We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvement over Chain Hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aloft Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Improvement over Chain Hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice hotel. Customer service was wonderful. We arrived early and was provided a room immediately. Not only were we provided a room, but we were given a room, upon my request, that over looked the river. Nice. Room was comfortable, made for efficiency. Bathroom right behind bed, with wall separating. 2 Dasani water bottles provided, free. Wifi was free, but I was never able to get on internet, not sure why, as I never inquired. Refrigerator, coffee maker, iron board, blow dryer, all was in room. Bed was comfortable. Hard to get temperature just right. Hotel was walking distance to everything, especially the beautiful river walk, which went on for miles. Breakfast was free, but not worth it. Cooked behind counter, but food was microwaved for you, not like freshly made. Was ok. I would recommend this hotel to get away from Chains.

Room Tip: Top floor, facing river
See more room tips
Green Features: Always a friendly face when you walked in. Smoking available in outside coutyard, facing river.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit here in Milwaukee. We will make sure to share your comments regardin gour service with our team. We hope to have you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    148
    65
    37
    12
See reviews for
50
163
30
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hales Corners, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed at the Aloft for the first time and was very pleased with my experience. The valet attendant, Pat, was very prompt, friendly, and professional when I arrived. He was very helpful with suggesting transportation around the city as I didn't want to drive and also suggested places nearby that I could walk to. The front desk was attentive, friendly, and easily approchable. The overall customer service was great at the Aloft. The hotel was very clean, modern looking, and affordable for a downtown hotel. Very nice hotel and staff, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Cherly M,

Than kyou fo rchoosing to stay with us on your visit. It is always nice to hear when our guests enjoyed their stay and our team made an impression on you. We will definitley make sure they see your kind words. We are so happy that you enjoyed yourself, wee hope to have you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

When reading reviews for this place, I saw people complained about the cheaply made rooms but I wrote those comments off. Now that I have visited I would say I completely agree with those comments. I can see what they were going for with the ultra modern decor and clean lines but it wasn't they didn't succeed in my opinion.
The biggest negative thing about the rooms is that the bathrooms are not at all private. The door to the bathroom is a cheap sliding door that muffles no sounds, and doesn't completely cover the entrance to the bathroom (you can see someone standing in the sink area). I was staying with my sister so we didn't mind much but she did comment that she would not want to stay there with her husband.
Also, the lighting in the sink area (where all of the rooms mirrors are) is awful. We were trying to get ready for a concert and we ended up using our own tiny mirrors and sitting on the bed to get ready.
Overall, I wouldn't stay here again. There are so many nice hotels in Milwaukee, I expect higher quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G, Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting with us. I am so sorry that we were not the right fit for you. We really appreciated all of your feedback regarding your stay. I am very sorry you did not enjoy the Aloft experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loule, Portugal
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here when we went as a group to see the ball game

It's clean and very funky

It's only minutes away from the bars and great to get to the ball game as there are local buses that take you to the game

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G, Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for visiting with us while you were in town to see the ball game. I am so glad you had a great visit. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The location was perfect. We were in Milwaukee for a Brewers game and a friend recommended the Aloft. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. We will definitely stay here again! The area is filled with fun things to do. You can walk and enjoy the area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hope you enjoyed the Brewers game! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and please make sure to thank your friends for the recommendation for us. Hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is great overall. great location, great service, great rooms. overall, really happy with my stay here. there are good restaurants within walking distance, the historic areas are beautiful and it's not far from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Monica R,

So glad you were able to stay with us on your visit to Downtown Milwaukee. Also, happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience while here with us and we hope to be able to serve you again should you come back to town. Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to let us know about it, we truly appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is located perfectly at the north edge of the drunken Milwaukee college wasteland also known as Water Street. The hotel also has no sound dampening whatsoever. Your door seems to be made of paper and you can hear every person walking up and down your hall, shouting drunkenly, talking about the wedding reception they were just at downstairs, etc. It was not pleasant. I should have listened to the other reviewers on this point. If you do have to stay here, make sure you have your room fan going 24x7 to help drown out the noise. It seemed to work fairly well, actually. This is definitely not a special-event-in-Milwaukee-weekend kind of hotel.

About the hotel... The staff were very friendly and helpful, so checkin and checkout were pleasant. People in the hotel seem to make good use of the common spaces in the lobby, which was actually nice to see. They're designed for people to use, rather than most hotels that have a lobby just used as a transit from one space to another. Decor is ultra modern, and pretty funny-looking for the most part. There is a small bar and a small food area in the lobby for snacks and drinks. And, it is located very conveniently on the north end of Water Street. I wasn't there for the college bars, but there are lots of other great places in the area within walking distance if you know where you're looking. The location is pretty good, but this also means it's frequented by college groups and Bachelorette parties. As we returned to the hotel in the evening at least one bachelorette was literally dragged into the hotel in front of us by her girlfriends, completely passed out.

Amenities are a bit strange. They do have a small soap bar for the bathroom. There's a pocket door on the "bathroom" that closes most of the way. The rest of the toiletries in the room are essentially soap pumps on the walls.

King bed was ok and we slept well when we were able to sleep.

Overall, I don't think we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Mr. Bagley,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we do apologize that you had this type of experience. I know that another team memeber has reached out regarding the other survey you submitted to us. We completely understand that your stay was not enjoyable and the design and concept of the hotel from atmosphere to amenitities is not quite what you are looking for when traveling. Please work with our team to assist you and make up for the stay as we never want anyone to be unpleased with our service and dedication to our guests. We hope that you find better accomodations the next time you come to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.