We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the ball game” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Aloft Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #28 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Loule, Portugal
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good value for the ball game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here when we went as a group to see the ball game

It's clean and very funky

It's only minutes away from the bars and great to get to the ball game as there are local buses that take you to the game

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G, Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for visiting with us while you were in town to see the ball game. I am so glad you had a great visit. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    142
    63
    37
    11
See reviews for
46
157
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochelle Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The location was perfect. We were in Milwaukee for a Brewers game and a friend recommended the Aloft. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. We will definitely stay here again! The area is filled with fun things to do. You can walk and enjoy the area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hope you enjoyed the Brewers game! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and please make sure to thank your friends for the recommendation for us. Hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is great overall. great location, great service, great rooms. overall, really happy with my stay here. there are good restaurants within walking distance, the historic areas are beautiful and it's not far from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Monica R,

So glad you were able to stay with us on your visit to Downtown Milwaukee. Also, happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience while here with us and we hope to be able to serve you again should you come back to town. Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to let us know about it, we truly appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is located perfectly at the north edge of the drunken Milwaukee college wasteland also known as Water Street. The hotel also has no sound dampening whatsoever. Your door seems to be made of paper and you can hear every person walking up and down your hall, shouting drunkenly, talking about the wedding reception they were just at downstairs, etc. It was not pleasant. I should have listened to the other reviewers on this point. If you do have to stay here, make sure you have your room fan going 24x7 to help drown out the noise. It seemed to work fairly well, actually. This is definitely not a special-event-in-Milwaukee-weekend kind of hotel.

About the hotel... The staff were very friendly and helpful, so checkin and checkout were pleasant. People in the hotel seem to make good use of the common spaces in the lobby, which was actually nice to see. They're designed for people to use, rather than most hotels that have a lobby just used as a transit from one space to another. Decor is ultra modern, and pretty funny-looking for the most part. There is a small bar and a small food area in the lobby for snacks and drinks. And, it is located very conveniently on the north end of Water Street. I wasn't there for the college bars, but there are lots of other great places in the area within walking distance if you know where you're looking. The location is pretty good, but this also means it's frequented by college groups and Bachelorette parties. As we returned to the hotel in the evening at least one bachelorette was literally dragged into the hotel in front of us by her girlfriends, completely passed out.

Amenities are a bit strange. They do have a small soap bar for the bathroom. There's a pocket door on the "bathroom" that closes most of the way. The rest of the toiletries in the room are essentially soap pumps on the walls.

King bed was ok and we slept well when we were able to sleep.

Overall, I don't think we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Mr. Bagley,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we do apologize that you had this type of experience. I know that another team memeber has reached out regarding the other survey you submitted to us. We completely understand that your stay was not enjoyable and the design and concept of the hotel from atmosphere to amenitities is not quite what you are looking for when traveling. Please work with our team to assist you and make up for the stay as we never want anyone to be unpleased with our service and dedication to our guests. We hope that you find better accomodations the next time you come to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus. Ohio
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Staff were great. Room was fairly comfortable. Be aware that the door to the toilet/shower area is actually a sliding wall that doesn't slide quite all the way. I was staying alone, so it was no problem. It might bother someone else. After dinner, the lobby was loud and full of people having a good time at the bar. I was in town for a meeting, and some of my colleagues complained of lots of noise in the halls--to the point that they couldn't sleep. I didn't experience that. A couple of my colleagues used valet, and the rate seemed more consistent with NYC or SFO than MKE.

Room Tip: Probably half the rooms face a triangular inner courtyard--and each other. One of my colleagues was...
See more room tips
Green Features: The lobby, meeting room, and sleep room all had trash and recycle baskets/bins. I appreciated that.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Peebs777,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience here in Milwaukee. We are so happy that you gave us an opportunity to take care of you on your busines travels. We do apologize that you and your colleagues were bothered by other guests and their noise levels, something we try to manage, but some folks like to have an exteremely fun time. The rate for valet services is $25 per night (in and out as much as you'd like) which is pretty consistent with the Milwaukee market, but of course, if valet service is not your cup of tea, there are multiple options for self-parking nearby (though not run by the hotel).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the aLoft in February 2014 for a weekend. The location is PERFECT and within walking distance to many restaurants, Water Street bars, and the Bradley Center. It's also super easy to find right off the highway. The staff was fine, but the rooms are quite noisy (even for a hotel) and the beds are super uncomfortable. We didn't like the room setup as it makes the room feel very small. The bathroom doors are sliders and don't close all the way. But, overall - we weren't in the room much and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Dayna,

We appreciate you taking time out to let us know about the stay and experience you had with us. Sorry to hear it was "just ok" as we always hope to provide a more lasting impression on our guests. Can't argue with any of your thoughts, sounds as if the layout/design of the room is not what you are looking for and we can appreciate that. Hopefully, the next time you come up to Milwaukee, you can find a suitable place to rest your head. A little tip for those that want a little quieter experience, ask for an inside facing loft, you miss out on some of the downtown views, but they are quieter as there is no road traffic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Weekend getaway to downtown Milwaukee to visit family and ALoft was the perfect location for the trip. The property and the rooms are very contemporary in design with a large lobby area equipped with game tables, a bar and plenty of seating to simply hang out. No room service but food is available ala carte for sale in the lobby throughout the day. The rooms are small but clean and also very contemporary in design. The property is conveniently located and just a short drive away from lots of great restaurants and entertainment venues.

Room Tip: This concept caters to a younger crowd and having said that, the elevators and halls get a little lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G, Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I am so glad you enjoyed the hotel and the location. We hope to see you the next time you are in Milwaukee. Thank you for the wonderful response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#28 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.