We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local place for breakfast or lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Honeypie

Honeypie
2643 S. Kinnickinnic Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53207
414-489-7437
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 1,338 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice local place for breakfast or lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Found this place from reading TA reviews. Went on a Friday for early lunch; many in our group of 10+ of adults/kids had breakfast but some had lunch. Place is small with nice atmosphere, service was very good, prices were reasonable, and yes food was very good. Street parking seemed ample. Certainly lives up to the favorable reviews in my opinion.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    35
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Went here on my son's recommendation for Sunday breakfast when we were staying in Milwaukee. Our first thought was how did he find this place. We sat outside and it was very nice, but you had to walk by the desserts to get there. The wait staff was very good, and the food was outstanding. We are planning on going back again for lunch or dinner. This place is well worth going to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackney, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“honeypie is sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The ambience, service and food quality were all noteworthy. And , as with all human endeavors, mistakes are inevitable; what counts is how those challenges are met. One cocktail was mis-mixed (no biggie) and the response of the waitron and barkeep couldn't have been better. Replacement was couteous (w/ appropriate mea culpa), and the most pleasant dinner continued with a v. positive asterisk.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast and pie for dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a wonderful brunch at this restaurant on a Sunday morning. The ham biscuit was delicious - fresh flaky biscuit with fresh tasty ham melted together with cheddar cheese. They have an extensive drink menu for brunch including 'beermosa' (beer and orange juice). The service was a little slow but they were understandably very busy. Over 15 different kinds of pies were available for dessert - fruit and cream varieties. If you don't like pie, they had extremely large cupcakes as well, also in 15 varieties. There is a very popular outdoor seating area in the back which reminded me of a backyard picnic area. We sat inside, which was very comfortable and well-lit. I would go back again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I went here with another couple at 7:30 on a Tuesday night. It was somewhat busy but we didn't have to wait and there were tables available. I have read a lot about this restaurant and wanted to try it. The restaurant is very clean. We sat on the patio and it was a nice evening. They have trivial pursuit at each table to keep conversation going if needed. We started with drinks and all were good. Service was in a timely manner and the waitress was nice and attentive.

My husband and I had the Porkslaw BBQ which was a pork sandwich with creamy apple celery root coleslaw. It was served with homemade fries and 3 homemade pickle slices-delicious! We both really enjoyed it. I loved the fries, not salty, very fresh and cut right from the potato. We also ordered a corm muffin to share. It was very good as well-very warm and moist. My friend had the Burger WI which was raised grass-fed beef, American cheese, caramelized onions, lettuce, tomato, onion, bacon, special sauce, a sunny side egg on an egg-glazed bun. She ordered it without the egg. Her meal was also served with homemade fries. Her husband also enjoyed his meal as well which was the Solid State roasted turkey, bacon, ham, caramelized onions, Swiss, mayo, grilled on an egg-battered brioche. All were very good and perfect portion sizes. We finished with each couple sharing a cupcake. My husband and I had chocolate mint and my friend and her husband had chocolate caramel. They were very moist and had generous amount of frosting. Their dessert menu changes each night so be sure to call a head.

Overall, this was a great experience and we will definitely be back, great service, great value, great fresh food from local farmers and is nestled in a great eclectic part of Milwaukee in Bay View.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honeypie also viewed

 

Been to Honeypie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honeypie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.