We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Forest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kettle Moraine State Forest

Kettle Moraine State Forest
W7796 Kettle Moraine Drive, Milwaukee, WI 53190
262-473-7501
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #10 of 86 attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Forests, State Parks
Activities: Cross-country skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Split into two "units" south and north of Milwaukee, both sections contain part of the Ice Age Trail, a 1,000-mile trail throughout Wisconsin.
Greenbush, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Love this Forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wonderful place for hiking, biking and skiing. The varied topography gives you a hills almost everywhere you go. The Greenbush Ski Trails are varied, often challenging and groomed almost daily. Greenbush also had a lighted ski trail & heated shelter. If you are a skier, dont' miss this place.

The Henry Ruess Ice Age Center is a nice visit for learning about native geology. Visit nearby Plymouth for good eats and a wide range of accomodations.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    20
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwoods, WI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I actually live here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I live right at the edge of the Northern Kettle Moraine State Forest. There are endless areas to explore. Hiking, snowshoeing, swimming, biking. I've been here for nearly 20 years and still haven't seen it all. Check out the Ice Age Center near Dundee.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great State Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I love to mountain bike the John Muir Trails, but have also hiked the Nordic trails and the Ice Age Trail, as well as geocached many of the other local trails including scuppernong. Camped at Ottawa Lake Campground, as well as along the Ice Age trail in the shelters. Great escape close to Milwaukee. I visit here evry couple of months, just to get away from it all.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ice Age Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My son and I went to the Ice Age Center and hiked in the kettles Labor Day weekend. The staff at the center were informative and friendly! We had a wonderful day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to escape for a hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great place to go for a hike. I head out to Kettle Moraine South and North many times a year to hike, snowshoe, camp, mountain bike and just to relax. It's not far from the city of Milwaukee and a great place to escape to.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kettle Moraine State Forest also viewed

 

Been to Kettle Moraine State Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kettle Moraine State Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.