We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one person” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Aloft Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #28 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Welwyn, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“OK for one person”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for all of 9 hours having arrived at around midnight and left just after 9am the next morning.

All the Alofts are the same with a bar area, reception, etc The rooms are not so big so although great for me traveling on business I'm not sure I'd want to stay in one for 3 nights with my wife.

All the alofts I have stayed in have a great desk in the reception/bar area where you can work with others an there is plent of power sockets, etc.

My only complaint is the not so good food. There is no resturant here and although you can get food items, it's nothing special and sometimes I like to have a good breckfast as I don't know when I'll have a chance to eat next.

Room Tip: the parking was valet only so be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experiences and staying at Aloft when you travel for business. We value your feedback and opinions and hope that we continue to be your choice when traveling. We understand your feelings towards the room space when traveling with another as well as your food options. Food options are something we are always looking to expand upon and while we don"t have any plans for a sit down style restaurant, if you have ideas on quick food options you would like to see, we are always open to trying new ideas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    142
    63
    37
    11
See reviews for
46
157
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Aloft in Green Bay, WI this past April and overall had a great experience (aside from an issue with the bartender leaving early even though wedding parties were to arrive, it sounds like this is a common issue at other Aloft locations, so beware if you are booking a block of rooms with Aloft that the bartender will likely NOT be there after midnight, even if the people helping setup the block say they will be). So, when I received tickets to an event in downtown Milwaukee as a Christmas gift, I booked a room at the Aloft in downtown Milwaukee expecting at least to have comfortable, clean accommodations. We had no issues with parking, as others have, it is $15 a night to park yourself across the street. When we checked in, we were greeted by a friendly employee at the front desk. Overall, the 3 employees we dealt with were all extremely friendly. After checking in, we went to get on the elevator and were greeted there with, no joke, diarrhea all over the floor of the elevator. Now, I understand that this isn't necessarily the hotels fault, but how did NO ONE notice this was in there before we opened the doors?!?! It was 4:00 in the afternoon!!! So, after fumbling with the elevators forever while trying not to pass out from the smell, we finally were able to get on the one that wasn't disgusting. When we got to our room, as soon as we sat on the bed, the sheets popped off of the corners. After fighting with the sheets forever (turns out the sheets were on the wrong way, how did whoever make the bed not notice this and take 30 seconds to flip it around?!), then we noticed that the comforter isn't even attached to anything, it's just a sheet under it and a sheet over it, so halfway through the night you are likely to be snuggling with a comforter without a cover. This wouldn't be a HUGE deal, except that the comforter is all stained and looks like it hasn't had a good wash in quite a while. But, the beds are SUPER comfy aside from that! We visited the pool after the show we attended and were very happy that it was a 24 hour pool! We were disappointed that there wasn't a hot tub, but obviously missed that when we were looking through the amenities. Our excitement for the pool quickly diminished when we got in and realized the pool was slimy and kind of thick, and full of clumps of hair. After that, we were kind of happy there wasn't a hot tub, can you imagine how gross it would have been?! Overall, it was a very disappointing experience. It seems like the hotel does a great job of keeping things looking trendy, but cuts as many corners as possible. It's all about the image. So, if you are looking for a place to stay so you can take pictures to post on Facebook to show your friends you're trendy, it's a great pick! But, if you are looking for a comfortable, clean, and well-run place to stay, look elsewhere. There are lots of options in the downtown Milwaukee area!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

At first glance this place is awesome. Then once you settle you find the odd problems.

We stayed in the basic room with a king bed. The room is very ikea (aka modern) and clean. The bed is firm and fairly comfortable.

Issues:
1. There is only 1 set of switches for all the lights in the room. This is located at the front door. yes, this includes the lights for the bathroom. So if you need the restroom in the middle of the night you must walk around to the front door.
2. The bathroom door is a sliding door that provides very little privacy. Anybody else in the room will hear everything going on in the bathroom.
3. The water in the shower did not get above warm. I did report this issue to the front desk when checking out. The front desk did ask what they could do to make up the discomfort. I was not able to think of anything.
4. There was a very cold draft coming from below the heater. The unit did not appear to be properly sealed. We forgot to report this issue to the front desk.
5. The price is high. For this price there are a few very nice hotels available. I would choose to stay at one of the other hotels in this price band.
6. You get 1 tiny bottle of lotion. Hotel rooms are typically dry, especially in the winter. We quickly went through this 1 tiny bottle of lotion. Luckily we had brought lotion with us.
7. The wireless is only free for 8 hours only. The clock starts ticking once you register.
8. You can hear the road outside.

The lobby is interesting.

We enjoyed the bar and pool table. The bar poured generous drinks and was very pleasant. The pool table was a plus. We loved the furniture in the lobby. Very comfortable to lounge.

We did not use the pool or the fitness center. We did visit both. The pool is very small and was crowded (which prevented us from use). The fitness center looked very clean and was large for a hotel. If we stay here again we will use the fitness center.

The location of the hotel is good. There are breweries and a number of decent restaurants near this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the hotel thoroughly and we will look into the areas that we can correct. There are some points that i wanted to address for you though. The light switches are confusing because one of the switches is a master switch. As long as that master stays on, you can control the rest of the room independently, something we are already in the process of trying to fix. Secondly and more importantly for all travelers these days, the internet. The internet is completely complimentary for the entire stay. The system just logs people on and off after useage of 8 hours so that the network doesn't get clogged with poeple that have already left the building.
As to the issues in the room with the door, water and sealing of the heater, if you could contact us to let us know what room you were in, we can look at addressing that immediately. We apprecaite the feedback and hope that you can help us improve on these deficiencies for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived very, very late at night and were greeted with the same enthusiasm as if it had been any other time of day. There was a wedding party arriving back, but all of the staff handled the guests with grace, calmness and amazing proficiency. We can't wait to go back and actually explore Milwaukee while staying here! It's also in an easy to access location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience here with us. Glad you enjoyed your visit and we are more than happy that you felt the staff was welcoming and inviting. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Actually, the place is a nice place with a good location. The staff seem very nice and helpful, as well. The problem I have is their inaction with noise makers. We stayed on a Saturday night and about 2 AM, some partiers came back from the bar...I believe they were a wedding group in their 20s-30s...and lots of them because they made lots of noise hooting and hollering in the hallway. We called the front desk and they did nothing about it. We threatened to call the police but, that didn't faze the desk as the partiers continued for about an hour or so. I think they finally got tired on their own and went to bed without anyone telling them to quiet down. We would have heard the security as we were that close. They also were smoking which seeped into our room. We don't smoke so that was almost as bad as the noise. In the morning, we called for extra coffee and mentioned the noise to which they didn't know anything about it. The manager did give us enough SPG points for a free night and they did email us a nice apology and we do appreciate that. Obviously, the staff needs training on how to deal with problems like this and they failed miserably.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for letting us kow about your experience here. Obviously, we can learn a lot from our mistakes and we will investigate as to where the ball was dropped in making sure security addressed the issues at hand. After all, that is why they are here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel during a recent football trip to Green Bay via Milwaukee. The staff was very pleasant and efficient -- check in was a breeze! Room service was quick and friendly -- we called for towels and had a complaint about the hair dryer, which was replaced in no time at all. My husband and his friend enjoyed the bar downstairs with the Mixologist -- they experimented with some very tasty drinks. The place has a very contemporary/hip feel, and overall is a very minimalist hotel. It was close to everything we needed -- we were able to take short cab rides all over downtown to drink and be merry. The beds were extremely comfortable with plenty of pillows. The only drawback is the bathroom door, which slides shut, but leaves a gap so those outside can see if they look in the mirror at the right angle. It's fine if you're travelling with your significant other, but uncomfortable for those travelling with friends. We valet parked for $23 -- steep, but we were able to call valet for our car and they had it waiting for us, which was nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hope you had a good time at the Packers game and glad you were able to stop by and stay with us on your trip up to Green Bay. We are glad that you found our staff welcoming and accomodating to your needs while you were with us and we will surely pass along your comments to everyone involved. Hope to see you again in the future and if you ever need anything, please reach out to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our first stay at an Aloft property and also our first time in Milwaukee. At first arrival and throughout our stay the staff was great. Decently priced and close self parking. The hotel was located very close to some nice restaurants and bars in walking distance. We enjoyed the modern feel of the hotel and the bar/lobby. We were celebrating our honeymoon and the hotel was kind enough to give us a corner room on the top floor with a great view of the river. The rooms were also comfy and very clean. Nice beds, nice shower, and even though a small gesture, the complimentary bottled water was very much appreciated!! The towels could have used some fabric softener. One other suggestion, when entering the room, there was quite a bit of wasted space that would have been nice for a small table and chairs, another couch, or really anything. We will definitely keep Aloft in mind when returning to Milwaukee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Congratulations on your wedding, we are honored that you allowed us to take care of you on this special occasion. We are so happy that you found us to be a good fit on this special occasion and you were able to take advantage of our location in the city to experience what Milwaukee has to offer. We wish you the best and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#28 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.