We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Watertown, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed at Aloft during the Lady Gaga concert. The modern decor and upbeat atmosphere made it a great place to stay. It was energizing just walking through the door. The staff was very friendly & helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The only downfall was no on site parking. We had to pay for it. We look forward to staying again. Thanks Aloft!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    153
    66
    39
    12
See reviews for
50
166
30
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

The first time I'd stayed at an Aloft property and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010 via mobile

The rooms were nice, staff friendly BUT on a summer night they rent out their courtyard for parties and the courtyard was right inthe middle of all rooms. If you have a room on the inside (half the rooms) you couldn't even turn up your tv full blast and hear it, it was that loud. I'm a young party-goer and honestly can handle any noise but I was in shock that this loud of music was allowed in such an open area of a hotel disturbing half the guests for a private party. I've been to an Aloft in Leawood, KS and although there is a louder bar scene you can still be in your room without needing ear plugs.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Not sure what niche Starwood is trying to fill with its Aloft hotels, but my hunch is that they're designed for 20-something business travelers who work in the technology field. This hotel reminded me of South Beach in Milwaukee -- it tries so hard to be hip and happening, but somehow misses the mark.

Biggest complaint was that this place is LOUD! Forget about the loud music in the lobby -- I didn't mind that. But it sounds like this building is made of paper. Having read some of the reviews here, I was concerned about noise in the room. I called the hotel well in advance to request a "quiet" room, and at check-in, I was told I had one. Yet I could hear every footstep in the room above me, every conversation in the hallway, and every street noise. If you're a light sleeper, stay away.

Speaking of light, the window shades don't completely cover the windows. So, at night, from the bed, you're staring at two bright, rectangular outlines of windows. And the room lighting is configured poorly. For example, there's no way to completely close off the bathroom from the rest of the room. So if you need to use the bathroom at night, and you turn the light on, it lights up the rest of the room. Bad design.

Also was not crazy about the shampoo and body wash dispensers in the shower stall. Gives the room a health club locker room shower kind of feel.

On the plus side: The bed was comfy, the flat screen was nice with true HDTV, and there was a convenient charger/docking station on the desk to recharge and connect all your electronic gadgetry. And a couple of bottles of water were provided, gratis.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

My husband and I attended a play at the Marcus Center so booked a room at Aloft. The hotel is definitely different. I don't know if it is retro or modern. the room was fine. Very good TV and the bed was heavenly. But we will never stay there again because of the noise. Noise from the street. Noise from above rooms. Noise from the hallway.

I also have to say that the staff, though efficient, were not at all friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

I would only stay here again in the future if they do something about the $20+ parking rate per night, plus tip..I pay less or the same at a 5 star in L.A., this is highway robbery in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

This was a nice hotel and our stay was pleasant. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The decoration/atmosphere looks like a display at Ikea which is kind of different. We had everything we needed and the staff was cheerful and helpful.

I read the other reviews about lots of noise and difficulty sleeping but we did not experience this. We were far from the elevators and did not hear any noise. We were able to sleep peacefully without any disturbance.

The parking is valet only for 23.00 for the night.

The best thing about this hotel was the value for the location. It is easy to get to and was right across the bridge from Water St. bars and restuarants. It is also near other attractions.

We would stay again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.