We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean and modern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Aloft Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely clean and modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We've given five stars based solely on the staff. Amazing service. We arranged to have some packages delivered to the hotel prior to our arrival and they couldn't have been more helpful. From the valets to the staff cleaning the rooms the team are amazing. Not too much to say about the hotel, clean and modern and huge TV and bed. We go a phenomenal secret hotel offer on expedia and can't believe the value we got. £100 for three nights. The hotel is central to many bars and restaurants although a healthy oversize walk to downtown, very lovely though. We stayed in the week so can't comment on noise at weekends but we had no issue there. We did however have a room overlooking the river which though amazing did suffer from the noise of the cars crossing the metal structured bridge. It sounds like howling wind. We didn't raise it with the hotel but it might be worth swapping the river view for more quiet

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Darbo1969,

Thank you for the kind words, we will be sure to share your thoughts with the team. We hope you had time to enjoy the City as well. We hope to have you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    127
    55
    34
    9
See reviews for
40
145
27
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here during Summerfest 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. If your looking to avoid the plain vanilla hotel experience I would like to recommend Aloft to you. From the moment you enter you can tell this place is different with the open centralized check-in island. The staff was very friendly, the hotel was clean and decorated nicely in a modern style. Our room was very nice and comfortable in an uncluttered but elegant style. We did not have any of the noise issues mentioned by others. The only hiccup during our stay was parking. We had to park in Molly's parking area and there was supposed to be an attendant there to help us but due to the holiday there was no one there. We ended up getting ticketed but we were able to get it taken care of. We found the value of this hotel perfect for the romantic getaway that we were looking for.

Room Tip: Some have mentioned issues with outside noise for some of the rooms from the river side so you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Mongus,

thank you for choosing to stay with us over Summerfest! We hope that you enjoyed yourselves at the festival as much as it sounds like you enjoyed the hotel. Sorry about the issue with the valet parking, we apprecaite hearing about items such as that so that we can discuss it with the folks that run that lot. Even though it is not our lot, they represent us when they have our guests over there and need to provide better service. Hope to be able to have you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wausau
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We read the reviews here about potential noise issues, our reservations were for Sunday (October 27th, 2013) and there was no noise at all. Our receptionist (Eva) was very kind and courteous and made us feel immediately welcome. Late at night, when we returned to the hotel there was ice water with lemon available in the lobby. That was a nice refreshment!

We stayed in a room with a single king bed and a view of the river. Everything was neat and clean.

The bed was real comfortable!!! We had a drink at the bar and our bartender was pleasant.

I like the more modern feel to the hotel. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: 4009 has a nice view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Angel H,

Thank you for takig the time to let us know about your experience here in Milwaukee with us. OUr staff will appreciate the kind words as we will be sure to share this with them. We hope that you have another opportunity to stay with the Aloft brand, whether it be back here in Milwaukee or another one of our great locations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Enjoyed a two night stay at Aloft. The room was spacious with a huge TV on the wall and a nice bathroom. Also had a safe and hairdryer. The staff were friendly, particularly the valet guys. Nice location for my purposes and a short walk to the downtown area with pubs, restaurants, etc. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear badgergirl24,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Miwlaukee and that the staff took care of you. It is always nice to hear! Happy that the location was perfrect for your 2 night visit and hope to be able to take care of you again the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I was just there mid week for business. Arrived after red-eye flight and reception was excellent. No rooms clean yet but made me feel welcome and accommodated my needs. Easy walking distance to all downtown locations for my business needs.
Rooms different floor plan and excellent. There isn't a restaurant on site but morning food of fruit, juices, and coffee was perfect. The small bar at night seemed to have a good selection of wine and other.
Walked to the Third Ward for the Market and other restaurants. Had other occasions to request service from front desk and they were always prompt and knowledgable.
Check out was easy, quick, and accurate. Also, used a taxi a couple of times and the front desk called and taxi there both times within 5 minutes. I enjoyed this property. Small enough to get great service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Deare John M,

We appreciate having the opportunity to take care of you on this visit to town. Thank you for letting us know about your experience here in Milwaukee with us and we hope to have you back again when your travels bring you to our city. We are pleased to hear that the staff was a positive experience for you and we will make sure to share your opinions with them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night with a wedding group. It was walking distance from the church and many other places. Unfortunately, it is loud inside and out. The street outside is VERY busy at night with the drunks and the inside is loud with people running around and doors slamming. If you are into the hip and trendy / youthful places, this is the place for you. But unfortunately hip and youthful (and the expensive decorating) doesn't create an atmosphere of "peace and quiet." They do have free coffee.

Room Tip: Keep looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Sorry to hear about your experience with us in regards to the noise levels. Outside noise is a little hard to control being downtown, but we can and should do everything possible inside. While we hope that common human courtesy translates to all of our guests, we need to be doing everything in our power to make sure we can provide a fun, but yet peaceful environment for all of our guests. We are sorry we failed to do that for you on this visit but we do appreciate the feedback so that we can learn and make adjustments where needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at the Aloft for 1 night and if you have already stayed at an Aloft you know what you are getting. Funky rooms, cool lighting and a bar in the lobby.

Check in
No problems and I was off to the room in a few minutes.

Room
Same as all other Aloft hotels. Nice large flatscreen with hookups for RCA, Component and HDMI cables.

Bathroom
Again the same as all other Aloft's. I guess odd if you have never see it before but I really don't see it as any problem. If you need you privacy and need to close a bathroom door you should look elsewhere.

Front Desk
This was a bit of a fail. I asked the front desk clerk at night a few questions about the area and airport and I found out after that he got most of them incorrect. And believe me it wasn't any off the wall questions like "where can I get watermelon flavor bubbleyum within a half block?" A few I remember were how long it took to get to the airport and he was way off. I was leaving at 5am so traffic wasn't a factor. Also the cost and he thought around $20. It cost $35.

Parking
I didn't have a car but there was valet parking.

Internet
I didn't use it a lot but it was no problem to connect, free and decent speed.

Area
Looked like a really good area if you want night life. There was a bunch of bars.

Overall it was fine. I'd stay again and the manager needs to work with the front desk employees on common questions of travelers. I'm an SPG traveler so I'd stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear ktscott01,

Thank you for being an SPG member and allowing us an opportunity to take care of you while you were here in Milwaukee. We appreciate the feedback you provided and are somewhat stunned at the feedback regarding the front desk talent member. We apologize that they were not helpful and that is something we will absolutely go back and look at in order to correct. Without this type of feedback, we cannot help our team grow and get better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel
Address: 1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.