We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Gages Lake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the night here for a basketball game. Perfect location to walk to food, drinks, and the Bradley Center. The hotel was very modern and great for meeting new people in the lounge after the game. No garage but they do have valet for a price. I would definetily recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for letting us host you while you were here for the basketball game. Hope you enjoyed your stay here in Milwaukee. Thank you also for taking the time out to let us know about your experience, can't wait to have you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    151
    66
    38
    12
See reviews for
50
165
30
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am a long-time Starwood member, but this was my first stay at an Aloft and I can see how this brand is popular to many. I was in town with friends and we had a fun time at the hotel bar. We also used the gym and it is good for a quick workout. We all thought the hotel was clean and the front desk was pretty good as well. We think this is a good spot for individual travelers and friends who can handle a more lively atmosphere, but probably not the best spot for families (small pool and noise).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Glad you were able to stay with us while you were in town! We are glad you enjoyed the time with us and thank you for letting us know how it went. We always appreciate when our travelers provide insight to others regarding our hotel. Hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, CO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I also thought the Aloft was lovely at first look. Very modern interior with creative use of space. Upon closer look though, it was not as clean as I would have liked, dirt in the corners and tattered and worn towels. The freshness and crispness had worn off. Wish they had a hot tub, they do have a pool but warming up in a jacuzzi would have been nice. And the choices of food for purchase for breakfast was very lackluster and standard. So make other plans for your breakfast unless you're in a hurry and need to grab something on the go.

Room Tip: Make sure your room isn't over the conference rooms, we had karaoke going on until midnight righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us while you were here. We apologize for the cleanliness not being up to what you expected, we will address those issues immediately and get that resolved. We are in the process of replacing the towel and terry, so those should be revolved out of stock shortly. Hope to have you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for all of 9 hours having arrived at around midnight and left just after 9am the next morning.

All the Alofts are the same with a bar area, reception, etc The rooms are not so big so although great for me traveling on business I'm not sure I'd want to stay in one for 3 nights with my wife.

All the alofts I have stayed in have a great desk in the reception/bar area where you can work with others an there is plent of power sockets, etc.

My only complaint is the not so good food. There is no resturant here and although you can get food items, it's nothing special and sometimes I like to have a good breckfast as I don't know when I'll have a chance to eat next.

Room Tip: the parking was valet only so be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experiences and staying at Aloft when you travel for business. We value your feedback and opinions and hope that we continue to be your choice when traveling. We understand your feelings towards the room space when traveling with another as well as your food options. Food options are something we are always looking to expand upon and while we don"t have any plans for a sit down style restaurant, if you have ideas on quick food options you would like to see, we are always open to trying new ideas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Aloft in Green Bay, WI this past April and overall had a great experience (aside from an issue with the bartender leaving early even though wedding parties were to arrive, it sounds like this is a common issue at other Aloft locations, so beware if you are booking a block of rooms with Aloft that the bartender will likely NOT be there after midnight, even if the people helping setup the block say they will be). So, when I received tickets to an event in downtown Milwaukee as a Christmas gift, I booked a room at the Aloft in downtown Milwaukee expecting at least to have comfortable, clean accommodations. We had no issues with parking, as others have, it is $15 a night to park yourself across the street. When we checked in, we were greeted by a friendly employee at the front desk. Overall, the 3 employees we dealt with were all extremely friendly. After checking in, we went to get on the elevator and were greeted there with, no joke, diarrhea all over the floor of the elevator. Now, I understand that this isn't necessarily the hotels fault, but how did NO ONE notice this was in there before we opened the doors?!?! It was 4:00 in the afternoon!!! So, after fumbling with the elevators forever while trying not to pass out from the smell, we finally were able to get on the one that wasn't disgusting. When we got to our room, as soon as we sat on the bed, the sheets popped off of the corners. After fighting with the sheets forever (turns out the sheets were on the wrong way, how did whoever make the bed not notice this and take 30 seconds to flip it around?!), then we noticed that the comforter isn't even attached to anything, it's just a sheet under it and a sheet over it, so halfway through the night you are likely to be snuggling with a comforter without a cover. This wouldn't be a HUGE deal, except that the comforter is all stained and looks like it hasn't had a good wash in quite a while. But, the beds are SUPER comfy aside from that! We visited the pool after the show we attended and were very happy that it was a 24 hour pool! We were disappointed that there wasn't a hot tub, but obviously missed that when we were looking through the amenities. Our excitement for the pool quickly diminished when we got in and realized the pool was slimy and kind of thick, and full of clumps of hair. After that, we were kind of happy there wasn't a hot tub, can you imagine how gross it would have been?! Overall, it was a very disappointing experience. It seems like the hotel does a great job of keeping things looking trendy, but cuts as many corners as possible. It's all about the image. So, if you are looking for a place to stay so you can take pictures to post on Facebook to show your friends you're trendy, it's a great pick! But, if you are looking for a comfortable, clean, and well-run place to stay, look elsewhere. There are lots of options in the downtown Milwaukee area!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

At first glance this place is awesome. Then once you settle you find the odd problems.

We stayed in the basic room with a king bed. The room is very ikea (aka modern) and clean. The bed is firm and fairly comfortable.

Issues:
1. There is only 1 set of switches for all the lights in the room. This is located at the front door. yes, this includes the lights for the bathroom. So if you need the restroom in the middle of the night you must walk around to the front door.
2. The bathroom door is a sliding door that provides very little privacy. Anybody else in the room will hear everything going on in the bathroom.
3. The water in the shower did not get above warm. I did report this issue to the front desk when checking out. The front desk did ask what they could do to make up the discomfort. I was not able to think of anything.
4. There was a very cold draft coming from below the heater. The unit did not appear to be properly sealed. We forgot to report this issue to the front desk.
5. The price is high. For this price there are a few very nice hotels available. I would choose to stay at one of the other hotels in this price band.
6. You get 1 tiny bottle of lotion. Hotel rooms are typically dry, especially in the winter. We quickly went through this 1 tiny bottle of lotion. Luckily we had brought lotion with us.
7. The wireless is only free for 8 hours only. The clock starts ticking once you register.
8. You can hear the road outside.

The lobby is interesting.

We enjoyed the bar and pool table. The bar poured generous drinks and was very pleasant. The pool table was a plus. We loved the furniture in the lobby. Very comfortable to lounge.

We did not use the pool or the fitness center. We did visit both. The pool is very small and was crowded (which prevented us from use). The fitness center looked very clean and was large for a hotel. If we stay here again we will use the fitness center.

The location of the hotel is good. There are breweries and a number of decent restaurants near this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the hotel thoroughly and we will look into the areas that we can correct. There are some points that i wanted to address for you though. The light switches are confusing because one of the switches is a master switch. As long as that master stays on, you can control the rest of the room independently, something we are already in the process of trying to fix. Secondly and more importantly for all travelers these days, the internet. The internet is completely complimentary for the entire stay. The system just logs people on and off after useage of 8 hours so that the network doesn't get clogged with poeple that have already left the building.
As to the issues in the room with the door, water and sealing of the heater, if you could contact us to let us know what room you were in, we can look at addressing that immediately. We apprecaite the feedback and hope that you can help us improve on these deficiencies for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived very, very late at night and were greeted with the same enthusiasm as if it had been any other time of day. There was a wedding party arriving back, but all of the staff handled the guests with grace, calmness and amazing proficiency. We can't wait to go back and actually explore Milwaukee while staying here! It's also in an easy to access location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience here with us. Glad you enjoyed your visit and we are more than happy that you felt the staff was welcoming and inviting. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.