We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hip place on the Riverwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Aloft Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very hip place on the Riverwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here on my first trip to Milwaukee. Very hip, modern decor, tending towards minimalist. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are very attractive and comfortable. The view leaves something to be desired--parking lot and an empty lot out the front--but the neighborhood is fine. It's a few blocks to restaurants and if you walk along the river, the walk is very pleasant. The quality of the free coffee in the lobby was particularly good and I am fussy about coffee. My only complaint is that the lobby bar is a bit too hip at night--loud music makes it an unappealing place to sit and talk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience while here in Milwaukee with us. We are glad that you found everything to be conveinent with the exception of the W Xyz bar ambiance. We hope that this will not prevent you from coming back and being our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    145
    63
    37
    11
See reviews for
50
159
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Aloft when going to a concert at the Bradley Center. It's only about 3 blocks away from the venue, so the location was perfect. The hotel itself is very trendy and modern. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. The only complaint I have is the bathroom "door." It doesn't actually close - it's more like a closet door that slides back and forth. There is also a crack between the door and the wall, so one can easily look or one can easily look in when the bathroom is being used. There is valet parking onsite, but I used the public parking just on the other side of the river. Parking is $18 overnight when staying at the hotel. I would stay here again - hands down. This location is really convenient for shopping or bar hopping too. I noticked young family, trendy businessmen and 20- 30 somethings stayed here. It seems like a nice place for anyone to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience, so glad you enjoyed the visit and hope the concert was awesome! The location in relationship to the Bradley Center does make it ideal for any event going on there and glad you found us. Hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel multiple times over the past two years.( noisy bridge construction pretty much over now) .reasons.. good location for 1. walking distance to mutiple restaurants and bars (esp if working and sick of driving) 2. easy access to highway again without the downtown traffic 3. clean and well maintained property. The XYZ bar has light snacks and a good selection of drinks. The person who works in the mini food service area is always wonderfully helpful and they do make great breakfast sandwiches. I would say check in has been inconsistent.. sometimes the person is warm, welcoming and helpful..other times sorta rude.. but the overall experience is very good. I am not a fan of the rain shower head..but that's just me.. its hard to take a shower and NOT get your hair wet and we women don't always wash our hair daily.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience(s) with us. You sound like a veteran with us and we always appreciate continued support as we know that you have several options when traveling to the Milwaukee area. If you can help us, let us know who makes your stay special sp that we can appreciate them. Converesly, if there is anyone that needs further training, please let us know so that we can help them achieve their full potential. We look forward to welcoming you back and pelase let us know if there is anything else you may need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobb
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I don't think these folks could have hired anyone more rude to run their front desk if they tried. I stayed for a wedding this weekend and upon checking in was greated by the most rude woman I have ever met. I'm fairly certain the owners would have been shocked if they saw the way she treated us, and the lack of customer service on her part. The most shocking part is when I arrived at the wedding reception all of the guests were talking about how rude they were treated by this same woman! The others who checked when she was not at the front desk were shocked by our stories at they had no issues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We appreciate you telling us about your experiecne and we apologize about the service you recieved upon check in. Obviously, this is not up to our standards or expectations and want this to be resolved. If you have any more information regarding your check in experience, please contact us so that we can address it with the proper individuals to ensure something like this does not happen again. As you can tell by the experience of others, this is not standard practice or service from our team, so we appreciate the help in allowing us to coach this person so that they can meet and exceed guest expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I rarely bestow a 5 star rating, but this was a gem of a hotel. Trendy in a GOOD way, not a "how the heck do I turn on my shower" way. Great snacks in the lobby available (for a fee, but when you've been travelling, such a great thing to see). This is the first time I've stayed in the Aloft version of SPG hotels, and I will now try out others. Staff was knowledgable and helpful. Rooms were spotless. Really liked this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience while with us. We are so glad that we were able to take care of you on this visit to Mmilwaukee and hope to see you again the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We chose this hotel because of their special rate with Lakefront Brewery, which was our destination of choice celebrating a birthday weekend. The hotel deserves the high rating from TripAdvisor, and the room was very well appointed although quite small, reminded me of Japanese hotels. The room had every amenity we could have wanted, including a small refrigerator. The hotel is close to a very active bar scene, just a short walk away with anything from old dive bars to trendy new restaurants. The hotel itself has a nice bar and an incredible selection of food and necessities displayed in the lobby. Ask in advance about shuttle availability, we found out after the fact that the shuttle had been "contracted out" for the evening. Our room was spotlessly clean and we heard no construction noise, possibly due to the rain!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing away from the bridge to get away from construction noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stya with us and help celebrate the birthday weekend! Glad you found the hotel to be conveinent for your trip. Hope the Lakefront Brewery was everything you hoped it to be. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Easy review is this is a great place for the downtown booze cruise. We hosted 8 customers and it was perfect. Bountiful dinning options with in walkiing distance, nice bar on site. Great time was had by all.

Room Tip: non street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are so happy you choose to stay with us when entertaining your clients. Hopefully the meeting was a success. We are always glad to help out, so please let us know if you need heklp in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 1230 Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.