We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy hotel disappoints” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Trendy hotel disappoints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I stayed two nights at Aloft. This hotel is geared more towards young adults, adult couples.
what I liked - the free WiFi, the 24 hour gym and pool. The staff was friendly especially "J" and Kayana. they were pleasant and helpful in the morning. what i didn't like- it isn't a full service hotel so no restaurant or room service. the walls of the rooms are thin. the hallway floors are very noisy. the neighborhood adds to the noise level especially Friday and Saturday night. Parking isn't convenient since its Valet or self parking that is two blocks away.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    170
    70
    39
    14
See reviews for
52
180
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

This was our third stay at the Aloft. The rooms are great with beautifully decorated. the hotel has a fun, uplifting atmosphere. "J", out service rep was awesome and very helpful. Thanks! We will be seeing you again next month!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cf
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Dear Aloft Hotel:

Just wanted you to know that I really enjoyed my stay at your hotel...I had never been to an Aloft before and found you randomly on the internet. Location and price were fabulous...I could walk to the symphony and it was a short drive to the Art Museum. Loved the decor, size and layout of the room. Bed was amazing...soft and warm...perfect for a January night.

Jay rocks...he was great at recommending dining places and Vince in valet made it super easy to come and go with regard to car transportation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

The lobby is beautiful with a very clean, modern look. The room layout is different, and makes excellent use of the space. The view out our room was the frozen river and downtown, which was surprisingly beautiful. The hotel is near a draw bridge, but the noise when cars drove over was muffled, and never really bothered me. I slept like a baby. Great shower too. The hotel shuttled us to the train station in the morning.

This is my favorite hotel in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here during a weekend fun trip to Milwaukee. We got a deal with Starwood points and were please with the value. The room was clean and modern with a funky design. It was definitely small and slightly odd that the sliding door didn't totally conceal the bathroom, but overall a quirky and fun layout. The staff were all very nice with their "Aloha" greetings. The location was good for getting to all the fun Milwaukee spots. A little bit of street noise but it didn't cause any problems sleeping. Cute lounge/bar area for late night drinks.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

A very cool hotel, my husband and I went with friends for a fun weekend, and we had a blast! The rooms are very modern and accomodating, they had everything we needed, from the 24 hour pool, to the delicious latte in the morning! I can't wait to come back, the front desk and cafe staff were friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the Aloft Milwaukee three times now. Two of our three visits we have had the pleasure of having J working the front desk. In all our dealings with him, we found him to both helpful and cheerful. He remembered us from are pervious visit, and gave us a warm welcome. He is truly an asset.
The hotel is modern and clean. The beds were comfortable, and the hotel is close to local nightlife. My only criticism would be that the bath rooms lack towel bars, and some of the amenities seem slightly cheap. Overall I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood and Odigeo so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.