We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter wonderland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kettle Moraine State Forest

Kettle Moraine State Forest
W7796 Kettle Moraine Drive, Milwaukee, WI 53190
262-473-7501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 243 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Cross-country skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Split into two "units" south and north of Milwaukee, both sections contain part of the Ice Age Trail, a 1,000-mile trail throughout Wisconsin.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“winter wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We love to ski the cross country trails...and it is a pure joy! We have been going there for years and it never dissappoints.
The new shelter is an added bonus, and the wood burning stove warms the heart as well as the hands.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    25
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenbush, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Love this Forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wonderful place for hiking, biking and skiing. The varied topography gives you a hills almost everywhere you go. The Greenbush Ski Trails are varied, often challenging and groomed almost daily. Greenbush also had a lighted ski trail & heated shelter. If you are a skier, dont' miss this place.

The Henry Ruess Ice Age Center is a nice visit for learning about native geology. Visit nearby Plymouth for good eats and a wide range of accomodations.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwoods, WI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I actually live here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I live right at the edge of the Northern Kettle Moraine State Forest. There are endless areas to explore. Hiking, snowshoeing, swimming, biking. I've been here for nearly 20 years and still haven't seen it all. Check out the Ice Age Center near Dundee.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great State Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I love to mountain bike the John Muir Trails, but have also hiked the Nordic trails and the Ice Age Trail, as well as geocached many of the other local trails including scuppernong. Camped at Ottawa Lake Campground, as well as along the Ice Age trail in the shelters. Great escape close to Milwaukee. I visit here evry couple of months, just to get away from it all.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ice Age Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My son and I went to the Ice Age Center and hiked in the kettles Labor Day weekend. The staff at the center were informative and friendly! We had a wonderful day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kettle Moraine State Forest also viewed

 

Been to Kettle Moraine State Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kettle Moraine State Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.