We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where you want to stay in Milwaukee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Aloft Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #27 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“This is where you want to stay in Milwaukee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stay at Aloft in downtown Milwaukee an average of 25 nights each year. The rooms are very hip! The hotel has a very cool vibe that you feel from check in to check out. The WXYZ bar is always active and they serve a good selection of sandwiches and small bites. The staff is very friendly and always helpful. Valet team is one of the best. The location is perfect, very close to nightlife, dining, the river walk and the trendy Third Ward. The patio area is very inviting both day and night. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Request a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Judy G,

Thank you for taking the time out to let us know about your experience in Milwaukee with us. We truly appreciate you staying with us as we understand there are many options when traveling. We appreciate the kind words and hope that we have another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    141
    61
    35
    10
See reviews for
44
156
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Pleasant staff, love the atmosphere. Rooms are really nice. I will for sure stay again.
Was not in the best part of town in my opinion. But the appearance of the hotel made up for any of that. Bed was comfy and the place was designed unqiue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Don,

We appreciate having you stay with us and wanted to thank you for the wonderful comments. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The staff is so accommodating and pleasant. always looking to answer questions. attentive. the rooms are a bit hard.and with that said i mean hard edges so it is edgy so if your are not into that this hotel is not your scene but I loved it being different. a nice workout room, was there in the summer wished there was an outdoor pool. Bartender saturday night was a bit blah but it is what it is. I loved the "green" concept of if you didn't need your room attended to you got more starwood points and also a $5.00 coupon.
right on the river so if you like to walk stay here!
Milwaukee is very clean and safe

Room Tip: you want a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Milwaukee, we know there are many options when traveling. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was the 10th Aloft I have stayed at, and it was the best of them. I did get a room upgrade to a corner room, which was quite spacious and comfortable. It's location overlooked the bridge across the river, and during the evening one could hear the cars as they crossed the grate on the bridge. But it quieted down when the traffic abated, and was not a problem. The breakfasts have been upgraded since the previous times I have stayed in an Aloft, being freshly prepared (assembled and heated up) when they took my request. My only issue was the cost of parking given that they used vacant lots and charged garaged parking rates. It was sufficiently high to discourage me from renting a car and driving from the airport to the hotel. The location is great - a downtown Aloft - an easy walk to the Convention Center and many restaurants. I would certainly choose to stay here if I am in Milwaukee again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experience here and thank you more for being a supporter of the aloft brand! We appreciate the feedback and the loyalty as we know there are many options when traveling. We hope to have you back with us the next time you are in Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel has great décor. It has a bar and pool table onsite, it's walking distance to restaurants and attractions, and there is parking for a fee. The claim of a heated pool is false. We stayed at the hotel twice in 1 year and both times, we found the pool to be room temperature.

Room Tip: Corner room appears larger. Some rooms have river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experiences here with us. Sounds llike with the exception of the pool, you really enjoy your visits here with us. We keep our pool heated between 80-82 degrees. Unfortuantely it is one of those items where we cannot keep everyone happy, but we hope for the majority, they enjoy relaxing in splash.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this location over the weekend. At first, I was not going to provide an unfavorable review, but our experience was much out of the ordinary.
We arrived Friday evening, and were given a room on the 3rd floor. After putting our bags down, I noticed a pair of mens boxer shorts on the floor at the foot of the bed. The carpet was not very clean either. I picked the shorts up with the laundry bag (not wanting to determine if they were new or used) and brought it down as we were heading out to move our car. The lady at the front desk was surprised at what we found, and immediately asked what we wanted for our inconvenience. I didn't ask for anything, but she then suggested to comp the valet parking for us for the 2 days, which we thought fair. She then assigned another room to us on the 2nd floor. We moved our things into this second room, but when I opened the refrigerator to put our cooler items into it, I found that a leftover sandwich has been left in it by the previous occupant. I brought this down to the front desk. The lady could not believe what I found, and stressed that housekeeping will be informed. She then offered to comp one of our nights (without me asking), which I thought was more than generous. In all of our hotel stays, we had never found a personal item left in any room, and now to find items left in 2 rooms in a row was just unbelievable. Housekeeping obviously did not clean the rooms completely, and paid no attention to detail.
The lobby was odd with strange lighting and music too loud. Seemed more like a night club than a hotel lobby. We did not spend any time there for drinks or to eat. I suspect that the lobby appealed to some since there was always somebody relaxing in it.
As for the room, my office cubicle has more charm than the room did. The sliding door for the bathroom was hard to slide, so we had to leave it open. The magazine rack in the sink area seemed strange in the fact that we know where those magazines were being read being nearly within reach of the toilet.
The valet parking rate was unusually high ($23/night), and the self parking option ($15/night) is available one block south in a restaurant parking lot, but I don't believe many took advantage of the self parking option since there weren't many cars there. The valet parking lot was huge, so I don't understand why they don't offer that same lot as a self park option other than the fact that it was a gravel lot.
On a positive note, the beds was comfortable, the hotel location was very good, and the surrounding area was safe and clean.
I doubt we will stay at any other Aloft location (suspecting that they are all constructed in the same unusual, less than charming way), and for sure would not stay at this location again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
First and foremost, please accept our apologies for the experience and inconvenience you had with the cleanliness of your room(s). The desk talent's reaction was of surprise because we truly do not have issues such as this come up. We are shocked that it happened to you not just once, but twice! We cannot apologize enough and please know that this is not up to our standard and it has been (and will continue) to be addressed with the team as a whole!
In regards to the parking situation. We unfortunately do not own the lot that the cars are parked in and the lease (from the City) dictates that we can only use it for the sole purpose of valet.
In no way can we ever make up for the cleanliness issues that you experienced, but we will address them and continue to strive for better results in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, modern, clean hotel. Easy check-in. We stayed in room 2047. It faces the river. Let me start off by saying the bed and pillows were the BEST! So comfy. I had the best night's sleep in a long, long time. A little noisy but the comfy bed made up for it. There is a constant humming from cars on the bridge. Complimentary water and coffee in the room was nice. Breakfast options were a bit pricey but had a nice selection. Awesome location. We walked everywhere we wanted to go. Will be our hotel of choice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are so happy that you had a great experience! The next time you come, call ahead to see if we can get you in a part of the building you may enjoy more. We look forward to taking care of you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#22 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.