We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Convenient location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We chose this hotel for the downtown location and very reasonable online prices. The room itself was small but nice. It could have been cleaner- the carpet, tile, and shower floor were a little stained, but overall was in good condition, better than most in this price range.
I might have given the Aloft a "good" review, but the front desk, bar, and housekeeping staff were so welcoming that they bumped it up to a "very good."
There is valet parking available but we were able to find street parking within a block or two every time, even during a busy Friday night. Great location for visitors to Turner Hall or Bradley Center, and close to Water Street bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. We are happy to hear that the staff in general was accomodating and helpful during your stay with us. We wil be sure to look into the stian issues you brought forth in order to correct them. We hope to have you back agian in the future when you travel to Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    152
    66
    39
    12
See reviews for
50
166
30
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Recently stayed at Aloft while attending a concert at the Bradley Center. Great location and an easy walk to Concert. There is bridge construction right next door but that noise was not as bad as our neighbors on the 2nd floor. The walls are paper thin and I could hear every word our neighbors were saying....when they raised their blinds it sounded like they were in the same room with us. And I read in previous review about the bathroom door not closing. Ours was the same way and wouldn't close properly...it was like the track was not installed correctly.
Room was very small but had a coffee maker and mini fridge which was unexpected but appreciated. We also booked thru hotels.com and when we arrived the front desk had no record of our reservation. Instead of being helpful and getting us checked in she actually told us the reservation would need to be "rebuilt" and that would take time. We sat in our car in front of the hotel and waited. After about an hour the Valet attendant came out and told us they were ready for us. They simply billed us again and told us to call hotels.com for credit. This was handled very poorly and we had to make multiple calls to hotels.com before receiving the proper credit. So we actually paid twice for our room and wasn't sure until the next day if we would get any money back. Pretty poor customer service by the front desk. But the paper thin walls will keep us from coming back again. It's impossible to sleep when your neighbor to your right parties all night long and then your neighbors to your left are up at the crack of dawn. Nice place but poor construction and very noisey rooms and the doors don't close, they SLAM shut.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience here with us. Sorry that it did not go as smoothly as we all would have hoped for. We appreciate the honest feedback though as it gives us an opportunity to correct issues that are within our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here on my first trip to Milwaukee. Very hip, modern decor, tending towards minimalist. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are very attractive and comfortable. The view leaves something to be desired--parking lot and an empty lot out the front--but the neighborhood is fine. It's a few blocks to restaurants and if you walk along the river, the walk is very pleasant. The quality of the free coffee in the lobby was particularly good and I am fussy about coffee. My only complaint is that the lobby bar is a bit too hip at night--loud music makes it an unappealing place to sit and talk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience while here in Milwaukee with us. We are glad that you found everything to be conveinent with the exception of the W Xyz bar ambiance. We hope that this will not prevent you from coming back and being our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Aloft when going to a concert at the Bradley Center. It's only about 3 blocks away from the venue, so the location was perfect. The hotel itself is very trendy and modern. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. The only complaint I have is the bathroom "door." It doesn't actually close - it's more like a closet door that slides back and forth. There is also a crack between the door and the wall, so one can easily look or one can easily look in when the bathroom is being used. There is valet parking onsite, but I used the public parking just on the other side of the river. Parking is $18 overnight when staying at the hotel. I would stay here again - hands down. This location is really convenient for shopping or bar hopping too. I noticked young family, trendy businessmen and 20- 30 somethings stayed here. It seems like a nice place for anyone to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience, so glad you enjoyed the visit and hope the concert was awesome! The location in relationship to the Bradley Center does make it ideal for any event going on there and glad you found us. Hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel multiple times over the past two years.( noisy bridge construction pretty much over now) .reasons.. good location for 1. walking distance to mutiple restaurants and bars (esp if working and sick of driving) 2. easy access to highway again without the downtown traffic 3. clean and well maintained property. The XYZ bar has light snacks and a good selection of drinks. The person who works in the mini food service area is always wonderfully helpful and they do make great breakfast sandwiches. I would say check in has been inconsistent.. sometimes the person is warm, welcoming and helpful..other times sorta rude.. but the overall experience is very good. I am not a fan of the rain shower head..but that's just me.. its hard to take a shower and NOT get your hair wet and we women don't always wash our hair daily.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience(s) with us. You sound like a veteran with us and we always appreciate continued support as we know that you have several options when traveling to the Milwaukee area. If you can help us, let us know who makes your stay special sp that we can appreciate them. Converesly, if there is anyone that needs further training, please let us know so that we can help them achieve their full potential. We look forward to welcoming you back and pelase let us know if there is anything else you may need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobb
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I don't think these folks could have hired anyone more rude to run their front desk if they tried. I stayed for a wedding this weekend and upon checking in was greated by the most rude woman I have ever met. I'm fairly certain the owners would have been shocked if they saw the way she treated us, and the lack of customer service on her part. The most shocking part is when I arrived at the wedding reception all of the guests were talking about how rude they were treated by this same woman! The others who checked when she was not at the front desk were shocked by our stories at they had no issues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We appreciate you telling us about your experiecne and we apologize about the service you recieved upon check in. Obviously, this is not up to our standards or expectations and want this to be resolved. If you have any more information regarding your check in experience, please contact us so that we can address it with the proper individuals to ensure something like this does not happen again. As you can tell by the experience of others, this is not standard practice or service from our team, so we appreciate the help in allowing us to coach this person so that they can meet and exceed guest expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I rarely bestow a 5 star rating, but this was a gem of a hotel. Trendy in a GOOD way, not a "how the heck do I turn on my shower" way. Great snacks in the lobby available (for a fee, but when you've been travelling, such a great thing to see). This is the first time I've stayed in the Aloft version of SPG hotels, and I will now try out others. Staff was knowledgable and helpful. Rooms were spotless. Really liked this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience while with us. We are so glad that we were able to take care of you on this visit to Mmilwaukee and hope to see you again the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.