We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can hear. Everything.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You can hear. Everything.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is located perfectly at the north edge of the drunken Milwaukee college wasteland also known as Water Street. The hotel also has no sound dampening whatsoever. Your door seems to be made of paper and you can hear every person walking up and down your hall, shouting drunkenly, talking about the wedding reception they were just at downstairs, etc. It was not pleasant. I should have listened to the other reviewers on this point. If you do have to stay here, make sure you have your room fan going 24x7 to help drown out the noise. It seemed to work fairly well, actually. This is definitely not a special-event-in-Milwaukee-weekend kind of hotel.

About the hotel... The staff were very friendly and helpful, so checkin and checkout were pleasant. People in the hotel seem to make good use of the common spaces in the lobby, which was actually nice to see. They're designed for people to use, rather than most hotels that have a lobby just used as a transit from one space to another. Decor is ultra modern, and pretty funny-looking for the most part. There is a small bar and a small food area in the lobby for snacks and drinks. And, it is located very conveniently on the north end of Water Street. I wasn't there for the college bars, but there are lots of other great places in the area within walking distance if you know where you're looking. The location is pretty good, but this also means it's frequented by college groups and Bachelorette parties. As we returned to the hotel in the evening at least one bachelorette was literally dragged into the hotel in front of us by her girlfriends, completely passed out.

Amenities are a bit strange. They do have a small soap bar for the bathroom. There's a pocket door on the "bathroom" that closes most of the way. The rest of the toiletries in the room are essentially soap pumps on the walls.

King bed was ok and we slept well when we were able to sleep.

Overall, I don't think we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Mr. Bagley,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we do apologize that you had this type of experience. I know that another team memeber has reached out regarding the other survey you submitted to us. We completely understand that your stay was not enjoyable and the design and concept of the hotel from atmosphere to amenitities is not quite what you are looking for when traveling. Please work with our team to assist you and make up for the stay as we never want anyone to be unpleased with our service and dedication to our guests. We hope that you find better accomodations the next time you come to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    161
    68
    39
    13
See reviews for
51
172
31
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus. Ohio
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Staff were great. Room was fairly comfortable. Be aware that the door to the toilet/shower area is actually a sliding wall that doesn't slide quite all the way. I was staying alone, so it was no problem. It might bother someone else. After dinner, the lobby was loud and full of people having a good time at the bar. I was in town for a meeting, and some of my colleagues complained of lots of noise in the halls--to the point that they couldn't sleep. I didn't experience that. A couple of my colleagues used valet, and the rate seemed more consistent with NYC or SFO than MKE.

Room Tip: Probably half the rooms face a triangular inner courtyard--and each other. One of my colleagues was...
See more room tips
Green Features: The lobby, meeting room, and sleep room all had trash and recycle baskets/bins. I appreciated that.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Peebs777,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience here in Milwaukee. We are so happy that you gave us an opportunity to take care of you on your busines travels. We do apologize that you and your colleagues were bothered by other guests and their noise levels, something we try to manage, but some folks like to have an exteremely fun time. The rate for valet services is $25 per night (in and out as much as you'd like) which is pretty consistent with the Milwaukee market, but of course, if valet service is not your cup of tea, there are multiple options for self-parking nearby (though not run by the hotel).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the aLoft in February 2014 for a weekend. The location is PERFECT and within walking distance to many restaurants, Water Street bars, and the Bradley Center. It's also super easy to find right off the highway. The staff was fine, but the rooms are quite noisy (even for a hotel) and the beds are super uncomfortable. We didn't like the room setup as it makes the room feel very small. The bathroom doors are sliders and don't close all the way. But, overall - we weren't in the room much and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Dayna,

We appreciate you taking time out to let us know about the stay and experience you had with us. Sorry to hear it was "just ok" as we always hope to provide a more lasting impression on our guests. Can't argue with any of your thoughts, sounds as if the layout/design of the room is not what you are looking for and we can appreciate that. Hopefully, the next time you come up to Milwaukee, you can find a suitable place to rest your head. A little tip for those that want a little quieter experience, ask for an inside facing loft, you miss out on some of the downtown views, but they are quieter as there is no road traffic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Weekend getaway to downtown Milwaukee to visit family and ALoft was the perfect location for the trip. The property and the rooms are very contemporary in design with a large lobby area equipped with game tables, a bar and plenty of seating to simply hang out. No room service but food is available ala carte for sale in the lobby throughout the day. The rooms are small but clean and also very contemporary in design. The property is conveniently located and just a short drive away from lots of great restaurants and entertainment venues.

Room Tip: This concept caters to a younger crowd and having said that, the elevators and halls get a little lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G, Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I am so glad you enjoyed the hotel and the location. We hope to see you the next time you are in Milwaukee. Thank you for the wonderful response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg,VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed at the Aloft downtown while staying the week in Milwaukee for business. This was my first stay at a Aloft hotel, yeah it's a little different concept compared to most mainstream hotels, but it works. You won't find a pool table and doggie treats in the lobby of your average Hilton or Hyatt. The lobby bar area is also a nice area, along with the for purchase light snacks area. Maybe it was a busy week I stayed, but it was always a wait to talk to someone at the lobby desk or pay for a snack.

My actual room left a little bit to be desired, especially after a couple of days went by. While I don't comment on "Touchy Feely" stuff often, but I really feel that many parts of the room just had way too many hard surfaces and felt very basic. The quality of my sleep wasn't the best, the mattress combined with the noises within hallway both contributed to this. I really did like the media connection interface box that allowed you to connect just about anything to the TV...nice touch.

The gym is really nice with a decent assortment of cardio and some small free weights. In the morning the gym is a little busy, so this made using my preferred equipment challenging on occasion.

As most of the reviews have already pointed out, valet parking is $25 per day. You can also find some cheaper parking lots, if you're willing to walk a bit.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G, Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us at Aloft. I am glad you enjoyed your trip and that you got out of your room and enjoyed the hotel. Thank you for letting me know about the wait times. We will address this concern right away. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The staff at the Aloft was very nice, especially Johnnie who was accommodating and answered all of my many questions. It's nice when companies realize that hiring good people goes a long way and is a very smart business decision. I'm sick of crummy service and I really appreciated the staff's professionalism. The room was nice and it was just a few blocks from the convention center and the basketball arena.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G, Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us at Aloft Milwaukee. We are so glad you loved the hotel and that our staff did a great job taking care of you. Hope to see you again the next time you are in Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Right after pulling up there were concierge service, this was nice. Then we were told it would be $25 to park our vehicle. We normally did not have to pay to park at our hotel. Then we arrived at our room. We could hear every conversation in every room as we walked past. Then the real noise started, children yelling and screaming and our room was next door. We walked in the hear a body slamming against the wall and laughter. Seems the children were left alone. I immediately called the front desk to get another room. The front desk seemed to accommodate us but was in no hurry to send up or new room key. We stood there and listened to these children disrupt the entire floor. I called back down about our keys and the front desk told me they were sold out and that "I had to realize that there were going to be other people around us"! I flipped a switch and explained that I didn't mind other people, what I cared about was these children going wild next door! She acted as if she did us a favor. The walls are as thin as paper, the décor is going for some kind plastic vogue look and BREAKFAST IS NOT PROVIDED. We will never stay in an Aloft Hotel again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear leahPeoria,

Thank you for trying to stay with us and allowing us an opportunity to take care of you. You obviously did not care for the atmosphere or the concept of the hotel at all. We could have done a better job as far as taking care of you in regards to the room move, though we were busy, we should have given you notice as to the length of time it would take to get you accomodated. For that we apologize and we will make sure we discuss this in order to improve. A quick suggestion for future bookings would be to do a little research before booking. You can easily find out what hotels offer free breakfast and if there are additional charges such as parking. We hope that you find a more suitable option the next time you visit downtown Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.