the values we strive on each and everyday with our team. Its so rewarding that you and your family felt truly at "Home". This will always be our main objective and we take pride in sharing this culture with all who walk through our doors. Thank you again for your incredible description of your stay. Please ask for me next time you visit, I would like to say "thank you" in person.

Kindest Regards,
Kimberly Pohl
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This property is done very well. From the shuttle pick up at the airport to the great dinner and breakfast it was very good. The staff really help make this place a great place to stay. The room was quiet and clean. The fan could run constantly if needed and everything worked from the wifi to the amenities. Thanks again and I'll be back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIMilwaukeeAirport, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Albyfli,

Your "great stay" means so much to our team! I will share this great review to remind the staff that all our dedication to customer service is noticed and guest appreciate even the smallest details. Please visit us again soon.

Respectfully,
Kimberly Pohl
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I enjoyed our stay very much at the hotel. I especially liked the firepit outdoor area. I was not informed that the continental breakfast was not free and was disappointed when I was informed otherwise. I really liked the starbucks station in the lobby. Room service was excellent and the food delicious although the portions were a little too big. All and all a great experience and will probably stay there again. I saw some wonderful paintings in the room and inquired about the artist so I could purchase a print but really did not get good info on the artist. Thanks

Room Tip: The room on the lower floor near the exit was very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIMilwaukeeAirport, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear babs762,

We are grateful for your review and pleased you were able to enjoy our amazing patio-firepit. Its a wonderful area to sit back and enjoy the outdoors. Our Garden Grille serves breakfast, lunch and dinner on weekdays. On weekends we serve both breakfast and dinner, you can receive room service 7 days a week from 5-10pm.

Thank you for noticing our Milwaukee Prints that we have around the hotel, the artist name is Janet Van Arsdale her prints can be found online.

Looking forward to having you back as our guest again.

Kindest Regards,
Kimberly Pohl
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport

Address: 5890 S Howell Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport located right off I-94 and within a short distance from General Mitchell International Airport. We are only 8 miles from downtown Milwaukee, where you'll find plenty of restaurants and entertainment for your business or leisure stay. Guest rooms include free internet/WiFi and the Garden Sleep System. Relax in our pool or whirlpool or use our fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.