We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I think there are several better hotels available unless you want to stay in a Starwood property, in which case this is your only choice. Pfeister and Mariott seemed really nice.

To me, this hotel was a little better than a motel and one trying very hard to be budget W hotels. They don’t have any real food at the bar or for breakfast. Everything hot seemed to be microwaved and Microwaved croissant with egg and sausage loaded with sodium is not great.
Room was decent.

Location is little far from office building but not bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear CAWorldtravelwer,

Thank you for taking time out to let us know about your experience while staying with us. We know there are tons of lodging options when you travel whether it is for leisure or pleasure and the key is finding the right fit for each traveler. You are completely right, we are not the Pfister or the Marriott as those two hotels are completely different from the style and decor to the mindset of the traveler and they are wonderful options. We are close to what you think, we are the little brother/sister to W hotels and try to deliver and affordable option to the W experience. We just seem to not be what you need in your travels, but we are glad you gave us an opportunity and hope that you find something more to your liking on your next visit to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    152
    66
    39
    12
See reviews for
50
166
30
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked a room (rooms are called lofts' at the aloft hotel, but they are nothing other than an open-concept rooms in modern design) the Aloft for the weekend of the 110th Harley-Davidson anniversary. For the relatively high price I expected a little more but in the end it did the job since we didn't spend much time in the room. The receptionist called our room a 'loft' but it was nothing other than an open-concept room with modern design with an obscure glass wall to the shower stall. Great gym and a small pool (5ft deep) were great for a little exercise in between. Parking for one vehicle was included in the price of the hotel room for special event parking (otherwise pay for valet parking on lot across the street).
Overall the design of the hotel and rooms was cool and contemporary but lacked quality. The sliding door between sink and toilet/shower was not wide enough to close the gap between the walls but might be part of the loft concept!? ;) Breakfast not included but you could make your own omelet in the lobby for $10 (or walk a few minutes to the next restaurant for breakfast).
The location worked great for us as far as being close to trolley and bust stops, and also not far away from the highway. Would probably return and can recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Craig,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for letting us know about your experience here. Sounds like you were here for the Harley Celebration and we hope that you had a great time (after all, it's only once every 5 years). We hope that we can take care of you agian in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stay at Aloft in downtown Milwaukee an average of 25 nights each year. The rooms are very hip! The hotel has a very cool vibe that you feel from check in to check out. The WXYZ bar is always active and they serve a good selection of sandwiches and small bites. The staff is very friendly and always helpful. Valet team is one of the best. The location is perfect, very close to nightlife, dining, the river walk and the trendy Third Ward. The patio area is very inviting both day and night. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Request a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Judy G,

Thank you for taking the time out to let us know about your experience in Milwaukee with us. We truly appreciate you staying with us as we understand there are many options when traveling. We appreciate the kind words and hope that we have another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Pleasant staff, love the atmosphere. Rooms are really nice. I will for sure stay again.
Was not in the best part of town in my opinion. But the appearance of the hotel made up for any of that. Bed was comfy and the place was designed unqiue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Don,

We appreciate having you stay with us and wanted to thank you for the wonderful comments. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The staff is so accommodating and pleasant. always looking to answer questions. attentive. the rooms are a bit hard.and with that said i mean hard edges so it is edgy so if your are not into that this hotel is not your scene but I loved it being different. a nice workout room, was there in the summer wished there was an outdoor pool. Bartender saturday night was a bit blah but it is what it is. I loved the "green" concept of if you didn't need your room attended to you got more starwood points and also a $5.00 coupon.
right on the river so if you like to walk stay here!
Milwaukee is very clean and safe

Room Tip: you want a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Milwaukee, we know there are many options when traveling. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was the 10th Aloft I have stayed at, and it was the best of them. I did get a room upgrade to a corner room, which was quite spacious and comfortable. It's location overlooked the bridge across the river, and during the evening one could hear the cars as they crossed the grate on the bridge. But it quieted down when the traffic abated, and was not a problem. The breakfasts have been upgraded since the previous times I have stayed in an Aloft, being freshly prepared (assembled and heated up) when they took my request. My only issue was the cost of parking given that they used vacant lots and charged garaged parking rates. It was sufficiently high to discourage me from renting a car and driving from the airport to the hotel. The location is great - a downtown Aloft - an easy walk to the Convention Center and many restaurants. I would certainly choose to stay here if I am in Milwaukee again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experience here and thank you more for being a supporter of the aloft brand! We appreciate the feedback and the loyalty as we know there are many options when traveling. We hope to have you back with us the next time you are in Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel has great décor. It has a bar and pool table onsite, it's walking distance to restaurants and attractions, and there is parking for a fee. The claim of a heated pool is false. We stayed at the hotel twice in 1 year and both times, we found the pool to be room temperature.

Room Tip: Corner room appears larger. Some rooms have river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experiences here with us. Sounds llike with the exception of the pool, you really enjoy your visits here with us. We keep our pool heated between 80-82 degrees. Unfortuantely it is one of those items where we cannot keep everyone happy, but we hope for the majority, they enjoy relaxing in splash.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.